Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 17, 2013 - 10:34 p.m.
"recovery complete" or "homemade hibachi rice"

Hey Journal!

RECOVERY COMPLETE!!

I am happy to say that today was a really normal day! I think the stomach bug is finally gone!

I woke up this morning at about 10am and Dan and I watched This Week! Martha Raddatz was hosting today. Love Martha!

After that, I was thinking about my disappointment at the recent Oz movie that we saw and I was reminded of the movie Return to Oz which I had purchased with Jen B many years ago. I decided to give it a whirl. I had only seen it once before and I didn't remember it at all! It's completely ridiculous. First off, nothing makes sense as far how Dorothy is suddenly younger than she was in the original film. It's also really weird how they decided to cast the charachters that were returning from the last movie. They look nothing like they used to, and their personalities are different. Aside from that, the story doesn't really have any continuity problems. It fits well with the original movie... except that her old house is in the middle of the woods instead of in Munchkinland.

But just because the story fits well doesn't mean this movie isn't totally bizarre. The gnome king? The weird rock faces? The WHEELERS? Bellina? The Gump and Jack Pumpkinhead? I don't even know what to say. Oh, and then there's the electro shock therapy part.

I'll just leave it there. At 1:00, we went out to meet my mom for lunch at Friendly's. I got a grilled cheese sandwich with chicken soup. The soup had a little bit of a weird taste to it, but I ate it anyway. Then for dessert, I got a conehead! Mmm!

After lunch, we got a call that Edible Arrangements had tried to deliver something, but we weren't home. Dan called back and they said we could come pick it up at their office in Stony Brook. We were on our way to Target, so it worked out perfectly. We went in, and they had it right there. It was from Re's Family for Dan. It was really cool looking, and when we got home, Dan started eating it!

Before heading home, though... we went to Target, returned our bottles, and then took a quick walk around the mall.

I started to do some random stuff for work that I wanted to get done... I made little tiles for the timeclock for holidays coming up. For example, in the past we've had a "Happy Thanksgiving" or "Happy Halloween" message that popped up at the appropriate time during the year. It also has a little picture to go with it. I decided that we didn't have enough holidays loaded.... so I found some obscure ones like National Poultry Day, National Tartan Dan, Winston Churchill Day, No-Sock Day, and French Bread Day! Good choices.

Part of that dictated which days got chosen was my ability to find a totally weird picture to put with it. The weirder the picture, the better! I need to find some more days for later in the year, though.

Later, Dan went over to his parents' house and when he got back around 6:45, we got ready for the gym.

We went to the gym and I made a point to intentionally take things easier than usual. I walked 1.25 miles on the treadmill which is pretty typical, but instead, I did it at 2.5mph and an incline of 5 instead of my usual 3.5mph and incline of 7 or 8! Then I did 1.25 on the exercise bike but that's not really that strenuous, so that was pretty normal. I finished with some of my ab crunches, but I did only a few because my stomach was the main problem, so I figured I'd take it easy on that part! I also did the other one I like, but I have no idea what it's called.

So, I am VERY happy to be back at the gym after missing 5 days in a row! It's so annoying to miss that much! It makes me feel terrible! Anyway, at least I'm back on track!

When we got home, we got showered up and then Dan went out to get some pizza.

We ate, and then watched Once Upon a Time! I thought tonight's episode was cool... I liked that they explored the origins of Storybrooke, and it's interesting to find out who that guy REALLY is. See, everyone who makes their way to Storybrooke IS somehow involved! I'm surprised Regina didn't remember the name... but at the same time, did she ever know about him? Wasn't she off doing something else when that all went down? And of course, the big question.... Where is the father!?

Anyway, after the show, I tried making some Hibachi Rice! I have been watching the people at Gasho do it for years and I decided it couldn't be THAT hard. So, I got together an egg, some rice, veggies, butter, and soy sauce. It actually came out pretty good. Things I would do differently... next time, I'd cook the veggies more before putting them in, and also I'd cook the rice with less water. It was a little soggy, I think. But it did taste pretty authentic!

Next, we watched some of the Apprentice, but haven't finished yet so I'm gonna withhold my review until tomorrow!

Now it's bed time and I am so happy to be going to work tomorrow. The golf course was open this weekend which means I will have shit to go through, but at the same time... I can't wait to get out of the house and back to my normal routine!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com