Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 05, 2012 - 10:28 p.m.
"i've got the power" or "let there be light: the end of hurricane sandy"

Hey Journal!

WE HAVE OUR POWER BACK!!!!!

Yes! It's amazing! 1 week to the day! When I first turned on my computer and saw the desktop, I was like "Oh yeah!! I completely forgot about this!"

I have to tell you, it's a little weird having it back. As much as I enjoyed taking a hot shower at home tonight, and as much as I like the prospect of having HEAT (more on that later...), I really miss the simpleness of not having power!

Anyway, I got up this morning at my regular time and headed off to work. Getting dressed in a cold house was the worst part about having no power. I got out and ready to go super-early because I had nothing to distract me!

I got to work around 8:40 and tried to turn on the TV, but it took forever. I thought maybe after having a long rest it would just turn right on, but no... it's still broken!

I spent the morning trying to get things back to normal as much as possible! It was a pretty crazy day, and there's still stuff to do, but I think it'll be a slow week anyway, so I don't think it will take THAT long!

In the afternoon, I had to go to the Post Office for Steve, and while I was there, I picked up the CPC mail! I hadn't gone to the PO Box in well over a week, so it was stuffed!

When I got back to work, I tried to get through some of the CPC stuff, and then before I knew it, it was 5:00 and time to go home!

As I drove down the road and headed towards home, I had a really good feeling about the power. I really thought that today would be the day, but unfortunately, as I passed the gas station, it was obvious that everything was still dark. I was still holding out hope that maybe OUR area would be restored, but no such luck!

On my way inside, I stopped to get the mail from our mailbox and I saw Adrienne, who told me that she was just talking to some LIPA guys and that they said the power would be back within the hour!!

AMAZING!!

There were a ton of electrical-type trucks in the parking oot across the street, and one of the trucks was TALKING. I mean, they had some sort of speaker that was soooo loud I could hear it from here. It must have been a radio, and it sounded like the guy on the other end was sending instructions or something.

Anyway, I got all excited and put on my winter hat and went outside to wait! After a while it was obvious that nothing was happening, so I came back inside. Dan got home, and we got ready to go to his parents' house for dinner!

When I left, I called our house and got a busy signal. Then, just as I pulled into the driveway, I called again, and it rang! THAT MEANT THE POWER WAS BACK ON!! HOORAY!!!

Now, I was anxious to get back home, turn on the heat, and get back to normal!!!

We had a really good pot roast dinner, and the best part was the stew-like carrots and potatoes! Mmmmm!!

After dinner, I left to come home and take a shower. It was so nice to finally take a shower at home again!!

But, don't let me fool you....everything isn't perfect. First, we have no heat. For some reason, it won't go on... and it's not the whole building... it's just us! The hallway is toasty warm!

To make matters even worse... I went to turn on the TV and found that our TV was clinging to life. The fan wasn't spinning, and one of the lights on the front kept flickering on and off while making a clicking sound. UGH!

So, let's recap... Power is back, but not heat and no TV. Maybe we should just turn off the lights and sit and stare at the wall again!

On another note, when I turned my computer on for the first time, I walked away while it started up, and when I got back, I looked at the desktop and thought "Wow!! I completely forgot about this!!" It was like I didn't even remember what it was like to have my own computer at home.

But now that the power is back, let me just say that there were many fun times we had while the power was out. First was meeting many of our fun and nice neighbors. Second, we got out of the house and didn't waste time sitting in front of the TV, and third is that we made the best of a less than ideal situation!

Anyway, when I got home, the woman who lives upstairs opened her window and yelled down to me to celebrate the power being back! It reminded me of the "Who rang that bell?!" moment from the Wizard of Oz!

Anyway, it's time for bed now! Tomorrow is ELECTION DAY! Here we go!!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com