Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 06, 2012 - 11:53 p.m.
"the reelection of the president of the united states of america"

Hey Journal!!

HAPPY ELECTION DAY!! At this time, I can now project that Barack Obama will continue as the President of the United States of America!!!

This morning I got up at the usual time and got ready for work in the cold, unheated house! Ugh! Dan tried all day to call and have someone come over to fix it, but noone ever called him back, and so it's still freezing cold here. It's actually a bit better in here now, and I think that's because we have a lot of electronics on that make a little heat, and also our neighbors all have their heat on and that's warming up the interior walls and stuff.

Work today was good, I think I got caught up from the whole backlog from the storm.

I had a lot of papers and bills piled up on my desk! It was crazy.

When everyone else went upstairs for lunch, I went out to the Cablevision store in Lindenhurst to get a new cable box so that we'd be able to watch election coverage tonight!! As you may already know, our TiVo was dead yesterday when the power came back on!

On the way there, I stopped at Home Depot because I have to get a key copied for work, but unfortunately they didn't have the kind of key I needed!

I headed back to work, and I never did actually eat lunch. I did have a few coups of soup, thought, so that held me over for a little while.

I left today at 4:50 and headed home. Of course, nothing is ever just GOOD. Like, leaving early can't come without some sort of consequence... So, when I got home, I found #1 standing on the porch. As I went to get my mail, he asked me, "Hey... Can I ask you a favor?" Against my better judgement, I said "Sure... what is it?" (At the same time, hating him from deep inside me.)

Here was his question: "Can you go across the street and buy me a pack of cigarettes." My reply, "Absolutely Not. I can't do that."

If you want to go WAY back into my history, you may remember that I turned down a job offer to work at the card store near the library because they sold cigarettes, and I wanted no part of that. I am 100% against cigarettes, and I want no part of buying, selling, or encouraging other to use them. (Not to mention he uses them to stink up my freaking hallway!)

He then asked me to help him across the street. And as much as I didn't want to, I figured I would just because I had said no to his first request. It felt like a freaking game of frogger, and I was not in a good position. Luckily, obviously, I made it across.... but I wasn't waiting for him to finish to help him get back. If he wants to risk his life to smoke, go right ahead, but don't suck me in.

When Dan got home, we went to the Fire Department so that I could vote. It used to be at Nesconset Elementary, but since that school is now closed, they moved it to the fire department next door. It was really strange because it was in such a smaller space!

I waited on a line of about 3 people, and then I got my scantron and went to my little cubicle to bubble it in. I have to say that I think this new system of voting is MUCH more complicated than the old lever system! I loved that, and I'm not saying that just because I loved it, but it made so much more sense. You went into a private cubicle, and you didn't have to write on anything! You just pulled levers!! (It's was kinda like the Great and Powerful Oz when Toto pulled back the curtain!)

Anyway, I made my mark... heavy and dark.. (just like I learned in the CAT tests! I still can't wrap my head around the pictures and news about people who have to wait in line for hours to vote... even waiting 30 minutes to vote would be weird. We just walk in, sign the book, and vote away! It's unthinkable that there are lines around the country. I don't get why their systems are so messed up!

After that, we went to the Cablevision store in Hauppauge because we thought maybe we should get the DVR box for tonight in case we wanted to record a show and watch it later, but as it turns out, we didn't use that anyway. Now I have to return it tomorrow! Blah!

So, we got back home and turned on Diane Sawyer and her election night coverage! Barbara Walters was there, too... but she just sat on the sidelines and raised her hand when she wanted to speak! lol I love Barbara!

Anyway, the news of the night came in slowly but surely, and as I already mentioned Barack pulled it out again and beat Mittens! It turned out not the be quite as close as the polls would have had you believe.... I guess it's in the interest of the TV ratings to paint the election as a much closer picture than it is... that means everyone HAS to tune in to find out what happens!

So, now it's 12:24, and I have to get to sleep because I do have work tomorrow even though I know it's going to be awful to get up so early! I just can't go to bed until they give their speeches! Mittens needs to throw in the towel and then POTUS needs to be heard! This means I probably won't be in bed for an hour!! UGH!! NOt fair!!

Anyway, I can now go to sleep happy!!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com