Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 05, 2013 - 1:45 a.m.
"new glasses at pearle vision" or "intense bowling with jerry"

Hey Journal!

Today we had a pretty busy day so I wanted to get up early and get going! I woke up around 9:30 and watched some TV, but Dan didn't get up until about 10:30, so we lost a little time there!

All week on the news they kept talking about how Saturday would be the most amazing day of the week, but unfortunately they were wrong. Today was okay, but it wasn't nearly as warm as on Thursday, and the night was just downright cold!! I'm so glad I took off from work on Thursday because it was such a perfect day and I would never have known!

First thing we did when we got out of the house was go to the gym. It was pretty quiet there and there was no eye candy at all! Sad!

Gym Report:
50 Crunches at 50lbs
60 Chest Presses at 35lbs
1 mile on the Treadmill in 13mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
2 miles on the EBike in 9mins

After the gym we came home, showered up, and got ready to go out and do something. We went to the store, and then began the hunt for my new glasses. So, as you know, I have been looking for new frames for a while and I wanted to get something a little different. I had narrowed my selection down to two pairs, and to be quite honest... I want both! For now, though, I was concentrating on the Ray Bans.

I had gotten a test try-on pair from glasses.com, but I was a little wary about ordering glasses online. My eye doctor said she wouldn't reccomend that, either, which scared me a little.

From things I read online, it's important to know your correct pupillary distance (but I was able to find that on an old order from Davis Vision) so I knew what it was. I was thinking that there may be SOME other measurement that would be specific to the fraes that a professional would take at a real glasses store, but as it turns out... that didn't happen. But... I'm getting a little ahead of myself...

I had the sample frames with me, and I went to LensCrafters. I found the same model number on display and asked the woman what the price would be. She said the final price would be about $225, but when I asked if she could order the frames in the color I wanted, she said they didn't have them available. She brought over an iPad and we looked up the frames, found them, and she still said they don't order them.

Next up, we went to Pearle Vision is Stony Brook. It was really nice in there, and they had a really nice selection of frames. I had never been in a Pearle Vision before, and never bought glasses from them, but I really liked it. I found the frames, and then talked to the guy there about it. He said they WOULD be able to order the frames in my blue color, and they would come to a total of $198.00.

Not to be unprepared, we went to Davis Vision to see if they had the frames and what the price would be. They don't carry Ray Bans, so that was out, and we went home to get my prescription. I looked up some things online, and the glasses.com price was $195, so I wasn't upset by paying an extra $3 to get them at a local store where I can have them properly measured and all.

We went back to Pearle, and the guy was very nice. He set up the order and then measured my pupillary distance. I think I heard him say "63" which was very close to my "62" that Davis measured years ago! However, with that said, he didn't do any other measuring, so I don't really know WHY they would say you shouldn't get glasses online! What's the big deal?

I ordered my glasses, and I'm really happy. He said they should be in and ready by Thursday, so I'm excited for that.

I really do also want the clear framed ones. THey are funky, and I need funky. lol I wanna be a little edgy with them!

After that, we stopped by to say Hi to my mom, and only stayed for about 5 minutes before headed out to get some lunch.

We went to Chipotle in Hauppauge. I think we've only been there once before. I got my usual rice/steak bowl and I really enjoyed it today! The steak was really fresh and the rice wasn't dry. The last time I got it, I think the steak and rice were dry and I was a little sad.

Next, we walked over to the racing forum to place a couple of bets for the Kentucky Derby. Dan wanted to get a few tickets, and Dan's dad also wanted us to pick some up for him. Last year we did that at the one in Hauppauge and you just walked in and got your tickets and let. At this location, though, you are supposed to pay a $2 entry fee! How weird is that? Why would I pay $2 to go in there to lose money betting on horses!? It doesn't make any sense!

What happened, however, is that we just walked in and didn't have any idea about this fee. Noone said anything, and we went about our business and got our tickets. On the way out, they were telling people who came in that they needed to pay to enter! What a scam! Luckily we avoided that foolishness!

We came home after that and hung out here for a bit before going out for dinner with Jerry! We picked him up at 7:30 and we went to Buffalo Wild Wings! There was a little bit of a wait for a table but it wasn't terrible. I got the Naked Tenders this time instead of the flatbread pizza because I knew I would regret it later, even though I kinda wanted to pizza.

We played the trivia game and it was a version I've never seen before. The first one was all about music which was a little hard/annoying, but the second was a lightning fast general trivia! I liked that it was so quick! It made it more fun!

After that, we went Bowling! Jonathan met us at the bowling alley in Sayville. Dan and I had never been to Sayville Lanes. It was really nice inside. It kinda reminds me of what Melville used to be like before they transformed it into "300" which made no sense!

We paid $20 each for 2 hours of unlimited bowling and they put us on two lanes. That meant that we kept alternating, and we actually played a LOT more than we otherwise would have! We played five games in total! (The other option was $6.25 a game... Se we definitely got our money's worth!)

The scoreboard kept Dan and my score on one side and Jerry and Jonathan on the other and it automatically tallied each side so we decided to compete against eachother! Dan and I won the first few games, and I think Jerry and Jonathan one one.

By the beginning of game number 5 I was getting so exhausted! It was the most intense session of bowling I've ever played! I was so tired because I felt like we never got a chance to rest between being up! :P It was a lot of fun though!

After the 5th game we were done playing but had about 10 minutes left. Jonathan throws his ball with only one finger in it and makes it spin as it goes down. I had never tried that before so he taught Dan, Jerry, and me how to do it! We all just kept throwing balls down and giving it a try! Dan got a lot of strikes that way, and I got one, too. It's pretty cool, but it does feel a little weird... a little bit like you're going to snap your finger off! lol

We left after that and headed home. When we got home we watched a little TV...some Judge Judy episodes I had recorded, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com