Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 30, 2012 - 12:45 a.m.
"birthday dinner" or "gene is retired!?"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up around 10:00 and when I put the TV on, Amy Freeze was just talking about her trip out to Farmingdale, and showing some pictures of the event! Perfect timing! Too bad I didn't see us in any of the pics!

Dan and I started our free Netflix trial month and started watching on the AppleTV. We had wanted to watch a show called Homeland, but despite what it looked like... Netflix didn't have it available to stream. (BIG SURPRISE!)

Instead, we decided to watch a movie called "Abduction." I had never heard of it before, but it was listed in the New Releases, and we figured we'd give it a try! I had no idea Taylor Lautner was in it until it started.

We watched the first half of the movie before we had to stop to get ready to go out for the day, and I have to say that so far I really like the movie. Some parts seem a little far fetched, but other than that, I'm hooked and can't wait to see how it ends!

At about 12:00, we started getting ready, and Linda was heading out this way at about 1.

When she arrived, Cameron was sleeping in the car, so I just headed out. Dan did not come, he met up with us later at the mall. We went to Bob's in Selden because I wanted to use a $10 off coupon I had. Unfortunately, I couldn't find anything I REALLY wanted.

After that, we went to Buffalo Wild Wings for lunch. Connor was unhappy with the book he got to color there, so we went up to the front to ask for a different one. The guys working at the door were really funny. They asked him if he wanted the one with the Buffalo playing baseball, the Chicken playing baseball (with the SAME buffalo in the background), the basketball one, or the football one! It was quite a hard decision!

We had our lunch, and then we departed and headed to the mall. We met Dan outside Sears and we walked around. We stopped at Apple and checked out the iPhone 5. I hadn't touched one yet, so I was really surprised at how light it was. I wasn't expecting that at all! I think it will take some getting used to, but shouldn't be that hard! I am SUPPOSED to be getting mine by October 5th, but I'm not certain! They are very secretive about it on the Verizon website. I keep wondering if I would have just been better off going to a store. I wonder if they have any in stock! It doesn't seem like it would make sense for that to be the case, but I don't put too much faith in Verizon making sense!

We went to JC Penney for Linda to buy a gift for her brother's birthday, and then we left the mall and went to Target in Commack.

We were going to go visit Dan's brother, but they weren't home, so we just went shopping at Target instead. Linda found an AMAZING shirt with a picture of a meatball jumping a spaghetti rope while standing on top of a plate of spaghetti! It was probably one of the coolest shirts I've ever seen. Luckily, it came in my size, and she got one for Connor in his size!

We had a little scare when Linda lost her bag in Target! It turned out that we had started with two shopping carts, and somewhere along the way we lost one, and the one had her bag in it! Yikes!

At 6:30, we said goodbye, and Dan and I headed home and I took a shower to get ready for my birthday dinner!

Julio picked us up at about 7:50, and off we went to Lotus East for the big event. Those in attendance were Re, Lau, Ryan, Jen B and Amanda, and Julio. Everyone else was already there when we arrived. The only person missing was our favorite waiter, Gene!!

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love Gene. He has ALWAYS been our favorite waiter there since the first time we went. We asked here the was, and our waitress told us, "Gene Retire!!"

Needless to say, I was devastated. What horrible news to give someone at their birthday dinner! I will truly miss him! He made our visits there as memorable as could be! We loved him. I told the waitress, Nancy, that if I had known Gene had retired, I would have invited him to my birthday dinner. She said, "He doesn't know it's your birthday..." True enough.

So, we had a nice dinner, and they brought me out some ice cream which we all shared for dessert. It was a fun time, but it went by so fast!

After we ate, we decided to go bowling! Lau and Ryan headed home, but everyone else went! Dan and I stopped home quickly to get our bowling shoes, and then off we went. We played one game, and we all did well. Re was the winner, and not that I'm surprised that she won, but all during the game everyone was telling her that she didn't throw the ball hard enough, so for all the constructive criticism, she apparently didn't need any of it!

It was a really fun night, and I'm glad everyone came out to celebrate my 29th Birthday! Woo! 29! Yikes!

Julio dropped us off at home after, and then Dan and I watched tonight's episode of Doctor Who! Wild!! The last episode with Amy and Rory! I have to say it was a good episode, but I will never understand how some events become "fixed events!" It's just a technique they dig up whenever they have no other way of explaining why the story isn't going to go the way it otherwise would have! For example, in the end, they were sent back to 1938. The doctor couldn't go back to 1938 New York to get them or else all of time and space would be destroyed... or something. So, why couldn't he just go to 1939 or 1940 and pick Amy and Rory up there. Or better yet, he could have had them meet in 1940 London. No problem there!

It's just frustrating that they want us to accept that they can't be saved. Argh!!

Anyway, I still love Doctor Who.

Now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com