Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 28, 2013 - 10:43 p.m.
"the magic tickle"

Hey Journal!

Ugh, I wish it was Friday! This week would be perfect if there was no work tomorrow!

This morning I was thinking, on my way to work, about some things from elementary school and that made me decide that I would like to write an entry about my elementary school Art teacher. She was a pretty wild lady.... she always wore two different earrings, two different socks, neon colors, crazy nail polish, and had hair then went almost all the way down to the floor. I remember her being really fun and excited all the time. But the things that I wanted to write about are the things she did that made the most lasting memories but were also perhaps some of the stranger things!

First, every year, she would show us her personal vacation slides. From what I remember, she had a bunch of different ones, but I remember seeing the Australia trip a couple of times. She had pictures of herself at Ayer's Rock and other Australian tourist destinations! I really don't remember what the point of this was. Maybe it was just to show us some beautiful things in the world, or to give us some cultural reference, but I'm not sure how it exactly tied in to our Art class. In any case, I remember always liking and enjoying it! It was fun!

The second memory from art is probably the strangest. It was something she did from Kindergarten through 5th grade, and something that only now seems a little odd. When the class was almost finished for the day and our teacher was about to come pick us up, we would clean up our crayons or other art materials and were instructed to sit down at our tables with our heads down. Then, if we were good, had done a good job cleaning up, and were sitting quietly and calmly, she would come around with a giant feather and give you "The Magic Tickle!" Basically... she would take the feather and tickle the back/side of your neck with it. If you were lucky enough to be given the magic tickle, you could now go and line up at the door to wait for the teacher to arrive.

Now, throughout elementary school, I alway loved the magic tickle! I think everyone did! It's was only a couple of years ago, when we were reminiscing, that we thought it was a little bit of an odd thing to do. I feel like today some parent would complain about it and say that it was creepy or weird or something. I think that's kinda sad because it really was a fun thing for us kids, and obviously something I still remember.

If only we could do that now at work. At 4:45 when the work day is almost over, we should all put our heads down on the desk and then await the magic tickle to go home!

Well, here's to the The Magic Tickle.

I got up this morning at 8:00 and was lethargic. Even though I got more sleep than the night before, it wasn't enough. I slowly got ready for work and then left a little after 8:30. I got to work and the day was quiet in the morning.

The basement floors were waxed last night but they still don't look that great. For some reason they can never make them really shine. It's a little disappointing.

Today I got the report from the Arborist about all of the trees that we lost during Hurricane Sandy. I was shocked to see that we lost over 50 trees with a value on them over over $295,000! Of course, that's not the amount of money we'll be getting... we have a limit as to how much we can get per tree, but still... that's pretty wild.

Also, the Arborist said that we had a lot of his favorite type of tree... the Pinus Rigida!

For lunch I had a hamburger which I ordered from Kelly. She was looking at the menu trying to decide what to get, and I asked her to put in my order when she decided. She put in her order, forgot my hamburger, ate her food, and left! Meanwhile, I was sitting downstairs hungry. Sad face.

I eventually DID get my hamburger, and all was well. I left work at 5 today and headed home. I stopped at ShopRite and got some things to make dinner tonight. We had been having a bad week for dinner, so I thought it would be a good idea to change the trend. I got some spaghetti and sauce and figured I'd made that tonight.

When I got home I put on the news and then started boiling the water. It was ready a little after Dan got home and we ate while watching World News!

We played Jeopardy! and I WON! Woo. I got the FInal Jeopardy answer correct, which was PLUTO.

After that, I took a shower, and at about 8:30, we watched Zero Hour. Good show, I'm really getting into it. If it get's cancelled, it had better at least have a good resolution. NO CLIFF HANGERS!

Dan went to the gym around 9:45, and I am just hanging out now and getting ready for bed!

So excited for the weekend and that tomorrow is FRIDAY!! On Saturday we have a dinner for my cousin Mikey. My Aunt said it's a farewell party. I didn't know he was going anywhere... and I still don't know where he's going... but I guess we'll find out!

Now I'm gonna go watch some Judge Judy until Dan gets home!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com