Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 15, 2013 - 12:29 a.m.
"happy valentine's day" or "the carnival triumph returns"

Hey Journal!

Happy Valentine's Day!! Woo!

Before I get into my day, the big news is the Carnival Triumph incident! I have been watching the news all afternoon and evening and watching the ship be pulled back to shore! I loved watching the helicopter shots of the ship while people called in to CNN. They even zoomed in and saw some of the people on the deck that they were talking to! It was wild!

Having been on the Carnival Triumph, I am completely fascinated by this! The overwhelming majority of people that have spoken on TV have said that the commend the crew of the Carnival Triumph for doing an excellent job in keeping them as comfortable as can be under the circumstances. In addition, they have been so upbeat and seem to really be just going with the flow and making the best of things!

I noticed that the news reporters are really the ones who are whooping this up into a tragedy. The worst offender is a woman named Erin Burnett on CNN. She is LOOKING for problems and trying to put the ideas into people's heads. She's acting like this is a natural disaster and people are dying. She's being sensational... and I HATE IT.

One woman put it best... this is a disastrous vacation, not a disaster. Of course, noone would sign up for a vacation like this... but something bad happened and the comforts of home and modern convenience are gone, but everyone is alive and noone was in danger of dying.

Another commentator mentioned that while no one would have wanted this to happen, these people will be coming back with the story of a lifetime! In fact, I just heard two guys on TV who said they have made friends for life with people they otherwise would never have spoken to!

The award for best reporting of the night goes to Chris Cuomo, HANDS DOWN. He didn't hype anything up, asked excellent questions, and had a good sense of humor. I haven't really seen him since ABC changed up the cast of Good Morning America and he went to work on 20/20. He was barely on. I am really happy for him that he's found a new job where they actually put him on TV. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed him.

One man, who had been travelling with his daughter, was being interviewed by the sensational Erin Burnett. She asked him how the cruise was beforehand, and he said it was excellent. Then, she asked him how it was after... He said "it was PERFECT. I couldn't have asked for a better vacation." He went on to say that he spent so much quality time with his daughter... playing games, talking, and passing the time. He said it was much better than if things had gone normally and they were off doing their separate things.

Earlier, a woman was on the deck and her daughters were dancing around and having a good time.

Some doctors that were interviewed on CNN said that the people waiting at the port, who had been interviewed earlier and said that they had brought antibiotics for their disembarking loved ones, were doing more harm than good. They said the likeness of disease was very low, and it would be foolish to take antibiotics without any symptoms!

Anyway, if there is any drop in bookings and Carnival lowers prices... I will be first in line to book my next cruise! I LOVE CRUISES, and I can't wait to go on another one.

I was looking over my Triumph pictures and found three movie files of a little ship tour I had created. I already have a Carnival Miracle Tour online and just recently posted my Carnival Breeze tour when we got back from that trip. Somehow the Triumph one got lost in the shuffle. I figure a lot of people will be searching for info on the ship tonight and tomorrow... so I quickly put the pieces together and uploaded it to YouTube!

I think the whole thing is a very captivating story, especially for people who have been on and like cruises. It's a great story with a good ending, and I think that's why it's been the ONLY thing on CNN all night!

Now, back to my regular day!

I got up this morning at the usual time and headed off to work. We didn't get any snow last night at all! They had forecasted a few inches, but it never came! (And I'm not complaining!!)

Work today was a little unusual in that I didn't really spend much time at my desk. I don't really know why...because I don't feel like I was anywhere else for THAT long... but I guess it all added up. In the morning I did more work in the Locker Room getting all of that organized, and then in the afternoon, I went out to Target, Staples, and Home Depot.

For lunch today I had one of the specials which was Chicken Francese with Linguini. It was an odd combination because it was chicken in a lemon sauce with pasta and tomato sauce. I would never think to combine the two, but I do like each of them individually... so it was good.

In the afternoon, Jackie talked me into inflating my ball chair a little more, but unfortunately it got too big for my desk! I couldn't fit anymore... so I let some of the air back out!

At 4:45, we had a little tasting of the food for tonight's Valentine's Day dinner. I had the Chateaubriand, and it was very enjoyable!

At Target earlier, I got Dan a card for Valentine Day and a gift... a PUZZLE! The Farmingdale Target still has puzzle, even though the Commack Target claims they no longer carry them. I found a Charles Wysocki one! YEAH!!!

So, I left work at 5 and headed home. Instead of watching Eyewitness News, I watched the CNN coverage of the Carnival Triumph... but you've already read all about that!!

When Dan got home, he went out to get us some italian food for our Valentine's Day dinner and then we just watched the news ALL NIGHT LONG. We were going to watch that new show on ABC with Cappy from Greek on it, but we couldn't pull ourselves away. It's recorded though, so maybe this weekend!

Now it's super late... for a work night! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com