Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 17, 2013 - 1:26 a.m.
"the tradition of lion dancing"

Hey Journal!

This morning, I got up at about 10:00 and watched a little TV before taking Dan to the train station. He had made plans with some people he works with to go to brunch in the city and then to a bar. I dropped him off at Central Islip and then came back home and hung around for a bit.

I watched a little TV and then I cleaned the bathroom and straightened up around the house.

I watched a couple of episodes of Boy Meets World and there was a great commercial that they played several times this afternoon.... it's different scenes of Cory and Topanga with the music Best I Ever Had playing in the background! I dunno why, but I like it!

Anyway, at about 3:00, Linda, Connor, and Cameron came over and we hung out here for a little while and then went out to Target. We went to the one in Commack and we were in search of a Rockin' Dora the Explorer toy that unfortunately they didn't have.

Dan had called earlier in the day and tried to make a reservation for dinner, but the guy who answered said that they were pretty full and that there was no guarantee that we would be able to get a seat. Then about 20 minutes later, Linda tried again and the girl answered the phone and took the reservation no problem! Wild!

Anyway, we continued our Target shopping and then when we were done we had some time to kill before Lion Dancing so we stopped by to say hi to my mom. I didn't know it but there was a lot of craziness going on there. My mom was there, Aunt Maureen, Uncle Thomas, Alexis and Darcy, and Alexandra! Then later, my Aunt Regina came, Aunt Janice, and Eric! So add in Connor and Cameron and it was craziness! lol

We left there around 6:45 and then Linda dropped me off at home so that I could pick up Dan. She went to Lotus East to make sure to let them know we were THERE just in case the girl wasn't supposed to have taken a reservation for us!

I went to the Smithtown station because I figured that made sense. I thought he was planning on getting off there, but he texted me as the train was sitting on the platform that his train was leaving. I was really confused because I was wondering why he hadn't gotten off the train and why he was telling me that the train was leaving for St. James when it was sitting still. Then he texted me again and told me the train had left Smithtown, but still I looked up and it was right in front of me!

By the time I got on the phone with him to figure this out, they had already closed the doors so he couldn't get off. I hurried over to the St. James train station and got there a little after he arrived. We got to Lotus East just a couple of minutes after our table was ready and Linda, Connor, and Cameron had already gotten the seats!

Lion dancing was GREAT as always! I loved the lions, they did a lot of dancing, and it's such a fun event!

This year was a little different than other years because, of course, our favorite waiter Gene wasn't there. Although, tonight of all nights was probably the least disappointed that he wasn't there because usually on Lion Dancing nights he doesn't have the time to come over and joke with us. There were three lions this year...very nice... and they did an extra long dance because they originally forgot to hand out the little money envelopes! They had to keep dancing while they handed out the envelopes and then make another pass around the room to collect them! I think this was one of the best dances we've seen... maybe only the first time was slightly better!

They even danced out into the parking lot! It was incredible! I got great pictures and videos! Our other favorite is the music! I love the beat.... It's the same every year... the drumming! AHHH! I can't wait for next year, already!

I think going to Lotus East for lion dancing each year is such a great tradition and I'm soooo glad we randomly stumbled upon it!

This year, we saw the lions dance and then we ate. In other years I guess we had come earlier.

Dinner was good, and then afterwards Cameron went to check out the fish in the fish tank. She really enjoyed looking at them, but she kept mentioning that people might eat them, or that they were dead. One other kid who was there was looking at the fish and mentioned that the one in the corner was less active than the others. Cameron told him it was dead. lol!

It started to snow a lot as we finished dinner and it was starting to stick to the ground when we left. I hope it's not going to snow much because I am really over it this year... and really for the rest of time....

As I'm sitting here writing this, however, I keep hearing plows go by outside! I bet they are overdoing it just because of how much people bitched about the last snow storm. I don't understand complainers. I get mad at things, too, but I think when something big happens you have to realize that you're not the only person in the world and try to look at the reasons that things happened the way they did.

Another thing people don't realize is that someone has to be first and someone has to be last. I say this with the Carnival Triumph and also the LIPA situation after Sandy in mind. People complained that THEIR power wasn't on when others had it back, or they complained that they had to wait longer than others to get off the cruise ship.... but if they had gone before someone else, then someone ELSE would have been last. There's just no way around it!!

Ah well, I feel like I have been complaining about other people's compelling a lot lately! I'm gonna try to stop! lol

When we got home from lion dancing, we watched Shark Tank and then a show about the hirtosy of Grand Central Station. I thought it was really interesting.

Now it's getting pretty late, so it's off to bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com