Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 19, 2013 - 11:57 p.m.
"the lost text messages"

Hey Journal!

This morning was terrible. I got up when my alarm went off and I had some junk text message that I had received overnight. With the phone held sideways and being half asleep, I swiped the wrong message, and as I was pressing Delete I realized that I was on the wrong message, and I deleted a conversation that I've had on there for YEARS! UGH!!!!

I know I never actually go back and look at the conversations I've had in the past, but ever since the days of AOL I have always made it a point to save all of my conversations and I feel sick to my stomach when something like this happens. I don't know why! I have the old AOL convos saved... and remember DeadAIM, and all those other weird programs of the past! Oh, those were the days!

Anyway, I think it's terrible that there's no "Recycle Bin" type feature for accidentally deleted materials! I checked my backups, and of COURSE that freaking WiFi sync isn't working! If it had been working, I would have had a backup from last night and wouldn't be missing ANYTHING right now! My last backup was April 4th, so it was too long ago to restore because then I would have lost every other text since then as well as my photos and stuff!

I spent the morning trying to find a program to recover lost messages. I did find a couple of promising ones and I worked to see if I could restore them. The problem is that even though the iPhone doesn't REALLY delete all of your information right away, they have no good way of recovering them. I was able to find, through various methods, the file system which holds the messages, but they are just fragments, and some don't have correct dates and times. In fact, some messages say that they were sent in the future, like 2033! WHAT?? How does that even happen? Then, I figured that I could possibly extract the messages and reinsert them to the database that houses them, but the database is so complex I think it would take an extraordinary feat to get them back in!

Alas, I decided at 10:30 that I was going to give up until later, and I had one last program to try when I got home from work.

I got to work around 11 and it was a BUSY day! There was so much work to do today for some reason!

In addition to all the work, I was watching all of the ABCNews coverage of the happenings in Boston! I loved how they would switch back and forth from GMA to "Special Report" and then back to GMA! And then, when GMA started on the west coast! It was just funny. I LOVE ABC News, and watching Diane all day made my day.

For lunch today I had fried chicken. It was good, but a little too moist. You know how sometimes Price Club chicken is too wet. That's kinda how this was.

I managed to get everything I wanted to go finished at work today done and I left a little before 5 to go to the Post Office. We are applying for a permit from the Department of Fish and Wildlife and it had to be mailed by certified mail.

When I got home, I tried my last ditch efforts of my phone, and to make along story short (too late) it didn't work. I did, however, recover the messages and have them saved on my computer... but putting them back on the phone is a lost cause.

When Dan got home, we watched more of the coverage. All day long it seemed imminent that an arrest was going to be made, or that they were going to find Suspect #2. However, it never happened! At about 6:00, they told people that they didn't have a lead on the suspect and that they could go outside again but to remain cautious.

Just minutes later, it all went down again!! They found him hiding in the back of a boat and BAM! What a crazy crazy crazy news day! It was like an episode of 24!

Meanwhile, this was some news week. Every store was so intense. First the Boston situation, then the Texas explosion, and then flooding in Chicago! I mean, usually they have some fluff story on World News about pets or something noone really cares about, but this week it was just one thing after the other! Meanwhile, we haven't heard boo about that Chinese bird flu in a week! I wonder how that's going!? They dropped that like a hot potato!

So, Dan and I headed to the gym and continued watching the coverage there.

Gym Report
1 mile on the Treadmill in 9:18 approx 6mph
1 mile on the Treadmill in 20 mins at 3mph
20 Crunches at 50lbs
50 Chest PResses at 35lbs
.25 miles on Treadmill in 5mins at 3mph

We stayed at the gym until about 8:00 and then came home and showered up. We couldn't stop watching the news, and really... nothing else was even on! Even tonight's Shark Tank was preempted and now how will we ever see that episode! Sad face!

At 9, we went over to pick up some stuff that my mom wanted to give me and also help her fix a problem she was having with her iPad.

Next, we were starving! We hadn't eaten dinner yet, so we went to the Candlelight Diner in Commack for some sustenance. I got the hot open turkey, which I love... but my only complaint is that it's generally a really expensive menu item. Sure, you get soup with it, but it really is only some sliced turkey on white bread. It's $15.95! A little ridiculous, but nonetheless I enjoyed.

On the way home I had to drop off my samples from glasses.com at the Post Office and then we heade dback home.

I am really not sure what glasses I want. I am torn between blue Ray Bans and some clear-framed ones. I think the clear ones are cool, and I like how they look on my "friend" from the gym, but I'm not sure if those exact frames were right for me. I'd like to see other styles in that same color.

Anyway, now we're home and it's time for bed! Lau's Wedding is TOMORROW!! It seems kinda unbelievable, it's here already! Crazy!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com