Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 18, 2013 - 11:30 p.m.
"president's day"

Hey Journal!

Happy President's Day!

This morning I slept until about 10:30 and then got up and we watched Kelly Ripa from Disney World! Woo!! I loved seeing them there, but watching the whole show really reconfirmed just how much I hate Michael Strahan as Kelly's co-host. He's so annoying in every possible way! There were so many other great choices... why did they pick him! Ugh!

The show was good, but kinda disjointed and they made a lot of weird errors and it seemed just all over the place. I have a feeling tomorrow' show will be much better put together! Disney isn't going to stand for that!

Next, we did more of our puzzle and watched The View.

At about 12:15, we went out and headed to St. Mary's in Lake Ronkonkoma to drop off the clothes we had to donate. I was really excited to drop this stuff off because when I was little people always used to leave clothes on the porch of this church and I thought it was the craziest thing that EVERYONE knew to bring their clothes there! Even Dan's parents did it! So weird!

Anyway, you'll remember when Kelly and I dropped the Toys off at the Toys for Tots location last year, we were disappointed at the lack of excitement and thanks. We felt like the people were unappreciative and very blah. We were saying that it would be great to have some little old ladies there to accept your donations and make you feel good so that you'd be more likely to do it again! Because this was a church, I had a feeling we were going to leave feeling good about ourselves... but I have to say... it wasn't meant to be.

We came in with two of the four boxes and made it very clear that many of the items were still wrapped in their original packaging and that most of the donations were BRAND NEW. There were four ladies there, and I don't think any of them were impressed. One asked that if possible, would we be able to drop the rest off in the outside collection bin. Really?? I just wanted a little recognition.

Let me review this.... I know when you do something good, like make a donation of clothes or toys, you do it for the people you will help, not for the praise from others. I get that. But really, when you make an online donation of money, you get a long Thank You e-mail from the organization and they try to make you feel great about what you just did. Of course, they do this so that you'll give them more... but really... isn't that the same principle... If they just made me feel happy about what I did, I would be more inclined to do it again. And therefore, I am very disappointed with the state of charities on Long Island.

After we did our thankless deed for the day, we went to lunch at Buffalo Wild Wings. I was really craving it. I got the Chicken Parmesan pizza that Re had gotten last time were were there. I really liked it, but the problem was that I had been CRAVING the Naked Tenders. So, I left STILL craving them. Sadness!

Out waitress was nice, but unfortunately there were no good eye-candy waiters today. I was deeply saddened! There was also noone else playing the trivia! I don't understand why!

Next, we had to get a C-Clamp, so we went to Lowes. We walked around for a while and looked for something else to buy... we figured there MUST be something we needed at home.. but it turns out we didn't. We brought our loney C-Clamp to the register, and the kid who rang us up was actually someone we had met before. He was someone that Julio knew, and we saw him at a Starbucks once before. As he was ringing us up, he said, "I remember you," to which Dan replied, "I remember you, too." lol Random!

We headed home after that, and I was really let down when I realized that the C-Clamp we had purchased was too small. Ugh. Now I have to go get another one. (We want to use it to press down our kitchen counter where it had expanded a little when the water seeped into it.

We worked on our puzzle some more and then did our taxes. We took about an hour and a half and did both of our taxes. Woo Hoo. Our refunds are on the way... of course, except for my State return... I owe them $3. $3... REALLY? They always want something!

After that, Dan went to the gym.

ShopRite is having a sale this week on Minute Maid juices. They are so all over the place, though. A few weeks ago the drinks were .88 each. Then the next week they shot up like crazy. I think the last time I went in, they were $2.50 each. So insane. NOW, they are back to .99. Because we never get enough, I made sure to stock up now. We got six Fruit Punches and four Lemonades. WAHOO! All for under $10!

That should last us at least until their next sale! (I hope!)

When Dan got home, he made us some dinner. He made grilled cheese sandwiches and I also had my leftover chicken that I had made last week. We ate, and then we watched Breaking Bad!

We caught up when we were watching on Netflix, but now we had to wait for it to be on TV. They are playing the first half of season 5 now, which we had missed, and then right after that, the new episodes will begin.

It's weird getting back into that show after such a long time, and after watching them all in such a short amount of time. It feels weird that it's still going on! I feel like it ended.

I took a shower after that and then we had milkshakes and did some more puzzling. Puzzles make time fly by! I have to get to bed now! It's so late! Of course, I'm not tired because I was up late last night and slept late today!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com