Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 18, 2012 - 11:20 p.m.
"the cabinets were hung by the chimney with care"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up earlier than usual in preparation for Mike to come and repair our cabinets. I got up around 7:00 and started to get ready for work. Mike got here around 7:30, and I was eager to get out of here. Dan was leaving for work, and I left at the same time. I had no desire to be here just in case one of our neighbors or friendly board members came by to see what was going on. Mike said if anyone asked, he would just tell them he was Dan's Uncle and I figured he's the best suited to deal with the situation, so I scooted.

I was going to stop for breakfast before work but couldn't figure out where to go. Instead, I went straight to work and arrived a little before 8. There was some weird guy in the parking lot doing something in his trunk so I just quickly went inside and locked the door, hoping he didn't see me.

I watched Good Morning America at the bar and read the newspaper. It was just my luck... there was nothing at all interesting on GMA this morning.

So, 9:00 rolled around and it was business as usual.

That is, until the HEALTH INSPECTOR came! It's always a frenzy when people come to inspect things! He only had a couple of complaints... the two big "violations" were as follows....

This one is REALLY stupid... He said that the text used in the "link" between foods that can be cooked to order, such as eggs and some meats, was not adequate. The stupid thing is that the woman who inspected us last year told Jackie that she needed to change that text, and she told us EXACTLY what to write there. Jackie told the man that, and he said that it may "say that in our paperwork but it's not right." WHAT?? That makes no sense. Anyway, that's easily corrected.

The other is that the Chef made some samples of the specials for the week and the waitresses were eating it in the kitchen, which is a no-no. Rahhhhh!

Anyway, back in the office, I had a ton of stuff to do. Friday was the last day for members to contribute to the Holiday Fund and now that it was closed, we had to figure out the distributions QUICKLY in order to get them submitted with the payroll for this week so people would get them THIS YEAR instead of next year.

For lunch I ordered Grilled Chicken with Broccoli, but for some reason they put in spinach by mistake! I just left it on the plate and ate the chicken. I don't necessarily think I don't LIKE spinach, but I haven't had it in a long time and I wasn't in the mood.

I ate lunch at the bar, and flipped through the channels on the TV. It was all commercials. Everything I wanted to watch was on a commercial. Finally, I watched about 3 minutes of Mythbusters before they went to a commercial too, and I went back to work.

Our Monday/Tuesday cleaning lady came into the office while I was there by myself and started raving about how she was quitting, and this was her last day, and she doesn't do ironing.... So I told her I would get Dan's dad.

I went up and found him, and he went into the other office with her and she told him the same stuff she had just told me. Basically, she doesn't like to do ironing, in fact... she doesn't even iron her own clothes... so she was upset when Jackie told her that she HAD to iron tablecloths for a party that evening.

In the end, she decided not to quit, but she does have to do some occasional ironing!

Never a dull moment at work!

I left at 5 and headed home. The cabinets are up and I'm very happy. There were just a couple of odd things that he did that I wish he had taken a little more time on. One was that the molding around the cabinets isn't quite even, and has a gap between it. It looks a little junky, and I will try to fix it with some wood putty, but still... it's a little annoying to have to do that!

Then, we asked him to reaffix the toilet paper holder which had fallen off the wall. He did, but it was completely lopsided. I took a level and it was nuts! I had to unscrew it, move it up about an inch on one side, and then spackle over the holes he made! I should have done it myself to begin with.

I do appreciate that he did a good job re-hanging the cabinets, but perhaps a little more attention to detail would have made the job 100%.

Anyway, I cleaned up a little in the kitchen, cleaned off the shelves, put some dishes away that had been cleaned and then ran the dishwasher again! We have to wash all of our stuff, everything! So, little by little we can get it back in the cabinets and off the floor!

When Dan got home we went out to the store and then we went to dinner at Branchinelli's! I got spaghetti with meat sauce and put lots of cheese on it. It was a good meal... gotta love the Branch...

Then, when we got home I did a little more cleaning up, we watched World News, and then took a shower. I am in the process of burning some CDs for Lauren... she picked out some Christmas music she wanted to give her mom.

Now I have to get to sleep... Dan went to bed a little while ago! I'm getting tired!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com