Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 01, 2012 - 10:45 p.m.
"short work day" or "fencing"

Hey Journal!

Today, I got up at 8:30 for work. I have to say that getting up at 8:30 instead of the usual 7:44 makes a world of difference. I think it crosses some threshold that my body has perceived. If only I could do this every day.

I got to work around 9:30 and of course the power was still out, and I was the only one there. Today we had no visits from annoying members, just a couple of deliveries and the mailman came by.

I stayed until about 12:00, and then went over to the cemetery to say hi, and see how they were all doing after the storm. I said hi to Andie, and then hit the road. Next, I went to the Farmingdale Target. Unfortunately, they were closed! They had power and everything... so it was pretty stupid!

Before heading back, I went to my mom's work and she was on her lunch break. Then I figured I would pay my Grandma a visit and recharge my cell phone!

When I arrive, Ryan and Eric were there, but they left shortly after to go buy fish food. My Grandpa was in the backyard doing something really strange. He was replacing a piece of fence that had fallen down in the storm. My Grandma was not very keen on this, so somehow I had to help with the task.

I am not a skilled fence constructor, by the way. I did, however, help get it into position. My grandpa was on the other side, and I told him to come back, but he said he could just go around the neighbor's house. I waited and waited, and then like 10 minutes later I hear him calling my name. He said they didn't have a gate! He was trapped in there. So, I moved the fence out of the way, and we started over.

I nailed the fence in, and it seems pretty sturdy, so I guess I have more fence skills than I had previously thought.

I went inside and watched last night's World News on the computer, and then set up a call forwarding message for the golf course. This way, when members call, instead of a busy signal... they will get a message... ME... telling them that we are closed. I figure this may stop annoying members from hearing the busy signal and coming down to check out if the course is open. It's NOT.

Anyway, I left there around 4:00 and headed home. When I got home, there were landscapers cutting up the fallen trees in our yard, and they had also taken down the giant tree outside our window! It leans the other way, but they were worried about the roots. I'll admit that I was worried, too... but I really think that it's a shame because it was a NICE beautiful tree that wasn't sickly, and it's a little empty now looking out of our window and not seeing it. (Even if most of the time we had the blinds closed anyway!)

It was 65 degrees inside, according to the thermostat, so I boiled a big pot of water on the stove, and within 10 minutes it had gone up a degree. The windows had also fogged up, but whatever!!

I had a PB&J sandwich, and just hung out around the house until Dan got home. By the time Dan got home, it was 71 degrees in here! How crazy is that!?

When Dan got home, we left right away and headed over to Dan's parents' house for dinner. We had spaghetti and meat sauce, and we recharged our phones, and Dan took a shower. I was planning to take a shower there, and I had packed all of my shaving stuff, and soap, and shampoo into a bag and Dan forgot to put it by the door, but then told me he had put all the bags by the door, so we wound up leaving it at home!

We arrived at their house at 6:30 and watched World News. It's really nice seeing Zsa Zsa again! I miss her!

Anyway, we come home and I had a can of soup, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com