Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 20, 2013 - 11:17 p.m.
"fb app" or "funeral home"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up after three snoozes. I was so exhausted! I really have to stop this. I'm going to blame it on last night's puzzle. We were up until about 11:30 which is clearly past my bed time!

I had planned to take a nap or something when I got home today, but that didn't happen. In fact, it's probably going to be another late night!

Anyway, I got dressed and headed out to work. I got to work at 9 and watched a little of Kelly in Disney World.

The day at work today wasn't particularly busy with things that needed to get done so I spent some time developing two new applications. I made a Facebook App that lets our members sign in and import various parts of their Facebook profile into their Member Profile. I also made another Facebook App that will allow members to view their charge account on Facebook! The second one isn't finished yet, but I think I need one more day to get it up and running! Woo.

For lunch today I had grilled chicken with broccoli again! That's two days in a row... but today I didn't get the garlic on the broccoli... I ordered it... but it didn't come. Oh well! I ate at the bar and watched Boy Meets World. It was a really old episode because the opening credits were really weird!

After lunch, I had to spend some time fixing a mistake Kathleen made. She entered a tip incorrectly on a credit card and then she was also having a problem adding a tip to another member's bill. I fixed both of them... very odd. Then when she went to close out, she counted the drawer wrong and THEN she distributed her tips before we were done fixing everything. Basically it was quite the mess, but it's all fixed and all correct!

I departed at 5 and headed home. Traffic wasn't terrible today... I got home at 5:30 and then watched some of the news. When Dan got home, we went out for dinner to Boston Market in Commack. We had a $1 off coupon, but we got a Buy One Get One coupon for this weekend! Woo Hoo.

Then we went to Huntington to go to Liz's Grandmother's wake. It was at the same funeral home as Dan's Babci and Dan's Grandpa. We went inside and weren't sure what room to go to. We saw Liz's mom, though, so that was good. When we arrived, as always at a wake, it was a little awkward because we didn't know what the tone was like exactly. You feel weird smiling or laughing at first because you don't want to do the wrong thing, but at the same time, all I can do is hold back from smiling!

We saw Liz and she showed us the old pictures they had displayed of her Grandmother. I always like that at a wake because it's something to do, something to look at, to get an idea of the person's life. Everyone was smiling and laughing, so it was a pretty nice mood.

We talked to Liz for a bit, and then some representatives from her Grandmother's church came to say a little something. They started off by introducing themselves as being from the church. There was a man and a woman. They were basically like a tag team... when one would stop speaking.. the other would start. It was like they were morning talk show hosts or something! Then it got a little strange. The woman asked if anyone wanted to get up and "say a few words, or just a word, or tell a story, or an anecdote..." and then she kept rambling on and on! Finally, the man stepped in with some words of his own... He said that he really didn't know "CONY" (her name is Connie) and that someone told him that "they may have been at the same church picnic once, but maybe not." He then went on to say that he had never met her because she always sat alone in the back of the church, "but with her own group.... as people tend to do. There's nothing wrong with that." He concluded his speech by saying that although he didn't know her, she was the nicest person, was a devoted wife, LOVED the eucharist (Whatever that means) and was "almost saintly."

Now, I am not saying that any of those things are untrue, or that it wasn't a "nice" speech to give at a person's funeral... but it just struck me as being so weird since he just went on about how he had never met her, but now he knew everything about her character! Ayyyyee!

Oh, and another thing.. there was a large throne-like chair in the back of the room that I had just commented about to Liz... and then when the little service started, I made sure to go and claim it... so the whole time they were speaking, I was in the big throne! Ridiculous!

After they were finished and left, everyone was SILENT. You could hear a pin drop. It was intense. Noone wanted to be the first one to break the silence, so it just kept going! I kept looking at Dan! Finally I started to make some noises with my chair to try to just made ANY noise to prompt other people to talk or something! Then, all of a sudden, the room next-door erupted in applause, and that finally broke it! Phew!

Anyway, we said goodbye to Liz, and headed home.

When we got back, I put her Grandmother's funeral card in with my others. I have 7 total. As I looked over them tonight, I noticed that almost all of them are from friend's Grandparents. In fact, they all are except Debbie's husband and my Great Grandmother.

Dan went to the gym, and I took a shower. When Dan got home, we watched World News and then tonight's episode of The Middle.

Now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com