Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 24, 2012 - 10:39 p.m.
"someone call a locksmith"

Hey Journal!

Because of my car troubles today, I got to sleep a little later than usual! I woke up at 8:30 and got ready for Dan's dad to pick me up for work. I watched a little TV, and then at about 9:30 he picked me up and brought a bagel for breakfast! Woo!

When we got to work, we tried to see if my car would start, but again there was no luck! The key wouldn't turn at all. The mechanic from work came down to take a look at it, but he said that the lock cylinder would have to be replaced. He said it's a pretty easy job if you can turn the key, but if you can't, it needs to be drilled out! Fun.

Since I was pretty much out of options anyway, I called AAA to see what they had to say. I figured it's free, so I might as well. The guy came, and he had no teeth. Sadly, he too was unable to get things going. He offered to tow my car to the nearest AAA station, but I figured it was better to leave at work and decide my next move. Once it's at some random garage, you feel obligated to use their service, and even if you don't, how would I get it out of there again!

My mom had taken my spare key to work with her today, so she came by to bring it to me. The mechanic said that there would be a possibility that the spare key could just catch things the right way, so I figured it was worth a shot. No luck, though.

So, the last resort was to call the locksmith that we use at the golf course. He said this was a common problem, and that he had done this thing before. He said he had the exact lock I needed, and he would swing by in the afternoon to do the work.

He came by around 1:00 and he wound up drilling a hole in my old starter, taking it out, and then putting the new one in. It starts like magic now! It's amazing. (And strangely, the car feels like it's running better, too... but I don't think it's possible that that's related!)

The bad news is that it cost $266! UGH! Every freaking time something goes wrong this car sucks money out of me. As Dan's dad said, even if I decided to throw in the towel and get a new car, I still have to get it running so that I could sell it for SOMETHING!

Now I have the touch decision of deciding if it's time to buy a new car. My reasoning is that if something big goes (potentially whatever is making the screeching noise under the hood,) I will have to pay $$$$ just to get it working again so I can get home from work, or wherever I may be. Also, I will then be in a rushed frenzy to get a new car. Maybe it's better that we take our time over the next few weeks to research and go to car dealerships while we have the luxury of time!

I just can't bare to spend 18-20 thousand dollars on a new car! Ahhhh! My choices, though, are the Ford Fiesta or the Toyota Prius C. The other reason this MAY be a good time is that I can get a 2012 for cheaper than a 2013! Ahhhhh!

Anyway, Steve left right after lunch today. Later in the afternoon, Dan's dad asked me to work on a letter for his fishing club, and after that I had more work to finish up before I departed at 5!

When I got home, I watched the news and as soon as Dan got home, we went out to Panera for dinner.

When we got back, we watched World News, and The Middle. The new feature on World New called the "instant index" is really weird and doesn't fit right. It's kinda annoying.

After The Middle, this weird show that I've never seen came on called The Neighbors. It was.... very strange.... I don't know how to describe it. One thing I did like, however, in one scene... our scary friend Olaf was there! The same exact one we have at work. I've never seen that thing before, and now it's popping up everywhere! Spooky walk, and now on TV! He's famous!

I took a shower, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com