Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 12, 2013 - 10:56 p.m.
"this year's state of the union: strong" or "don't be a complainer, and look for the best in people"

Hey Journal!

Today I have some things that have been on my mind and I want to write about...

First is the people complaining about snow not being plowed fast enough... I think I already covered it pretty well yesterday, so I'll try to keep this one short. I think people are very selfish, and completely taken up in this "now, now, now, me, me, me" culture. They all want to be able to go out of their houses the minute after the last flake falls in a major snowstorm. Now, I think most people have had their roads plowed by now, but people who complained about it 24 hours and even 48 hours later are just fools. Someone has to be last, and someone has to be first to get their roads plowed. Noone is sitting around laughing at you and purposely not helping you. Noone wants to be last, I understand that, but it's a fact that someone has to be. And maybe if you are last this time, hopefully you'll be first next time.

Secondly, the Carnival Triumph. If you've been following the news lately, you may have heard all about the Carnival Triumph being without power and drifting in the Gulf of Mexico. The people on board had their vacation cut short by the fire that caused this, and now instead of returning to port on Monday as planned, they won't get in until Thursday. There isn't much firsthand information because people have no means of communication, but what little you hear has been sensationalism. I know that it sucks. It sucks for so many reasons... One, you were supposed to be having a great vacation. Two, you didn't sign up to be unable to take hot showers, or use the toilet, or to have to sleep on the deck chairs instead of your bed. But think about this... You're stuck in a shitty situation that you have no control of. Sure, you can be upset that your vacation was ruined, but try to make the best of it and not make life harder for the people working on the ship. They are "on the same boat," so to speak, and they are going through the same things you are... but at the same time, they have to try to keep you as comfortable as they can given the situation. Obviously, I'm sure many people have this attitude... but I'm sure many more are raging beasts.

With that said, I'm very lucky to have no experienced the problems of not having my road plowed in a timely fashion, or having a cruise issue, but I really believe I would just go with the flow and make the best of it... after all... there's no real point in making the situation worse than it already is. Know, and believe, that people are trying to help you, and that at the root of it all, they want to get your problem solved, and eventually it will be solved.

We were without power for 8 days during Hurricane Sandy. The first few days it was a novell thing, and pretty much everyone else had no power either. Then everyone else started to get it back. It was frustrating to come home from work to a cold house, to a dark house, and not to be able to turn on the TV and watch the news or my usual shows. It went on and on, and it did get old, but I never got mad or upset with LIPA. I looked outside and saw all the trees down, and I read in the paper about trees down ALL OVER, and I knew that people were working hard to get my power back on. I didn't see any trucks outside, or on my street, but I knew that either they were working on my issue at another location farther away, or they were working on someone elses issue and would get to be when they get to me.

I don't know... I don't even know the point of why I'm writing all this, but I just mean to say that I think it's all your attitude. You need to stay positive and make the best of situations that may not be ideal, or may be very inconvenient. Everyone is looking for someone else to blame. It's always someone's fault... and it's very convenient to blame government... be it federal, state, or local. It's easy to say it's THEIR FAULT. THey're doing it wrong. But believe me... they get information and have to make complex decisions. It's not all about you all the time.

Getting back to my day today, I woke up this morning at 7:44 and headed off to work. I got the CPC mail from the PO Box and then headed in.

The gang was all here today... Pete, Steve, Bill, Lisa... a Full House!

The day went by quickly, and for lunch I had a Strip Steak. It was really good. A very yummy and filling meal! It was one of the specials this week!

I left work today at 5:00 because I had completely forgotten that I had to bring something to FedEx and wanted to leave earlier.

The traffic was ANNOYING today. So slow! I got home around 5:45. I watched the news and then World News. Dan came home and then went right out to the gym. I had some soup for dinner and then when Dan got home we watched Jeopardy! Tonight was the finale of the Teen Tournament. I'm happy with the results. At first I didn't want this kid to win because he stood stupidly and wasn't so good yesterday, but he wagered a lot on a Daily Double, and I liked his risk taking... so I think he deserved it.

I took a shower, and then Dan and I watched the State of the Union. I always like to watch to see which Supreme Court Justice is the most expressionless. I thought it was good... but they're kinda boring. I think I have a great idea for next year's SOTU. He comes in, shakes all the hands, comes up to the podium, says "The state of the Union is strong!" Then turns around, and leaves.

Why not? Every President says that every year anyway... and this would be a good twist. It's kind of an outdated tradition in that in olden times when it was hard to communicate with all the Senators and Representatives, it was a great vehicle for the President to set the stage for his views and his plans and present them to everyone at the same time. Now it's like.. You're not telling us something we ALL don't know and it's very much a staged production.

And that brings me to another complete annoyance and waste of time... The -other party- response. And I mean whatever other party is not giving the speech. The State of the Union is the President's forum. He has been invited by Congress to give his Address and he does it. The TV stations decide if they want to carry it... and of course they do. There is NO NEED for a "response" from anyone. If a Democrat is President... NO REPUBLICAN RESPONSE. If a Republican is President... NO DEMOCRATIC RESPONSE. It's not their forum. Noone invited you to the Capitol to speak. It's just tacky.

Alas, now it's time for bed! It's actually past time for bed! I'd better get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com