Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 15, 2012 - 1:22 a.m.
"raise" or "bonus" or "insurance" or "lotto"

Hey Journal!

Today I got up a little later than usual, but I planned on being a little late to work so it was okay! This has been a really tough week! I know it was only a four day work week, but coming off a trip to Disney where we didn't sleep enough any of the nights there, then being up till 3am the night we got back cleaning up the kitchen... it's been hard to catch up!

I got to work and this morning was very slow. Nothing happened. Our TV is such a pain in the butt... it takes about 10 tries to get it to come on, and sometimes it can take over an hour. I think it's time for a new TV... we've had this one for a LONG time.. since we moved into our downstairs offices!

Anyway, today was a good day for me.... I felt like everything was going my way, actually...

First off, when Steve came in he called me into his office to let me know that he would be giving me a raise! I was extremely happy to hear this news, and I appreciate it very much. I especially appreciate it because it's the first time since I started working there that I got a raise without asking for it. That made me feel very happy that I was recognized for doing a good job without me having to bring up the issue!

Later, the mechanic gave out Christmas cards with scratch off tickets inside, and I was a lucky winner! I only won $1, but still, a winner nonetheless!

Dan was off from work today, and in the morning the insurance adjuster came to inspect our broken cabinets and to figure out how much money we would get from our insurance to replace them. I was extremely happy to find out we would be getting just over $4,000 for it! I'm almost positive that will cover the cost of fixing what happened!

Lastly, Steve gave out his annual Christmas champagne. Now, I am not really a fan of champagne, but Dan is. Every year, I get a bottle of veuve cliquot, however, this year, I got a raise in my alcohol as well! I got a bottle of Dom Perignon! Woo Hoo.

So all together, today was a great day for me, I got a lot of good news, and believe me, I do appreciate it.

Today at work was pretty busy upstairs. We had two funeral lunches and a Christmas party in the evening! Pretty nuts!

At 3:30 I got my lunch...Grilled Chicken.

I left at 5, and headed home.

Of course, today was not such a great day for many people in Connecticut. The big news of the day, we watched on TV in the office... the school shooting. Very unbelievable, and very sad that things like this happen. I can't wrap my head around who would want to hurt little children, or why anyone would have reason to target little children like that in the first place... but I got noone really does understand that!

I do, however, dislike the news when they are just finding out things and they report crap and get the story wrong a million times. I wish they would wait. Wait until they can boil down the facts and report something concrete. I don't need the news channels to be like the water cooler, and we all stand around gossiping and speculating on what's happened.

Anyway, I got home and Dan and I watched the news and got ready to go out. When I got home, I called my mom who was on her way home from work. She said she wasn't feeling very well, and thought she might throw up. I told her to pull off the road and to get somewhere where she could get out of the car if she needed. Then she got off the phone. I called later, but got no answer, and my Grandma called me back a few seconds later. She said my mom had just gotten home and that she had thrown up in the car! Yikes!

She didn't pull over, which was not good, and it got all over the place in the car! She also threw up all over the phone. Not so pleasant.

Anyway, at this point, Dan and I were on our way to pick up Julio. We got him, and then my Grandma called back and asked if I could get some Ginger Ale for my mom. We decided to go to Cheesecake Factory, so we stopped at CVS and picked up a bottle for her.

We dropped it off quickly and then headed out to dinner. We had a wait so we walked around the mall and Julio went to the Verizon store to get a new phone. He had recently switched to AT&T and regretted it because of their crappy service and dropped calls. He said the 4G was horrible. So anyway, he switched back to Verizon, and has to deal with cancelling AT&T now.

After that we headed back over to Cheesecake and had dinner. I got a $25 gift card and got a free piece of Cheesecake coupon! We used the gift card right away. Woo.

I got the Shepherd's Pie and it was pretty good. It was the first time I'd gotten it there and it was different than I expected it to be, but it wasn't bad. I liked it.

After dinner we headed back towards Julio's and stopped at Chili's for some drinks. We got some frozen Margaritas, and hung out for a while.

We dropped Julio off around 12 and then headed home. We watched the World News special from earlier and then the 20/20 special which was on later. I was annoyed though because World News was a special hour-long edition, and WABC decided to preempt the second half-hours with their own coverage. Ridiculous!

Anyway, it's late now and we're exhausted and heading to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com