Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 21, 2013 - 10:16 p.m.
"inauguration day" or "mlk day"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up at the usual time for work. That's right, we never get off for Martin Luther King Day. It's just not the way we roll. Unfortunately, that meant no three day weekend for me. Dan had off, however, and he had a nice leisurely day at home!

Work was quiet in the morning when I got there and at about 10:00, Re came in for the day! She had lots of work waiting for her because she hadn't been in since December 28th! In that time, a lot of member account checks came in and lots of bills had piled up. Nothing had been done in her absence, so she had a lot of catching up to do!

She rang everything up and got all the days closed and ready for the bank. That took almost three hours, and then she paid the bills and stuff.

I had random things to work on all day and was able to get a lot of lingering things off my desk. I feel like I am able to get a lot more work done when Re is in for some reason. I don't know why, either I'm more motivated, or who knows, but I really do.

Later in the afternoon I had to go to PC Richard with Dan's dad to get a TV. We are having a Super Bowl party at the golf course this year and need a TV to show the big game on. We are going to raffle the TV off, so we needed something that wasn't TOO expensive so we could cover the cost of the TV.

Jackie found a sale at PC Richard, and so I looked to see just how good of a price it really was. Now, I hate PC Richard with a passion. I hate everything about it... from how ghetto it is inside, to how pushy the sales people are, and how they always pretend like they give you a great discount even though their prices are 10x higher than Best Buy / Amazon, so you STILL pay more!

Anyway, this just happened to the the best price I have ever seen for a TV. It was a 60" flat screen for only $779. I looked the same TV up online and for it for $999, and that was the best price I could find. It was even higher on some websites. It really was a ridiculous deal.

On the way there we knew we JUST wanted the TV. No wires, no warranties, NOTHING.

We went in, told the guy, he got it, and we were set. After buying it, the guy had to have it brought out the front of the store so he announced it over the loudspeaker for the whole store to hear. It was really weird. He read out the whole model number and stuff. Strange.

When we told him what we wanted, he asked "How many do you want?," which I thought was a weird question because how many people really come in and buy more than 1 of the same TV at a time. To be honest, though, I really do wish I had gotten it just for how great of a deal it was, even though we have no room for a 60" TV, and it would be ridiculously huge.

Alas, we brought the TV back and Re was gone by then. We brought the TV in with the hand truck and then I headed home at 5.

No traffic in either direction today... love working on Holidays. You know, I think for all holidays I should work and then get the NEXT day off! That would be a true holiday for me!

Today was also the Presidential Inauguration! We watched a little at work... the weird poem and then their parade back to the White House. I love watching them walk. (Especially Joe Biden! He's amazing.)

Inauguration is a funny word. It's not spelled how I would imagine, and it's just.... weird to look at.

When I got home, Dan had made some Chicken Pot Pie for dinner! YAY! It's been so long since we had the famous "Another Chicken Pot Pie," and it was perfect!

We watched the news and then ate while watching World News. Then we played Jeopardy!

After Jeopardy! I watched an episode of Reba (love that show) and then took a shower.

When I got out, we watched some of the Inaugural Balls and saw some of the singers. I loved the "Obama" version of This Girl is on Fire. So random!

Alas, now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com