Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 02, 2012 - 12:04 a.m.
"no columbus for us" or "random trip to the city"

Hey Journal!

We got up at 10:30 this morning and watched a little TV. I had a Belvita bar for breakfast, although I like to call them Bell-Vitt-Ay.

We had made plans to hang out with Linda today, but weren't sure what we wanted to do. I had suggested going into the city to see the Columbus monument art exhibit thing, and I was REALLY interested in it since I had seen it on the news a few weeks ago. This was the last weekend for it, so I wanted to get there while I still had a chance.

Unfortunately, I looked online and saw that they were giving out free tickets, and they were out for the rest of the time it was there. I also read that they allowed some walk-ups, but I wasn't sure... I told Dan and Linda this beforehand, but they decided it was still worth a shot, and either way, we could go see the tree in Rockefeller Center, and do other random city stuff.

We left home around 11:30 and arrived to Linda's at 12. Connor had his long underwear on to keep warm, and I revealed the secret that I too had long underwear to brave the elements!!

We headed out and Linda drove. I had looked up some parking garages and found a good one near Times Square, and we were set.

We walked through Times Square on our way to the Columbus thing, and if you don't know what I mean by the "columbus thing," basically... there's a statue of columbus that sits on top of a large pillar in Columbus Circle. As an art piece, some guy constructed a scaffolding and a LIVING ROOM around the statue at the top, so people could go up and arrive in a weird living room with a TV and couches and stuff like that, and then right there in the middle of the room is good old Chris, himself!

Anyway, before we headed up there, we stopped at the Aeropostale and went to the old TRL windows! It was crazy being up there. I've been there before since it was converted to a clothing store, but I still can't believe that just a few years ago it was a TV studio and people would pack the street below to get a chance to be on TV every weekday!

We tried to get some good pics, but Cameron was not in the mood for pictures all day today!

We made our way to the statue, but sadly it was by ticket only and we couldn't go see it! We walked through the Christmas market type thing in Central Park, and then over to 5th Avenue. We saw the big Apple store and then went in to FAO Schwartz.

There was a huge line to get in that wrapped all around the building, but they had a special accommodation for people with strollers! We didn't have to wait at all! It was amazing!

From there, we continued down the road to Rockefeller Center. We saw the big tree, and had to move through INSANELY HUGE CROWDS of people! We finally got to the base of the tree, but again, Cameron wasn't interest in pictures!!

We were all really hungry, so we went to Dallas BBQ for lunch. Again, the stroller saved us! There was a long line of people waiting to go upstairs to put their names on the list and as we walked in we were told to take the elevator up. We went up, and went right to the desk, skipping a LONG line. Then, I told the woman we had 5 people and she immediately sat us while there was a pen full of people waiting! RESULT!!

We got some Texas Sized drinks... I got a Daiquiri, but immediately regretted my choice. I realized once it came that I had meant to order a Margarita! Oh well, the Daiquiri was good too! Cameron wolfed down her corn bread...it was crazy!

After that we attempted to go to M&M World, but the line to get inside was ridiculous, so we went to Toys R Us instead! Cameron got two of her fingernails painted, and we explored all of the craziness there. I went to the bathroom, and then we departed and headed back to the car.

We left the city around 7:30, and we didn't have any traffic really. On the way home we stopped at Baskin Robbins and got some ice cream! It really hit the spot! The Christmas decorations at this Dunkin Donuts/Baskin Robbins were really wild, I loved their window clings and they had lots of random stuff hanging from the ceiling. Linda bought a DD coffee cup ornament. When we were paying, the guy was asking what Linda had bought and at the end, Dan said, "And one beautiful ornament...." and the guy repeated in his indian accent... "and one beautiful ornament!"

We stopped back at Linda's house before heading home. Her dog is a wild beast... as all dogs inherently are, and she was kind enough to lock him outside to keep me safe.

We headed home and were pretty exhausted from the busy day! I took a shower, and then we watched last night's 20/20. I just had some cereal, and now it's time for bed! Gotta get up relatively early tomorrow to go out to breakfast for my mom's birthday!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com