Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 23, 2012 - 10:21 p.m.
"mount vernon" or "cobbler and gobbler"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was a pretty fun day. We did a lot, and had a full day. We got up at about 8:00 and got ready for breakfast. We went down to the lobby, and I had some eggs and cereal this morning. I also had a couple of cranberry juices, and an apple juice!

Then we headed back to our room and took a shower before heading out for the day. We decided to go to Mount Vernon to see George Washington's home! I was also very excited because it's the home of Cobbler and Gobbler, the two turkeys who were pardoned on Wednesday by the President!

We left the hotel at 11:45 and arrive there around 12:15. It was a big day there because it was the FIRST day that the third floor of Washington's house was open to the public! Exciting!! We walked from the parking lot to the welcome center, got tickets, and then went in to see a movie. It started off with an introduction by Pat Sajak which was quite funny. I was tempted to buy a vowel! Then it had a brief history of Washington's life and stuff.

Next we headed out and went to see the turkeys! They were in a little penned in area, and we heard them gobbling and it was pretty cool! It's wild that they were just on TV, and Obama was hanging out with them on Wednesday, and now here they were.

There was some odd guy standing there and he was saying, "They're really lucky... You'd think they'd look a little more thankful. They don't look like they even care." He was dead serious... and the woman he was with was like, "Do you think they know what happened?" I was like... first off... the turkeys have NO idea they were "pardoned," and they don't know ANYTHING! Secondly, how would you determine if a turkey was "thankful," anyway!? I mean, what about them looked UNTHANKFUL! Weird!!!

So, we toured the Slaves quarters, and checked out all of the little houses on the property. We saw the "dung repository," and then we split up from everyone else because we had tickets to go inside the house at 2:00. Everyone else had 3:10, and they decided not to go.

Before that, we went to see "Lady Washington." Martha was over in a little house next to the old Slave house, and we went in and chatted with her and got a picture! Woo Hoo! Dan's Grandma took our picture, and then she dropped my camera right on the lens. Luckily the floor had a rug, and I don't think the camera has any damage. It seems to still be working fine. However, the photo got deleted. It never saved, and the battery flew out when the camera hit the ground... So, we had to go and take it again. Martha was happy to see us again.

After that, we got on line for the house. The line looked worse than it was. It was a little long, but it went very quickly. Only about 15 minutes. We got inside, and I thought the house was really interesting. The third floor was cool. We got to see the bed that Washington died in, and the room Martha slept in after he died. I think those were the coolest things about the house.

Dan set off some alarm by accidentally kicking a sensor near the door! II told the lady he was trying to make a run for George's bed, but she didn't seem to care.

Then we saw Dan's mom outside of the house and she said that everyone had gone back to the car. So basically, they didn't do half of the stuff there was to do at Mount Vernon, and decided to sit in the car instead. Dan and I still wanted to see Washington's tomb, the old tomb, and the museum... so we did that and said we'd meet them in the car when we were done.

We saw the tomb, it was cool... then we saw "Washington's Christmas Camel."

Next, we went into the museum and saw cool stuff, including his dentures! They had a great sign that said, "Please do not photograph the General's dentures." I liked it. My joke was, "I guess he had sensitive teeth!"

On that same note, I thought it was strange that even on his tomb, it said something like, "Here lies General Washington." My question was why did they say General and not President? I mean, wouldn't you normally use the highest position he held? I'm sure there's a reason behind that... maybe I'll google it!

Okay, I googled it... Apparently, the proper protocol is that once a president is no longer president, he loses that title, and reverts to his highest title prior to his presidency. Apparently they don't really do that anymore, since we called Clinton and Bush President, still. Weird.

Anyway, after that we went over to Uncle Albert's house. It was a really nice house, and we got the grand tour. The upstairs is beautiful and the bathroom has heated floors. Then I was shocked to see that there was also an amazing basement. They live right on a lake, too! Crazy!

We hung out there for a bit, and then we went out to dinner to a place called Cheng's Oriental Restaurant. Everyone met us there... Amy, Alan, Henry, Sherry, Jacob, etc. We had a nice dinner, and then when we were done, Henry invited everyone back to his house.

I was definitely NOT interested in a repeat of the dog show from yesterday. I had survived once, and I wasn't up for seconds! Since they live very close to the hotel, Dan's dad dropped Dan and I off here.

Then we decided to take a walk over to Target. It was about a 5 minute walk! I'm so glad we did that, I really enjoyed it. It was an amazing Target, too! It was on the third floor of this big building and there were huge Target logos outside, and then it has escalators for your basket! I was amazed. They also had my favorite Target plastic carts! I want them at home, and the only other place I've seen them was at the Target in Flagstaff, Arizona.

We got some necessities and snacks for later, and then headed back to the hotel.

We got back a little while ago and just relaxed. Everyone else should be back from Henry's in a few minutes! We're off to bed soon, and tomorrow we're leaving at 9am to go home!

I really hope we don't hit traffic in NY. I just want to get home and have a nice Saturday! Fingers crossed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com