Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 10, 2013 - 11:01 a.m.
"spring ahead" or "google, city, and drinking"

Hey Journal!

It's currently Sunday morning and I just got up! Gonna go back in time to fill you in on yesterday's adventures!! It was a pretty packed and fun-filled day... so here we go!

We got up at 9:45 when my alarm went off and I checked my phone and saw that Julio had already texted me to see if we were awake. We had planned to go to the gym before heading in to the city, but we checked the train times and it wasn't really going to work out!

We decided to take the 11:40 train from Ronkonkoma, and I called my mom to see if she could drop us off at the station. She could, and we started getting ready to go.

We wound up being a little bit behind schedule and then needed to stop at the bagel store on the way to the train because we hadn't eaten anything yet! We decided, instead, to take the train from Deer Park. So, we got there about 10 minutes before the train. We got our tickets from the machine, the fares were just raised a couple of days ago, so they were even more exorbitantly priced than they used to be!

Lucky for us, there was some good eye candy on the train! I tried to sneak a few pictures, and I think I was successful! lol

The ride in went pretty fast and my only complaint was that there was something wrong with Verizon's service because my phone claimed to have 4G service but couldn't do ANYTHING. It was so annoying. I even turned off data, went on Airplane mode, and restarted the phone a couple of times. It finally started working again somewhere in Queens.

So, our train came in around 12:45 and Dan insisted on walking to Julio's apartment instead of taking the subway. When we got down there, Julio was out and about so we met around the corner from his apartment. Dan had to go to the bathroom so we went to Google! We had been there once before but there was some new and exciting things to see, so we got the tour again! I had a ginger ale to quench my thirst from one of the many food areas at Google! We saw Julio's new desk... it's a standing desk! Amazing! I really need one of those! I took a picture of the label on it so I can look into this!

We went out on one of the balconies and I got a great picture of the city! Fun times at Google! I also got my Googly NYC t-shirt I've been wanting foreverrrr!

After that we walked around and went to Washington Square Park. It was such a beautiful day out! It was really crazy because yesterday it was snowing and FREEZING. Today it was beautiful and warm! And since it was the first nice day of the year, everyone and their brother was out and about today!

I thought about going to Best Buy to see Amy, but I messed her one Facebook and she said that she was on vacation this week! Ah! Too Bad!

We went back to Julio's apartment and hung out there for a bit before going out to lunch. We decided to go to a place called Westville. I got a NY Strip steak and it was great!

Next we went to a frozen yogurt place called 16 Handles. I had the Cookies and Creme flavor with rainbow sprinkles. It was actually quite good even though I usually don't like frozen yogurt!

We had some time to kill before going out with Linda, and so we went back to Julio's and just hung out. Julio fell asleep and took a little power nap and I watched World News. Linda texted me to let me know that she would be at the bar, the Village Lantern, a little after 8. At about 7:30, we started to get ready to go.

Around this time, Dan got a call from his dad letting him know that his Dziadzi had died. It was very sad news, of course, but in the bigger picture, it was his time. He hadn't been doing well recently and he really wasn't himself anymore.

Before heading out to meet up with Linda, we went to a bar called Barracuda for some 2 for 1s. Their drinks were stronnnnng, and were a great start to the evening! We were there for about 30 minutes or so, I would say, and then we headed out to get a taxi to take us down to the village.

When we left, I was already feeling it! We arrived there just a few minutes before Linda and her people!

So, this was a party for Linda's cousin's birthday and someone else's birthday at the same time. They had the back of the bar to themselves, and so we were in on that. They had a bottle of Absolut and we just sat back there and drank! They kept bringing appetizers and stuff and the only thing I liked were the little chicken finger strips, but I ate a bunch of them!

We had a really fun time... I haven't had that much to drink in a long time and I really have to say it was FUN! Of course, this morning I'm feeling the effects of it all, but I figure it won't last much longer!

I don't really remember much of the night at the bar after that because it was all a blur. I know the bathroom was downstairs in some weird basement and then the sinks were outside in the hallway. It was a little odd. I also remember the soap dispenser almost falling off the wall in order to get the soap out of it!

Julio left about 20 minutes or so before we did. He had to go meet up with some other friends. When we left to head back to Penn Station, I was at my drunkest point, I think! I remember getting in a cab and sending a bunch of ridiculous tweets on twitter and just being so confused!

When we arrived at Penn station, Dan was trying to buy more beer which made no sense, and then all of a sudden our track number came up on the screen and everyone was running for the platform as usual!

We got on the train and I know I didn't sleep at all on the way home, but I also don't remember much about it. I do remember when the train stopped at Hicksville... and I also remember going past the golf course because as we approached the golf course I opened up the App to see the security cameras on my phone and I watched the train go by the entrance! lol

We got in at about 12:30 and my mom picked us up at Ronkonkoma. It's a good thing we had planned to be picked up because we really wouldn't have been able to drive... I was still feeling it!

When we got home, we got ready for bed, Dan took a shower, and we were so exhausted....we fell right to sleep! Of course, last night was SPRING AHEAD, so at 2am the time was really 3am! That always throws me off, but I think this year it effected me less because of the drinking. I didn't really feel like I was out of whack very much this morning!

Anyway, now I am up and about to get going today! I'll be back later with another update! Yesterday was a super fun day, so our weekend was a success!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com