Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 04, 2013 - 1:45 a.m.
curling: playing a few ends

Hey Journal!

Well, today was another Friday night of curling! Very exciting! Tonight's session was much different than last time! I thought it was a lot more exciting, but at the same time... I'm really glad we went last week too because there were a lot of people there tonight who hadn't come to last week's learning session and they were pretty far behind the rest of us!

I'll get back to curling in a little bit, but first let me tell you about the rest of my day!

At work today I had a lot of random things to do. There was a lot of work left over since I hadn't come in yesterday but I got everything done and then had a pretty relaxing afternoon. I had a couple of problems with fix with Zs and dues, but other than that it was an uneventful day.

We are also ordering some commercial wifi access points to set up a bridge to see if we can get internet access down in the maintenance department. The experiment won't cost too much money but if I can pull it off, we can get the timeclock system down there which will make things a lot easier.

I left work around 5:00 and I got home around 5:30. I got home and the guy who lives upstairs was in the hallways. He said "Good Morning!" to me with a lot of enthusiasm! I was kinda confused since it was 5:30pm! I usually make that mistake for a little while each day around noon, but I think this was pushing it!

We decided not to go to the gym today because we would have been too rushed with curling. It worked out well last week because our curling session was later and I had left work a little early.

Instead, Re met us here at 6:15 and we started to head out that way. We stopped at Price Club first because I needed some contact solution! I had used the last of it last night and I was very upset this morning when it was time to rinse them and the bottle was empty!

There was a huge line today... much more than I would have expected for a Friday evening, but we got the stuff and got out as fast as we could.

Then we headed over near Linda's parents' house and Dan, Re, and I went to a diner nearby. I was really conflicted on what I wanted to order but I would up going with the chocolate chip pancakes! They were good, but I was jealous of Re's eggs!

When we finished eating, we picked up Linda and it was about 8:00pm! We headed to the "ice house" and then we checked in! Lots of our "friends" from last week were there, although there were some no-shows!

They didn't do up the place like last week... they didn't have any tablecloths or refreshments! I guess that's only for the open house! We started at 8:30 and everyone headed out on the ice. You could tell the people who hadn't been there last week because they weren't sure if they should go out on the ice, and they were much more confused in general because they didn't give nearly as much instruction as last time!

We had the best setup. First, we had the best instructors... and second, we were paired with a good team. We had Yushi and Mark Topaz! So great! We also had someone named Karen who we had not seen last week! We were paired with a team of three guys, one of whom Dan later realized works with him at Canon! Crazy!

So, we started by practicing throwing the stone and then we did sweeping and finally moved on to playing a real game!!

We had a very very fun time! I wore two pairs of socks to keep my toes warm, but they were still frozen by the end of the night!

When we played the game, we beat the other team 4-1!! Linda was rubbing it in their faces! It was absolutely amazing!

So, after it was over, we all discussed whether or not we wanted to join the club. We didn't come to a decision... we figured we'd take a little more time to think it over. We all really do want to join, the only problem is that they meet every Friday night through the middle of August! The problem with that is I feel like it's so much of a commitment to block out EVERY one of our summer Fridays! If it was on a Sunday afternoon, or something, it would be completely different. I also think that it's a little far to travel, but that's less of a concern!

We were hungry afterwards, and went to Chili's for some drinks and food. We decided not to go to McBride's with the curlers, but in retrospect, we probably should have because it was really our only chance if we decide not to join! Chili's we good though, I got some margaritas and we all had some drinks and food. Dan came and met us later, and then he took Linda home after!

While we were on our way home, I mentioned to Re that I couldn't believe it was already 1am! I totally had no idea! Curling really keeps us out late! I love it!

Anyway, we got home and now I am exhausted and ready to get to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com