Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 01, 2013 - 10:34 p.m.
"happy new year, 2013" or "it's the first day!"

Hey Journal!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!! (Cause it's the first day!!)

Well, we managed to have a fun New Year's Eve after all! Not bad for having absolutely no plans until just a few hours before the ball dropped!

Let me go back and fill in yesterday's story! When we left off, Dan and I had gone out to Dunkin Donuts to get a drink before trying to figure out what to do for dinner. I had texted Kristen but she wasn't sure what they were going to do.

Dan and I made our second trip to Target for the day. It's actually getting quite ridiculous. We are addicts. I love Target, though... it's my perfect go-to place whenever I have nowhere else to go! It was pretty quiet there... being New Year's Eve and all... but I always like when it's like that!

The Christmas section was pretty bare, but they had some 90% off items!! It was insane! We got a bunch of Santa hats for the golf course for next year's Breakfast with Santa for just .34 each! For us, we got Santa hats, some Christmas bags, and other assorted goodies. Our total was less than $5! It was incredible.

While we were perusing the Christmas loot, Don called to say that he and Kristen would be up for dinner! We suggested the Old Street Pub and made plans to pick them up at 8:00! We left Target at 7:45 and arrived right on time. We went inside to deliver them the gifts we had just gotten them... a Christmas hat for each of them and an Ornament that was... strange. It was a little fox-like creature with a crazy bushy tail. It was .25, so we couldn't resist. It spoke to me. It also spoke to Kristen. I'm happy we got it!

Anyway, we headed over to Old Street, and tonight we were seated in the dining room. It was pretty crowded when we arrived, but it cleared out a lot when we were there.

We had a very nice dinner and I thoroughly enjoyed! I got the Open Hot Turkey (yes, again) and it was perfect! I think I got even more than I did the last time I ordered it. I couldn't finish it all and took the rest home.

After dinner we headed back to Kristen and Don's and we decided to ring in the new year together! I went home and got some provisions... a few games, some alcohol, and set the TiVo to record the New Year's shows just in case we wanted to go back and re-live some amazing moment that hadn't yet happened.

I headed back and we spent the evening answering 80s Outburst questions and watching Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin on CNN! It was really amazing. Usually I like to watch ABC, but Ryan Seacrest is such a tool. He's so annoying and so blah! And this year, with no Dick Clark, there was ZERO reason to care. I wish ABC would wise up and get rid of that show. They should produce their own show. They really should.

Anderson and Kathy, on the other hand, were insanely funny! They were hysterical, and the best programming of the night, hands down! I loved everything Kathy Griffin said, and I agree with her completely on her feelings towards Taylor Swift. That cat-eyed bitch!

Favorite moment.... PROBABLY when Psy came by to say Hi! That was hysterical.

So, before we knew it, it was midnight and we were welcoming in 2013! I sent and received a lot of texts, and this year I didn't have the usual problem with texts failing because most of them were iMessages which went through with no trouble at all!

I also got some snapchats from Jerry, Alec, and Alex. Craziness.

So, we hung out there until about 1:30 and then we called it a night! It was very fun. I'm really glad the night turned out how it did. I knew we'd have a blast! Hopefully this year will be twice as good as 2012... but if it's just half as good it'll still be amazing.

We got to bed last night around 1:50, and then woke up this morning around 9:30 when my mom called me. Yikes! Too early!

We slowly got ready and then we headed out for the day around 12:00. We were hungry for breakfast and Dan was in the mood for IHOP. Just as we were getting there, Re texted me to say that she was craving pancakes. So, we went to the mall and walked around for a bit while we waited for her to arrive.

My mom was there, and we met her in JCPenney. She was looking for a new bathing suit for the cruise. Then we went back to IHOP to meet Re.

There was a short wait, but not too bad. We had breakfast and it was nice to see Re. I felt like we hadn't really hung out in a while... except for bowling on Friday, but before that it had been a long time.

After breakfast, Re had to go do some preparations for returning to work tomorrow, and Dan and I went to Target in Commack. Yes, another trip to Target! I got some clearance Justin Bieber wrapping paper! Score! :)

We came home and I did a little more packing for the cruise. I feel like this is the most I have ever prepared in advance! It's partially because it's all summer clothes that I'm not wearing now and also because I had the stuff out recently for Disney so after it was washed, I just put it right back into the suitcase... but even so, as packed as I am... I still feel like I have so much more to do. I know the stress level is going to rise like crazy by Friday and I'll be just as nuts as I always am before we leave. Ugh!

Later, we went over to get another little suitcase from my mom. I feel like we are running out of room. It may be because usually on cruises we take TWO big suitcases, but we haven't been on a cruise in so long that I had forgotten. Now, however, the only other big suitcase at my disposal belongs to my mom, and she's using it for the cruise! lol

Anyway, when we got home I made some Mac and Cheese for Dan for dinner and I ate my leftover turkey from Old Street. It was great. I have to say that the Hot Open Turkey from Old Street has quickly risen to one of my favorite meals ANYWHERE. Ahhhhh.

While we ate, we watched some more Twilight Zone episodes and then I took a shower. That was my second shower today, and I feel like lately I have been taking multiple showers a day, and I don't like it one bit. It's making my skin dry. Ugh!

Although I can't say that I'm excited to get up early tomorrow... I am excited to get back to work. I feel like I don't have enough to keep me busy! I like days off, and I still wish I had more, but there have been just TOO MANY too close together this past few weeks! I need to get back to work just to keep myself busy. The only thing about that is that there isn't going to be much work to do there even when I return! AH well! I'll make work for myself... that's what I usually do, anyway!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com