Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 09, 2013 - 1:34 a.m.
"the blizzard of 2013"

Hey Journal!

Well, it's Friday, but we're not out doing anything fun because we are currently experiencing blizzard conditions and we're stuck at home!

This morning, I got up at the usual time for work and looked outside to see how the snow was. I was really looking for any reason to stay home from work, but it wasn't snowing at all and the roads were fine so I went!

The day was extremely quiet because the snow storm had everyone's mind on other things and I had spent my whole week preparing to get everything I needed to get done by Thursday since I thought Dan's dad would be back on Friday. He decided not to come in today, so I had nothing really going on.

I figured that it would be a good day to help Jackie put together her new desk. It had been delivered on Monday, but the box had been sitting in the hall all week. I like putting things together, but I was afraid I wouldn't want to do the whole thing! I planned to get it started and then either finish it next week, or let her finish it next week. Well, knowing me, I got started and then got obsessed with it. I couldn't stop till it was done. It really didn't take that long, and the only time I felt like giving up was right towards the end. It started to get hot in the office and I couldn't take it! But I looked at the book and there were only two steps left, so I figured I should just suck it up!

It came out nice. The finest desk you can buy for under $100!

Speaking of desks, I really like my desk. It's sturdy, made of good wood, and is in really good condition. I remember taking the keyboard tray off of it years ago when I first moved to the upstairs offices. The only complaint I have is that it's the only desk in the office that we can't find the key for, so I can't lock my drawers. Blah!

So, I expected the restaurant to be dead today because of the snow, but it turned out to be crazy busy! We didn't get any of the regular lunch crowd, but there was a small funeral lunch booked. They had reserved for 15 people but showed up with 40! Wow! So, needless to say, there wasn't enough staff to handle them since who would have expected that! Cray cray!

Most of the morning there was nothing going on weather wise, it was quiet and calm out. Then at about 1:30, it really started snowing, so I decided to head home at 2:15. I left work and the snow was just starting to stick to the roads but the roads weren't icy or slippery at all.

I made good time getting home, not too many other people on the roads. I got home around 2:45 and Dan and I wanted to quickly run to Target to get some food and stuff to pass the time while we were snowed in!

The roads had gotten considerably worse in just a few minutes. It was slow moving getting there, and it was starting to pile up. We got some soup, drinks, and other necessities. We had wanted to get a puzzle to do, but they didn't have any! They had always had puzzles at the end of the board games section, but there were NONE! I can't believe they don't sell puzzles anymore!

We headed home and we were in for the night! We watched the news, and watched the snow fall outside our window!

There were two orange cones outside near our window which had been there since the trees fell during the Hurricane in November. Anyway, slowly but surely, they got covered! I couldn't believe it when I looked out a few minutes ago and couldn't see them at all! Wild!!

I watched some Rebas tonight and then Dan and I watched Shark Tank! I love Barbara. I think I say that every week... but I really do. I think she'd be a fun person to hang out with.

We watched the news at 11, then Jimmy Kimmel and Nightline. The power flickered a couple of times tonight, and once it reset the TV and internet, but other than that, we haven't lost power! Hopefully we won't. I enjoyed the time that the power was out during the hurricane (Really!) but I had my fill, and especially with it being cold... I'll be happy if it doesn't happen this time!

Anyway... It's getting late, so we're going to head to bed! And the worst of the storm isn't even here yet! They said there would be really bad winds and heavy snow from about 2am-6am! This should be interesting! Can't wait to look outside tomorrow morning!

I have to say, I really hate snow. I have no use for it, and I think it's a big pain in the ass. That being said, I'm glad that if we're going to have some storm that is going to be a problem, it might as well be a huge one. Like... there's a threshold. If we're going to get a dusting, okay... but if it's gonna be 6 inches, it might as well be 20 inches!!

Okay... that's all for tonight...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com