Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 31, 2013 - 1:38 a.m.
"boston tourism" or "flo's duck tour" or "melted chocolate"

Hey Journal!

Today we had a fun and exciting day in Boston! We got up at 8:30 and got ourselves ready and out by 9:15. We cleared out our room and took our bags to the car so that we could switch rooms tonight.

Our plan was to head towards the Museum of Science and also see about a Duck Tour. We needed to eat breakfast, so we kept our eyes open for something along the way. We stopped at a cafe that looked like it had a nice menu. We went inside and got on line. There weren't any available tables, and the line wasn't moving at all. Several people who were behind us on line bailed on it because they were taking FOREVER to get people's orders in.

After a while, we decided to leave too. It just seemed like they were getting nowhere. We wound up going to a bagel store down the street called FInagle a Bagel. It was good! The highlight was a crazy conveyor belt machine that sliced the bagels and then shot them down the line. It was insane! The first time Re and I saw it, the bagel went FLYING!

After we ate our breakfast, we headed to the Museum of Science! Our first order of business was to get tickets for the Duck Tour. We picked the 1:30 tour, and then we went to check our coats and got tickets for the museum.

We saw the pendulum swinging, and Re answered the guy's question about the Earth spinning!! Then we perused the other exhibits.

I remember the first time Dan and I went to Boston, I LOVED the Museum of Science. Now, I feel like it was a little disappointing. If you asked me what I would have liked to make it better, I don't think I could really give you an answer, but something about it is kinda blah. A lot of the things there are exactly the same as they were when we went the first time but they seem to be in worse condition... like they weren't upkept that great.

At 12:00, we went to the lightning show! It was really cool. Re hates lightning and fireworks and stuff like that, so I wasn't quite sure if she would be a fan! It did get pretty loud, and we had to cover our ears a few times, but it was really cool. That was definitely the best part of the trip to the museum!

At 1:00, we went outside for our 1:30 Duck Tour. We were the first on line and we got our pick of seats when we got on. We sat in the middle. We were on the yellow duck and our driver was Flo. She was wild.

The tour was fun and informative. She was a fun driver, and had a crazy personality! We had a little traffic going down Newbury Street. It was a good tour, though.... I feel like we really got to see all the important stuff.

While we were driving in the river, someone jumped off of a bridge that goes over the river! It was so wild! Surprisingly, our duck operator wasn't too concerned, and just yelled to the guy to ask if he was okay. He didn't even really answer, but we kept going. Shortly after, another Duck pulled up next to him, and then police sirens went off, police cars came, and a police boat went out! Some excitement!

After the tour, we walked all the way back to Boston Common and then to Fire and Ice for lunch! I had no idea that there was a Fire and Ice in Boston, but I saw it in the Duck Tour brochure! It worked out perfectly. We got there at 3:30, and just before lunch ended.

I LOVE Fire and Ice.. It's incredible. We went up two times and both times I really loaded up my bowl. One of the new things I never had there before was Fried Rice! It was incredible! I had chicken, bow tie pasta, potatoes, broccoli, garlic, steak, carrots, garlic, onions, and of course... the rice.

Both of my meals came out great! Mmmm! I really wish we had a Fire and Ice around here... I would be there all the time. And for $9.99... you can't beat it!

When we were done with lunch, Re was craving hot chocolate. On the Duck Tour, we passed a place and Flo said it had the best hot chocolate, so we set out to find it! It wasn't far from where we ate lunch! I went to the bathroom there, and I was in there for a little while... unfortunately, it was a one person bathroom and people KEPT knocking on the door! Ugh! lol I was holding up quite a line!

The hot chocolate was really good, but if I had to describe it, I would say that it really tasted like someone melted down a chocolate bar and then mixed milk into it to make it thinner and then put it in a cup! It was very rich, or as Re described it... decedent!

With our hot chocolate in hand, we wanted to head over to the Granary Burying Ground to see the famous people who were buried there.

On our way to the graveyard, the CRAZIEST, most RANDOM thing happened! We were walking through Boston Common and had taken a little bit of a wrong turn. As we walked down the path, I saw someone who looked really familiar. I looked closer and realized that it was JOSEPH who we met on the Carnival Miracle in 2008! We haven't seen him in the 4 years since we met on the last night of that cruise!

I couldn't believe it! We talked for a couple of minutes and it was really nice seeing him! He goes to Emerson College in Boston, which is why he was here, and he's hoping to transfer to NYU next year! I'm glad that we literally bumped into him! What are the chances of that!?

Sadly, we got to the graveyard around 5:45 and it had already closed at 5. It seems like everything in Boston closed at 5!

We walked back through the park and over to the Four Seasons to see if we could say hi to our friend Matt. Matt, we haven't seen in a little over six years! He came to visit us a long time ago! I texted him to see if he was around, and then while we waited for a response, we went to the bathroom. We found a bathroom in a quiet area on the second floor. WOW! They were REALLY nice bathrooms! They were all sorts of fancy! Only the best at the Four Seasons!

Matt texted me back, and then he came over to say Hi! It was really nice seeing him again, and we talked for a while, and he gave us some suggestions on some things to do and see and eat!

Next, we were getting a little tired of walking and it was getting chillier out, so we decided to take the T from Arlington to Government Center to go to Faneuil Hall! We went in and bought a "Charlie Ticket" and then figured out where we were headed and got on! I think the strangest thing about their subway system is that the tracks aren't lower down like they are in NYC. The tracks are pretty much level with the floor! It's weird!

I had only been on the T one other time in the past... Dan and I had taken it a long time ago, and it just so happened to be as a Red Sox game was letting out and everyone was piling in. They were letting everyone on for free that time! It was a lot different than I remember it... a little newer than I remembered it looking. Maybe thats mostly because there weren't a thousand people mobbing the place this time... lol

We walked around by the harbor and then we went into some of the stores that were still open. Then, we decided to get some drinks! We went to a bar called Mija, and we sat at the bar and ordered. I got a frozen margarita, and it had a lot of alcohol in it! It was REALLY well made, though. It tasted PERFECT. (I would have liked some salt on the rim... but still... it was GREAT!) We hung out there for a while, and then we decided to go for a second drink at the place next door called Dick's.

Dick's was wild... we sat at the bar, but the people eating were all given crazy hats with weird saying on them! It's a crazy place. I got a Frozen Margarita there, too... and this one.. well, you could definitely tell that it wasn't as good of a drink as the last one I had. It had a very limey taste, kinda overwhelming.

We hung out there for a bit and then we took the T back towards our hotel. Dan and Re were getting hungry, though I wasn't really. We decided to go to a place that Matt had recommended to us called Parish Cafe. I wasn't super hungry, but I found something good on the menu! I got the "Simple Meatball." It was really just a meatball with tomato sauce and a couple of pieces of bread! It was yummy!

While we were there, I charged my cell phone in the bathroom just to get me enough battery so I could check in on Foursquare and also keep my Google Latitude going! I didn't want to miss out on all my check-ins so that I could remember where we had been!

After that, we were all getting tired and we got back to the hotel around 12:00. We had to go to the car to get our bags and then to the front desk of the hotel to get keys for our new room! We switched rooms because Re didn't have her own bed last night, as I mentioned! They said they would have a room with two beds available tonight.

So, we got to our new room, this one was on the 14th floor (the old one was the 12th). We had the same view. The room was really nice... I liked the hotel, I thought it was good, and I was happy that it all worked out with the Priceline deal!

We got in and got ready for bed, and now Dan and Re are asleep and I am sooo exhausted so it's time to wrap it up and get to sleep myself!

Tomorrow we're planning to get up around 9 and then go to IHOP for Easter Breakfast! Then we figure we can start heading home but possible stop in Providence and see some sights.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com