Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 27, 2012 - 12:41 a.m.
"there's a storm coming!"

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday!!!

Today's drive to work was great.... there was no traffic at all! Everyone at work was all hyped up about this monster storm that supposed to be coming right for us! It's annoying though, because every day the path of the storm significantly changes! Two days ago, it was supposed to go out to sea, and now it's coming right for New York City.... but there are a ton of projected paths that have it going over Long Island or New Jersey and PA. It's ridiculous!

I did some bank stuff because I we had a couple of big checks come in, so I figured it would be good to get them in the bank. Then I worked on some random stuff, and around 12:30ish, my mom asked me if I wanted to go to Target with her on her lunch break.

I figured it would be a good chance to get a flashlight, so I went! Last year when we had a hurricane, we looked for flashlights, but they were all sold out... so all we got was a blue little light stick! This year, I figured if I was this far in advance, I'd have a better chance of finding one. No such luck! They were completely sold out except for one of those little lights you attach to your head! It was pathetic!! But then again, we don't really even need one.... If the power goes out, we have windows in all of our rooms that make it very light inside, and then once it gets dark, we'll just go to bed! haha

We do have a small keychain flashlight that we got from WABC, and of course there's always the blue glowstick!

So, after we gave up on that, we had lunch.... Pizza from Target.

On the way out, there was an old woman with a shopping cart full of quarts of water! :P

When I got back to work, the rest of the day went by quickly. Dan's Dad left around 3:00, and so I was all by myself. I worked on getting old event accounts removed from the computer system. There are events going back to 2003 that have balances of .01 or -.01 or close to that. Basically, I just rang them all up for whatever they were. In the end, they pretty much added up to nothing since some were positive, and other was negative. I did a bunch, but there are still a lot left to do! I only discovered this today, so I wanted to fix it! Always making more work for myself!

I went upstairs to get some fresh air, and I wound up folding napkins with Lauren. She was getting the room set for the Friday Night dinners, and we made fan napkins! Woo! My favorite!

When I headed down to the office to close things up, Re had arrived! I didn't realize she was there! She came in to do the closes and get everything all done since she wasn't able to come tomorrow morning.

I departed a little after 5, and then headed home. Dan went out with some of the people he works with because his coworker Misako is going back to Japan. They went out to a bar for happy hour to celebrate.

When I got home, I watched the news and had some leftover PFR while I waited for Liz to come. We had planned for her to pick me up around 6:45, but she didn't arrive until about 7:15.

We headed out east to go for another round of Spooky Walk! We had planned last week to make a second pilgrimage. One the way, we stopped at Wendy's because I was starting to get hungry! I didn't feel very hungry when I had the rice earlier, but it wasn't enough to fill me up, I guess! I got some spicy chicken nuggets, and then I was good.

When we arrived, we were planning on driving past the camp to park further down near the gas station which is where we had parked last week. It was either just as warm out tonight as it was last week, if not actually just a little warmer! We were shocked to see that NO CARS were parked past the camp!! We turned around and came back, and they let us onto the grass where we got a front row parking spot just near the spot where you pay and go in! So weird!!

It's so strange how sometimes the line came be so long (like last week) and sometimes there can be no line at all (like tonight!!) We walked right up the entrance to the woods! Last week we waited for just under and hour to get to that point! The walk took about 45 minutes, and was pretty similar to last week, with a few little differences. I think overall I liked last week's better, which I guess just depends on who's volunteering, and what "scares" you happen to encounter!

After we were done, we stood around by the DJ and just people watched! It's fun to people watch, and it was such a nice night out!! Then we left and headed for home!

Dan called to say that he was on his way home, and to see what we were up to. We decided to meet at Friendly's and have some dinner/ice cream! Dan actually got there before we did, and he got a table. We were sat directly in the middle of two tables of wild children! It wasn't a big deal or anything, just funny that since most of the restaurant was open, why would they choose to put us THERE! Like I said, though, noone goes to Friendly's and expects a quiet meal! You know what you're getting yourself into!

I got the grilled cheese and soup, and I was upset because I forgot to order it with only American cheese and regular bread. When I came, I tried the one they brought, but it was gross. I ate the soup, but didn't touch the sandwich.

When the waitress came over to take away the plates, she looked oddly at my sandwich, so I explained what had happened. She offered to have them make me a new one, and I took her up on it! The second time it was much better than the first! Then, we ordered ice cream.... and Dan let me have the sundae that came with his meal!

When it came time to pay, we noticed that Liz's ice cream wasn't even on the bill! She must have really liked us for some reason!! Or maybe she just felt really bad for us having to deal with the crazy kids!! No matter, it was a fun time!

Anyway, after that we parted ways, and headed home! Dan and I watched some Shark Tank, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com