Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 21, 2012 - 11:25 p.m.
"last work day before christmas"

Hey Journal!

I hafta get to bed because I woke up this morning not feeling the best and I am determined to get rid of this cold or whatever it is before it becomes more obnoxious!

When I got up, my nose was running like crazy and I had a tickle in my throat! I was not having any of it, so I took some cold medicine and drank an emergen-C. I also brought four more packets of it with me to work and used them throughout the day!

Luckily, the runny nose subsided pretty quickly, but I just wanted to be sure to squash it!

It was super rainy outside this morning and my first stop was to get gas. The wind was blowing and the rain was blowing in my face. Just what I needed!!

Then I headed to work but diverted over to Airport Plaza to get wine for Steve at Stew Leonards. As in years past, I went directly to the "Rare and Fine Wines" room to get the Duckhorn! I feel so predictable! It's terrible. I want to get something new, but I figure, first off... I don't know ANYTHING about wine, so I wouldn't know what to suggest that he'd like, and I know he likes this one, so I should stick with what works!

When I left Stew Leonards, it was POURING! I waited a few minutes till it let up a bit and then made a mad dash for the car!

I got to work, and I had to dry myself off with the hair dryer in the office. I had a little umbrella in the car, but my pants got all soaked! Grr! Just what I needed when I was already not feeling great!

I went upstairs and packed up the Toys for Tots bin and got ready to deliver them! Lauren was supposed to come in early to work to come with me, but she forgot, so I waited and waited, and finally asked Kelly to come instead. We loaded the bags into the car and it was a tight fit! I think we may have had the most toys we've ever gotten!

As usual, the drop-off location had changed again. It changes every year. Luckily it's always very close by in Farmingdale. We arrived, and just as in previous years, it was one of the sketchiest experiences of the year. We locate the address, somewhere in a creepy industrial park, and then we look to see where the actual drop-off area is.

There are a bunch of really scary looking guys, who, on any other day I would stay as far away from as possible, and then a warehouse door. We got out of the car, and unloaded the toys. We looked around, and NONE of the guys make eye contact with you. We brought the bags inside, and looked around, waiting for someone to acknowledge us, but no one ever did.

Finally, I FORCED eye contact, and was like "can we drop these off here?" They said yes, and that was it. We left them, and left. It's SO sketch, and SO weird.

Kally and I both agree that there should be a little table set up for donations and they could get a little old lady to volunteer and thank you for collecting toys, and then tell you where to put them. I don't really want anything other than a friendly face. However, they could also give a little certificate made out to the company thanking them for their work. It wouldn't be hard, just have the certificates printed and let the aforementioned old lady volunteer write in the name! Or even just give out a sticker! I'm not picky. I just think it would make the experience so much more pleasant!

If I didn't keep in mind that it was helping kids, I would totally never do this again based on the donating experience.

I got back to work and finished up stuff in the office. Steve isn't going to be in next week, and so I got some info from him on payroll changes and stuff.

I worked on taking some members out of the computer if they had left for the season, and then in the afternoon it was pretty dead!

There was a party in the restaurant and they come every year. They are always wild and rowdy, but a fun group! They always do a grab bag and it's always fun to watch! I went up there and watched it for a while!

Steve brought in a Sudoku and we tried to complete it, but it was too hard!

I left at 4:40 and headed home. Dan only had a half day of work so he was already home when I got back. We watched the news, and then went out to get some dinner.

First, we stopped at American Eagle in the Tanger Outlets. I had to return some underwear that was too big. I forgot that I'm XS in their undies, not S. I wound up getting a sweater instead.

Then we went to Ruby Tuesday for dinner and used our $10 off coupon. We also bought a $50 gift certificate to get a $15 off coupon for next year! YES!! We love collecting those bonus coupons! Our waitress was weird though.

When we got home, I was pretty tired. We watched tonight's World News which strangely was anchored by Cynthia McFadden! It was strange seeing her do World NEws! SHE NEVER DOES THAT! It was weird!

Now it's time for bed! Gotta get to sleep early to kick this cold!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com