Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 10, 2012 - 1:22 a.m.
"meeting scrooge mcduck"

Hey Journal!

Today was non-stop! I have no idea how it's 1:22am right now, I only ate ONE meal today at about 2:00pm so I'm starving, and somehow we made it!

Anyway, we got up this morning at 9am and headed out to Epcot! We skipped breakfast and figured we'd have a nice lunch in the afternoon. We were really looking forward to Sunshine Seasons in The Land.

We got to Epcot and our first stop was Test Track! We got FastPasses, but decided to do the single rider line since the wait was only 5 minutes. I liked the new design of the queue, and I like that they took out the pre-show, but other than that, the ride was kinda boring. They re-designed the look and feel of the inside, but the mechanics of the ride are still the same. There isn't really a story behind the ride anymore, like the Crash Dummy theme of the old one, so it's a little disjointed. Not one of my favorite rides.

Next we went to Imagination, but on the way we got a picture with Pinocchio who was randomly standing by the Christmas Tree. We rode Journey Into Imagination, and then we headed over to the World Showcase which was just about to open. (It opened at 11.)

Our mission was to see the Christmas stories in all of the countries we were interested in seeing! It was great, actually. First, we headed over to France. (Because of the schedule of the shows, we did some of the most crazy traversing of the park that I have ever done!)

Before France, we stopped at Norway and waited for them to open the ride at 11. We were one of the first to go in for the day. I love Norway.

When that was over...time for France...

On the way we stopped to take a photo with Mulan in China, and then over to France. We saw Pere Noel and listened to his story, and then we headed back towards Italy to see La Befana again! OMG... She is incredible. She was amazing the second time... just as amazing as the first time, and she is my new favorite Christmas story! Forget Santa, this lady is the real deal!

Recap: She saw the star of Bethlehem and then met the wise men as they travelled through her village on their way there. THey asked her to come, but she declined, and has regretted it ever since. Now she goes to children's houses looking for the jesu bambino (christ child) and leaves gifts for them just in case they are the jesu bambino!

Next we continued back to Mexico and met Fiesta Donald.

Finally, it was time for our meal of the day. We went to The Land and ate at Sunshine Seasons. It was incredible as always. By far the best counter service in all of Disney World. This time, instead of the chicken, I changed it up and got a pork chop and mashed potatoes! It was GREAT!

I didn't have room for my large cookie, so I saved it for later!

When we were done, it was time to get back to the countries! We headed to Germany for their story. We didn't have much time, so we took a boat across the lagoon. I don't think I've ever taken a boat across there before... it was fun!

We made is just in time. They told the story of the Nutcracker, and then the Nutcracker came to life! Woo Hoo. We got a photo with him, of course. Next stop.. China. This story was weird, and admittedly, I didn't pay too much attention to it. It was sitting far away because it was super sunny out and I needed some shade, but I still think it was weird. It wasn't Christmas related, but I don't know what the point was, really.

Then, we were off to Mexico. We rode the Gran Fiesta Tour, formerly the Rio del Tiempo, and then I went the bathroom before heading out to meet the three wise men! They were cool, and we got some pics with them as well.

Today was unbelievably HOT. The past few days have been cool in the morning and a little overcast until about 11:30, then getting nice and beautiful, but not insanely hot. Today was totally different... it was hot in the morning and even hotter in the afternoon... and I DID put sunscreen on, but not as much as I would have if I had realized. That's why I tried to stay in the shade as much as possible.

Oh, and I'm not complaining about the heat...btw... I love it, and as much as this weather doesn't make me feel like it's Christmas time... I don't care that much! I'd much rather live in a place with weather like this!

Next, we headed over to Norway to see their show. While we were waiting, we saw a kid throw up! Blah! It was gross, and a guy came over quickly with stuff to put on it that absorbs it and makes it solid. He used a whole big bottle! He went to get his broom to sweep it up, and while he was gone, you would not believe the number of scooters that drove right through it with no regard! Then a woman walked right through it. I don't understand at all how you could do that.. I mean, it was a BIG pile, and very noticeable. It was ridiculous!

So, the Norway show was funny, and of course, we got another photo.

After Norway, we went over to see the UK presentation. Father Christmas. Frank had just gotten out of work, and met us there. He arrived just after Father Christmas started and sat right next to me, but I didn't see him at all! Weird!

Got a picture with FC and then off to France. We got slushy alcoholic drinks and then went to Test Track. Dan hated it the first time so Frank and I rode the second time.

When we were done, we headed out of Epcot and back to the hotel. I wanted to get changed and take a shower before the Christmas Party because it was so hot outside today!

When we got to the hotel, I asked the concierge to print my tickets for the party, but he wasn't able to. I asked if he had a computer I could use, and so he let us into some wild room. We had to go back into the cast area, past a timeclock and all sorts of weirdness, and then there was a random little room with a computer and a couch called "Guest Assistance Room." I was able to print my tickets.

Frank and Dan went to "The Marra" which is a restaurant in our hotel. Frank wanted to get lunch. I took my shower, and got ready and met them down there.

Then Frank and I went to the gift shop while Dan went up to take a shower.

When we were done, Frank headed home, and we headed to the Christmas Party. About 6:15pm now.

We took the bus to MK and when we got there, we headed right on in for the party!

You already know my number one mission... MEET SCROOGE MCDUCK! We went to the place where he was supposed to be. We wanted to be there waiting as SOON as he came out! We asked several people, and eventually we managed to get to his location! It was 6:50ish, and he was supposed to be out at 7. There were also a couple of other people there, too.

At 7, the door opened, and out came a man. A man who informed us that Scrooge would not be making an appearance tonight. He said he wouldn't be out at all!

Needless to say, I was beside myself! First off, of all the times I've been to Disney World, I've never met Scrooge. I never met him because they say he ONLY comes out during the Christmas Party... and now all my dreams of meeting my all-time favorite character had gone up in smoke. Poof. Or so we thought...

Because we had to pay extra for the Christmas party, and because Scrooge was really the only reason for my visit... we went to "City Hall" to let them know about our disappointment. We had the luck of encountering a very very nice girl named Erin who tried her hardest for 40 minutes to help us, unsuccessfully. She was in the back for that long, and I have no idea exactly what she was doing... but she came out empty handed. She offered to give us tickets to another party at any time in the future, but to be honest, I don't think I'll ever got to another party.

We left empty handed, but she took our number, and gave us some super FastPasses.

We went to New Fantasyland and rode Ariel's ride, and then we got a call from Erin. Magic had happened! After the parade, Scrooge would meet us at City Hall! AHHHHHHH!

We hurried back there at 8:50, and a little after 9, we were taken behind the counter and into a back room. Oddly enough, another room with a computer and a couch!

SCROOGE!!! IT WAS REALLY HIM! AND I HAD MY OWN PRIVATE PERSONAL MEETING WITH HIM! He was freaking amazing! He was all I ever hoped he'd be! He was so amazing. I said hello, we told him our names, and we got some great pictures with him. What a moment!!

Scrooge understands me. I'm glad we finally got to meet. (And I think he is, too!)

When we finished taking photos with him, we headed out and watched the castle projection, but it was the same as the one we had seen the other night. We found a good spot for Wishes, and watched the special Christmas fireworks show. It was good, but I think the regular fireworks are better.

Then we went to Space Mountain and used one of our special passes to get in!

Next up, we went to Club Tinsel! It was a "dance club" with Goofy and Pluto! It was just so random and wild! Everyone was dancing and being crazy, and so were the characters! I actually danced with Goofy, and then went up and did Gangnam style with him! He loved it!

Then we walked over to the other dance party with Toy Story characters, but Dan refused to do anything, or get a picture with any of them, so we went to see the Christmas parade.

It was cool, and I especially enjoyed seeing Scrooge there! Woo. He was waving, and I'm sure it was directed at me since we are now BFFs.

When the parade was over, we went on the Winnie the Pooh ride, and then Mickey's Philharmagic!

And our final ride of the night, we had time for one trip to the Haunted Mansion! We were getting super tired, and we got there at about 11:55, and the park closed at 12!

Then we headed back to the hotel and we were SOOO hungry! The only thing we had eaten ALL day long was our lunch at Sunshine Seasons at Epcot... and as amazing as it was, I was no longer able to function on just that one meal!

Back at the hotel, we ordered pizza from Dominos, and they delivered in about 45 minutes. While we were waiting for it, I wrote most of this entry and then got ready for bed!! It really hit the spot, and now I can go to bed without my stomach growling!!

Now it's time for bed! Another early day tomorrow, and sadly our last day here at Disney World!!

Until tomorrow....

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com