Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 06, 2012 - 11:19 p.m.
"disney world, here we come" or "epcot" or "la befana"

Hey Journal!!

Well, I can't believe it but WE'RE IN DISNEY WORLD!!! AHHHHHH!!

We had a packed day, so it's going to be hard to remember everything that happened!

We got up around 5:00 and did the last minute stuff we had to do to get ready to go. At 5:45, my mom arrived to take us to the airport, and we packed up the car and were on our way by 6!

As we got closer to the airport, we started to get worried that we were late, and hoped we wouldn't miss the cut-off time for the flight! We got there just before 6:30, and luckily there was noone on line in front of us, so we went up the the desk, checked out bags, and headed to security. That wasn't too crazy, we made it through quickly, and Dan's shoes have little metal hooks on them, and they made him step off to the side so they could examine them!

When we got to the gate, A7, we saw that they were lining up our group! Perfect timing. Everyone else was already in line, but they were taking the other side of the row. We slipped into place, and then they started taking our line!

The flight left right on time, and arrived about 20 minutes earlier than expected!

We took the little airport monorail to the main airport, and then headed down to the Magical Express. The woman checking the passes there was from Ronkonkoma, and she asked if we still had Uncle Giuseppe's in Smithtown.

We got on line #3 for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge! Wooo! The bus wasn't very crowded, and we got here pretty quickly. I love the Magical Express... I love Disney! AHHH!

So, we got to the hotel and got on the short line to check in. There was only one person in front of us. Some old lady who looked clueless came over and asked us our name. We told her, and she had my last name on a sheet of paper of people checking in today. She told us that she would take care of everything, and for us to wait in the lobby seating area. About 20 minutes later, another lady came over and said we had to go to the counter. Strange. So basically we wasted that whole time just sitting there. And she was so crazy, too, because she saw my name, and then there was another random B name under my name, and she said, "there are two people here with the same last name!" Yikes! I saw it, it wasn't even close.

Anyway, we finally got ourselves sorted out and the lady who checked us in told us that we had a pool-view room as opposed to a savannah-view (where you may see animals.) Dan said, "well, I guess with pool-view, we'll see animals of a whole different kind!" She LOVED that! She couldn't stop laughing, and had a hard time getting through the rest of her speech! It was funny, and we were laughing, too! Then at the end, she said that they ask that you not feed the animals... so Dan said, "Oh! I was gonna throw cheetos off the balcony!" She loved that one, too! Dan was on fire.

She said the room would be ready momentarily, so we could hang around the lobby and we'd get a text soon to let us know it was done. We explored the hotel for a bit, checked out the pool area, checked out the savannah areas where we would be able to see some animals, and then we wandered around near the Christmas tree and all. Finally, at about 11:00, we decided not to wait any longer, and to just check our bags, and get out to the park. We went to the bathroom and changed into our shorts, and it was amazing! It was so nice to put on shorts! I love it!

In all, it turned out to be about 80 degrees today, and the low while we were out was about 75 when it got dark! Not bad at all!

So, we went to Epcot, and we met frank there around 12:20. Frank got us in for free with his passes, and then we headed to Ellen's Energy Adventure! We did that, then went to Norway, and then it was time for our lunch reservation. Frank met some friends at the restaurant in France, and Dan and I had 2:15 reservations for Le Cellier in Canada!

Our lunch was REALLY good! As far as the Dining Plan goes, I don't think you can make a better choice than Le Cellier! The steak was amazing. I got the New York Strip Steak, and it was cooked perfectly. It would have been $32! That's a pricey one, but for one dining credit, it's amazing!
They gave out really good bread, too. Pretzel bread! I loved it. For dessert I had Chocolate "Moose" which was Chocolate Mousse that was shaped like a MOOSE! Amazing!

The only things I would change about the dining plan if I could would be that if you didn't want dessert at a restaurant, you could save it for a "snack" later on.... sometimes after a nice big meal, you don't really have room for dessert, and you always get hungry a little later!

One other thing that I do with the dining plan that annoys me is that it encourages me to get soda when normally I'd get water. Because...it comes with a free non-alcoholic beverage...so I tend to go for soda over water just so I feel like I get my money's worth... but I don't really like it and it's not good for me. I think they let you choose juices or shakes, too... so maybe I will do that next time.
Anyway, after our meal, we went over to the United Kingdom and watched their little Christmas presentation! Father Christmas, I think it was! Good times.

We met back up with Frank and his friends and then we went on the Journey into Imagination! FIGMENT!! After that we went on Living with the Land, and then Spaceship Earth! PAPYRUS! and PHOENICIANS!!
Today was the grand opening of New Fantasyland at the Magic Kingdom, and Snow White from Once Upon a Time was there for the ceremony! I would have loved to have seen it, but since we got in after it was over, it made no sense to go over there since it would be mobbed!

It was also the grand opening of the new Test Track today, and that meant that they closed that area at 3pm for some other private ceremonies.
We went to Mexico and rode the boat ride which I love, and then wandered around the countries. We went to China and Italy, and in Italy we saw their Christmas presentation... La Befana! La Befana is apparently a woman who was asked by the wise men, on their way to meet the baby Jesus, to come along. She declined, but apparently wished she had gone so each year she comes into each child's home and leaves them a gift just in case they are the "christ child." Interesting!

Anyway, I LOVED La Befana! She was amazing! We got a photo with her after her story, and I think I am now obsessed with her. Oh, and I forgot to mention that while she's there giving a gift, she sweeps your floor. How could it get better than that!? Again, I love La Befana!

Next we went to the Candlelight Processional! Tonight's presentation was narrated by a guy named Blair Underwood. They have some other famous people, and some that I've heard of before, but now while we're here. Though, later in the week James Denton from Desperate Housewives is doing it.. that could be interesting. Anyway, it was a very nice presentation of the Christmas story with a great orchestra and choir!

After that we went to Japan and I colored a Perry the Platypus, and then we went to Morocco where I found an outlet to charge up my cell phone. I had been taking a lot of pics with it, and I really needed a boost! I got 18% more battery, and that was good!

We finished our walk around the countries and then went to the Seas with Nemo and Friends. It's a short ride, and not the best ever, but still a must do. No line, perfect. We then got a snack...pretzel... before heading to see Illuminations: Reflections of Earth! Woo!
The best fireworks, ever, and I loved watching it again tonight! It was just as good as always, and then at the end they had an added part for Christmas! It was nice, and the best part about it was the finale! INTENSE!!

We departed after that, and said goodbye to Frank. We headed to our bus, which came promptly! The perks of a Deluxe Resort!

We got back to the hotel, got our room number, and went to the room! It's a really nice room! Nice furniture, and nicely decorated! Loving it so far. The bathroom has two sinks, always a good thing, and we got settled in and I took a shower. Now it's late, and time for bed!

The plan.... Up at 8 tomorrow... go to Magic Kingdom, and have dinner with Nicole and Heather tomorrow night! Woo!

Until tomorrow...

Magical Dreams! :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com