Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 24, 2012 - 11:35 p.m.
"merry christmas eve!"

Hey Journal!

Can you believe it!? It's already Christmas Eve... in fact, Christmas Eve is already over! I had a great time, though... and this year we returned to a long-time tradition of going over to Aunt Regina's house! One of the best things about Christmas!

I think that if I think back on Christmases from a long time ago, the thing I remember most is going to Aunt Regina's house for Christmas Eve!

This morning Dan and I got up around 10:00 and we watched some TV and then got ready to go out for the day. We went to the nursing home so that Dan could visit his Dziadzi, and I wasn't feeling up to going inside... so I sat in the car and waited.

When Dan was finished, we went over to Lowes to purchase a new faucet for our bathroom sink and also to repurchase the faucet for our kitchen sink! We finally got our 10% off coupon, so we figured we'd make the most of it while we had it!

When we were done there, we met my mom for Christmas Eve lunch at Branchinelli's! I got the spaghetti with meat sauce, and it was very enjoyable. On the way out, they were giving out free drinks, which appeared to be Eggnog. Dan took one, and it turned out that it was a Pina Colada! A little strange because I don't see the correlation between Christmas and Pina Colada... but whatever! Dan said it was very good!

We came back home and my mom gave us out "stocking presents." This has become a tradition the past few years where my mom buys us lots of things that we need like soup, drinks, food, and even toilet paper!!

Then my mom went home and we started to get ready for Christmas Eve. I took a shower and figured out what I was going to wear. I decided on a new AE sweater, and also on wearing glasses instead of contacts! I wore my black glasses that I don't actually wear very often because I'm afraid they may hurt my eyes. Aside from that, I am happy I wore them cause I think I like the way I look with them on!

We drove with my mom, but had to drive over there at 4:30 to meet her. We arrived at Aunt Regina's exactly at 5:00 and the party started. It was a little unusual because we ate soo early. My grandma wanted to leave to go to Christmas Eve mass, so she wanted to eat early... but later she realized it was too late for her to make it to mass anyway, so they didn't go!

My Aunt Karen was up from South Carolina as well which was a surprise! I only found out yesterday that she was here! I can't even remember the last time I saw her! (According to my journal, it may have been August 3, 2003! Over 9 years!!)

Dinner was very good, my only regret was that we were sat too far from the light switch to purport our usual Christmas Eve mischief of dimming the lights!

Mikey brought out the stackable manger which provided some good times and we also played with some magnetic beads he had and made shapes out of them. During dinner, I went out to the car to get something and as I walked back in, I looked in the window and it looked just like a movie... you know, when there's some sad person walking by on the street and they look inside and see a family having a great Christmas... one of those. I tried to take a picture, but it didn't do the moment justice!

After dinner, we went into the living room and opened presents! It was a little awkward for me because we didn't get anyone anything! Yikes! The thing is, I have never exchanged with any of my cousins, and I didn't expect anything from my Aunts! For the most part, that wasn't a problem, but Christen got us a gift, and we didn't have one for her. I feel like a fool. Aunt Karen got us a bottle of Vodka, and Aunt Regina got us a gift card too! Unexpected!! I felt bad, but it wasn't a big deal or anything.

Then we hung around, and later went over to see Dan and Jackie's "Cottage." They live in the backyard now, in the apartment. It was very nice. I had only been inside there once before a long time ago when it was in between renters. They did a lot of work and really made it look nice!

We headed back to the house and watched some of Home Alone, and then at about 9:45, we departed. Aunt Regina was going to be going to church at 10, and we wanted to head back to open presents with my Grandma before going home.

When we got back, everyone actually opened all of their presents! My Grandma got me pajamas! Always!

Uncle Thomas, Grandpa, Alexis, and my mom also opened all of their gifts, and then we were all getting really tired!

We headed back home and Dan and I just hung out for a bit. I had a little of my leftover spaghetti from this afternoon, and then while I ate, I put on Babes in Toyland to set the mood!

TOMORROW IS CHRISTMAS!!!! We're not going to my Aunt Maureen's house in New Jersey... we're going to Dan's parent's house!

Until tomorrow...

Merry Christmas!!!

Goodnight!! :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com