Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 31, 2012 - 11:52 p.m.
"still no power"

Hey Journal!

Yes, it's late tonight, but hey... we're in a state of emergency... this is a natural disaster!!

I got up this morning at 8:30 and got ready for work. I wore jeans and a long sleeve t-shirt. I figured there was no reason to actually get dressed!

I also decided that getting "dressed up" for work makes me much less likely to do anything after work because I don't want to go out in my "work clothes." I need to have jeans day every day.

Anyway, I got there and there was still no power. I was the only one there, aside from Kyle and his guys who were working on the golf course to cut down trees.

I had to turn down a man who tried to make a delivery of vegetables. He was angry. I told him that we were not accepting any deliveries, and that I was unable to sign for his stuff. He was all pissy and told me he couldn't take it back, and that there wasn't any room in his truck! (Clearly that made no sense because he got it there somehow!!)

So, I stood there as he huffed and puffed and looked around, and kept asking me what he was going to do. I told him that I understood his situation, but that our business was closed, and the chef wasn't there, and that I couldn't accept his delivery.

I think he just wanted us to take it so it wouldn't rot in his warehouse. At least if I signed for it, we'd pay for it, and it would rot in our custody!

Finally, I told him that I had to close the door. I told him I had other things to do in the building, and I couldn't stay there, so I had to go. I closed the door, and he yelled "I'm just leaving it... it's yours." I looked out 10 minutes later, and it was all gone!

Dan's dad came by to see what was going on, but he was only there for a little bit. Then he left to see if he could get to Steve's house since noone had heard from him. I got the mail, and then left, too. There was nothing to do.

I went over to Re's apartment and she had full power, cable, internet! It was amazing. AND I got excellent cell phone reception there. She's living the high life!

We had a fun time... I went online for a few minutes, and then we went out. We stopped by her Grandma's house to see how things were over there, and then we went to Target and I got some more soup for us!

At this time, I realized that I hadn't submitted the monthly payroll which should have been submitted yesterday! Tomorrow is payday! When we got back to Re's, I used her computer and did it from there, and ADP says that it should be direct deposited tomorrow, or Friday at the latest! It wasn't such a big deal that I forgot because I had no access to a computer until today anyway.

Next, Re and I went to get lunch at Boston Market! I ordered the 1/4 White meal, but for some reason the lady gave me a half chicken! She was a little annoying. I did, however, have a coupon for a free dessert. Last week, Boston Market sent out an e-mail with a special that was only available in California, and then a couple of days later, I got another e-mail with an apology and free dessert coupon! Nice!!

So, I got my meal and dessert, and Re and I ate. We also each bought a $1 coupon booklet. They always have some good discounts in there, so it's worth it.

We went back to Re's house and watched some TV. For some reason, all of a sudden I felt really exhausted, but it didn't last long.

We watched the show Oddities and hung out for a while. Around 5:15, Jen B and Amanda arrived to live it up in the lap of luxury. Re's cable and power are very important assets in times like this!

I stayed until 5:30, but then I had to leave to head home. Dan was on his way home from work, and we were going to go to Dan's parents' house for dinner.

We went over at about 7:00 and we had BBQ steak for dinner. A little earlier in the day, they got their power back, and they now have full internet and TV. Sheesh!

After dinner, I took a shower, and changed my clothes. Then Dan took a shower.

We left around 8:30 and headed home. We were ready for our scheduled meeting with our newly found fun neighbors! Tonight's gathering took place in the back, and the man known as "Z" cooked all sorts of meats on his grill.

In attendance tonight were Victor, Adrienne, Mark (but he came at the end), a guy named Tom, and a few people whose names I do not know. They were all extremely nice, though, and we had a great time. One of the biggest laughs we all had was when talking about the "gym" we have in our basement here!

It's really a shame that we don't have more get-togethers with people who live her, and that it takes a natural disaster to do it. It's like we need an excuse to force us to talk to the people around us!

The party broke up around 11:00, but we talked to Adrienne and Mark till about 11:30. Now we're in and it's time for bed! I need to get some sleep before work tomorrow!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)

Oh, and PS... they now say power won't be on for about 4 days! AHHHHH!


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com