Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 22, 2012 - 11:25 p.m.
"an unconventional thanksgiving"

Hey Journal!

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

This morning we got up around 8am and went down to the breakfast in the hotel lobby! The breakfast we really good. They had eggs, sausage, cereal, and stuff like that. They had amazing juice, which at first I didn't even know was there. It was Ocean Spray juice and it was in containers that looked like Yogurt, so I only discovered them just before we left! They had Apple, Orange, and Cranberry Juice Cocktail!

When we were done with breakfast, we headed back to the room and got ready to go out to DC for the day. Dan's dad drove us to the Dunn Loring-Merrifield station and we took the Metro to Washington, DC! I love the Metro... it's so amazing!

We went to the Smithsonian station and came up to the mall! We saw the Capitol and the Washington Monument in the distance and decided to go to the Museum of American History. Most of it is the same as the last time we went, and they had a whole wing closed off for renovations. I'm kinda surprised they are doing more renovations when the whole museum was closed for a couple of years not long ago!

After that, we went to the White House and took a walk around there. We went to the South Lawn first. I rang the little doorbell they have on the gate, but noone answered. I was hoping to ask if Obama could come out to play!

We walked around to the North side of the White House, took some pictures, and then we headed to the Air and Space museum. It had a been a really long time since we were there.... I think the only time I went there was the first ever time I came to DC to visit Dan at school!

I didn't remember anything from previous visits, but I think that museum is one of the most dated of all the Smithsonians!

We headed back to the Metro at and got a 1:30 train back and we arrived at 2.

When we got to the station, we were supposed to put an extra dollar onto our cards because there was some sort of surcharge for getting paper tickets. Unfortunately, we didn't have any dollar bills, and only had a $20. We intended to try to get change from the person in the information booth, but the booth was empty. The person in front of us was trying to talk to them, too, but since they weren't there, they just went out the non-machine exit, and so we did, too! Oh well! We saved $2!

Dan's Dad picked us up and we went back to the hotel to get ready for Thanksgiving Dinner.

Dan and I were upset when we got back to the hotel room because Dan's mom had told the housekeeping people not to clean our room because Dan's Grandma was in there watching TV! It's not that the room itself needed to be cleaned, but with other people using our bathroom, we had no more towels, the shampoo was empty, the soap was all gone, and there was hair and toothpaste all over the sink! It would have been nice to have it cleaned up!

We called the front desk, and they sent the housekeeping people back. They did a good job, and very quickly. We got ready to go to Henry's for Thanksgiving, and we left around 3:15.

We got there around 3:30 and they were just getting the appetizers ready. The dogs were INSANE. There were four wild dogs running all over the place and I hated that with a passion. Dan's Uncle Alan gave me a water gun with lemon juice in it to spray at the dogs to keep them away. I must have sprayed it about 20 times throughout the night, and it WORKED. At first, it would scare them away, but then towards the end of the night, they would be walking my way, realize I was there, and just run away without me having to do anything! Very effective. That really saved the day. Without the gun, I don't think I would have made it.

So, I didn't like any of the appetizers, so I was happy when it was dinner time. The turkey was good, but I have to say that most of the food was cold, and other than the turkey, there was nothing else for me to eat. Just to make it clear that I'm not the only one, our whole group was saying later on that the food was cold, and many traditional Thanksgiving foods were not present.

One very fun activity was something that Henry's girlfriend had which was a "make your own turkey" craft set. It was a lot of fun! It was foam pieces that had sticky backings and you put it together to design a cool turkey! There were 24 sets, so I made three! hahaha

While we were making them, the table we were sitting at collapsed and fell on my leg, so unfortunately, my right knee is a little bruised. It hurts a little when I walk, so I'm trying to stretch it out!

We left around 9:30 and headed back to the hotel. We relaxed a little and got ready for bed!

I had some Chunky Soup and then watched some TV. Dan's Grandma was looking at the newspaper and checking out the TV listings. We asked her what was on, and she started reading out shows and channels. When we put those channels on, we noticed that the shows were different. It turned out that she was reading the listings for 7:00pm and it was 10:30 at the time! lol

Anyway, now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com