Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 18, 2013 - 11:54 p.m.
"photo contest" or "red dot special"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up around 9:30 and we didn't really have any plans for the morning. We went to the bagel store and got some breakfast and then we decided to go up to the golf course because Mike had just installed the mounting brackets for a new TV in the Golf Shop so I figured I would get it all set up for them.

Dan and I went up there and I hooked everything up and then we had to go to Cablevision to switch out the old cable box for a new one. The old TV had been there since like 1995 and obviously it wasn't HD. Finally time to upgrade, I guess!

I finished all that, and then we had to head home because Dan was going golfing later in the afternoon with some people from work and had to get ready. On the way home, though, we stopped at the Hauppauge library because Dan's dad had entered the photo contest and we wanted to see the entries. Unfortunately, we couldn't see them because there was a Girld Scout troop meeting going on in their meeting room!

We got home, Dan got ready to go out, and I just watched some TV. I actually finished watching Peter Pan which I had started watching a couple weeks ago when it was on TV. As I said at the time, I had never seen the whole movie, so I figured I should see it finally! It was good, but I have one comment to make about it... WHAT IS THE DEAL WITH TINKERBELL?? What I mean is, now... she's a cute little fairy who has all these movies, and she opens the fireworks shows at the Magic Kingdom... but she's A BITCH! First, she tries to KILL Wendy by telling the lost boys to shoot her out of the sky and she comes inches from dying on the rocks below. Then she gets all jealous and made at Peter, and then ultimately she tell's Captain Hook where to find Peter's hideout! I just don't get it... She should be a villain with Scar and Ursula! Or maybe she's more like the sidekick, like Shenzi, Banzai, and Ed.... or Flotsam and Jetsam. Whatever... either way she is no good character!

After the movie, it was almost 2 and I didn't have any other plans so I went back to the library for the contest. I wanted to see the other photos and see who won! When I got there, Dan's Dad and Claire were there and so I got some refreshments (Fudge Stripe cookies) and checked out the pictures. Most of them were pretty good except a few. I thought one was pretty bad, and Claire just blurted out "THAT ONE IS HORRIBLE!" It was bad considering who knew whose picture it was... she could have been standing right behind us!

Then, the announced the winners. Unfortunately, they already had the winners separated... which was kinda stupid in retrospect because those people KNEW they had won already because their photos weren't on the wall when they came in!

Then each person got up and talked a little bit out their picture, how it came to be, and their thoughts on it.

Being at the library, even though it wasn't MY library, made me miss working at the library. The thing I missed was the climate there... the way it wasn't really a high pressure job, but there was a fun sense that everything you did was for the community... so the weird programs, and the summer reading program, and all that... like.. people would come in and enjoy the programs you had, but they weren't really that big of a deal at the same time. I kinda miss working at the library.

When I got home, I watched some TV and then at about 6:30 I went to the gym. It was very very empty tonight! Much more empty than a usual Saturday afternoon!

I did all my usual exercises, and in addition... I got in some new ones. I tried a lot of machines that I had never tried before and I found some that I liked. I know I always say that I do that, so you'd think that I would have tried them all by now... but somehow there are still more!

Gym Report:
50 Crunches at 50lbs
50 Pulldowns at 40lbs
1 Mile on the Treadmill in 12mins
1 Mile on the Treadmill in 17mins
50 Rotations at 55lbs
40 Leg Curls at 40lbs
2 miles on the EBike in 7mins

So, all of those things I just tried out at the gym tonight I didn't actually mention here because I figured they weren't really complete workouts on those machines... I was just getting a feel for them!

When I got home, I took a shower and just as I finished... Dan got home. It was about 8:00, and we were hungry for dinner so we went out to Chipotle around 9. Luckily it was open until 10.

Then we went to Target, returned an iPhone armband thing (because I couldn't fit my phone in it with the case still on) and then we bought some random stuff. They had a sale in the dollar section where anything marked with a Red Dot would be 70% off! So random! So we got some things for .30!

We got home around 10:45 and watched tonight's "Series Finale" of Doctor Who! I was surprised that BBC America called it the "Season Finale" since they call it a Series in England!

Anyway, it was a good episode, a little intense, but I liked it, and I am really curious to see where this goes next season! I am super excited for David Tennant to return for the 50th Anniversary episode in November!!

Now it's time for bed! Nothing Too crazy planned for tomorrow... possibly Gasho for lunch!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com