Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 23, 2013 - 11:54 p.m.
"memory lane" or "moving on"

Hey Journal!

This day ended up being a lot better than it looked like it was going to be halfway through! My day at work was ridiculously crazy and things were all over the place. When I got home from work I was feeling really stressed out but the evening changed all that!

Before I get into all that, let me start at the beginning...

I woke up this morning around 9:00 and I did some work from home for a little while. I had a bunch of things I wanted to finish up for some new programs I am writing, and it's always easier to get that accomplished when there's noone around to bother me!

The only downside to this is that I miss out on the one time at work when I'm most likely to get the most work done.... before things get hectic in the office.

So, I left home around 9:30 and I went to Staples to get a wire I needed. I'm working on getting some computers ready for the maintenance department. They're going to be a getting a new timeclock computer (complete with my software), and will also be getting an internet connection so that they can connect their irrigation computer and control the system remotely.

The wire I needed, USB to MicroUSB, was out of stock and I was about to leave empty handed when I saw the "sale" table, and they had a bright orange cable, just what I was looking for, marked down to $5! I was excited, because the one I was going to get was $14.99! When I got to the register, even more good news... it was only $2! Wow, what a deal!

When I got to work, I started working on the computer and getting things set up. What would have been about an hour's work took more like 6 hours because I couldn't get the computer to turn on. See, when connected to a regular monitor, the computer turned on with no problem... but when connected to the touch screen monitor, the computer didn't turn on at all. To further complicate things... if you booted with a regular monitor, and then unhooked it and plugged in the touch screen... it would work fine, but if you tried to turn the computer on with the other monitor connected (either plugged in or unplugged, on or off) it didn't work!

After hours of searching for solutions, and trying different possible fixes, I found an article online which talked about VGA cables, and pins #4, 11, and 12. I wasn't sure WHY this would have any effect, but I was really so frustrated at this point that the thought of ripping something apart was exciting. I grabbed the cable and a pair of pliers and I yanked pins 11 and 12 out of the cable. I plugged it in, and BAMM!!! The computer started up! Wow!

I have no idea what was being sent over those pins that caused the computer to have a meltdown over it, but whatever it was, it's not gonna happen ANYMORE! :)

With that problem solved, I had a little more coding to do, and then I stopped at 4:00 to get my regular work done. Unfortunately, I was overwhelmed by that since I had been doing other things all day!

Also in the midst of the craziness, we had to meet with a member who was abusing her membership. She took a year off this year, meaning that she doesn't pay her dues... but she had been coming out as a guest of another member so many times that she exceeded the limit!

She totally lied, giving fake names when she was checking in and then told Pete she had only been to the club once. Later in the conversation, she said... maybe it had been two times. Then, when she finally decided to pay for a Weekday membership, she talked us into giving her a discount equal to the amount of money she had paid for her guest fees. When we asked her how many time she had played, she suddenly had 5! What a scam artist!

So, I left at 5 with my head spinning, and I have vowed that tomorrow I am taking a day off from the computer work and focusing on my normal everyday job in hopes that I can have a good three day weekend... Stress free!

When I got home I watched the news and then got changed and ready for the gym. The gym was pretty crowded tonight for a Thursday, and any thought that it was finally getting cooler in there was completely untrue, as it was another oppressive day!

Gym Report:
50 Crunches at 50lbs
1 mile on the Treadmill in 12mins
.5 miles on the Treadmill in 8mins
50 Pulldowns at 40lbs
30 Chest Presses at 35lbs

I didn't do my full two miles because it was hot, and I skipped the bike today. I planned to take a walk later, but... let's not get ahead of ourselves...

I got home and I took a shower and stuff. Dan was out with some friends from work to watch a game that was on TV... so I was just doing stuff online. I was reminiscing and looking through old pictures for a good TBT Instagram pic!

I started texting Kristen and talking about random stuff, and then I asked if she'd like to go for a walk. We decided to go, and the Weather channel said it wasn't supposed to rain until 11:00. I got to her house and it was pretty warm out. She and Don got their shoes on and we stepped out onto the porch and...it started raining! Blast!!

We came back inside and then decided to go out for froyo! We went to Yogurtini and then we headed back to Kristen and Don's.

We talked for a while, and then we went to look at some old pictures and watch some old videos! It was great!

Kristen showed me a video that she had taken of me for a project she was doing for one of her classes. The subject was "moving on," and we had to talk about our feelings about leaving high school, and stuff like that. Oh. My. God. I had totally forgotten about this and my part of this video is unreal! I love every moment of it!

It also really made me miss high school all over again! It made me feel like... I miss those days when we had NOTHING to do, no responsibility... even if we thought we did! We had so much free time, even at school, to just wander around and be total weirdos! Why can't we do that anymore!?

I like to think I keep the realness alive by being as weird as I can be as often as possible!

We continued looking at some more old pictures and videos from "past moments in time!" It was wild how many pictures Kristen had taken that I had completely forgotten about!! A trip down memory lane!!

I was just about to depart when I got a call from Dan. He said he had gotten home about an hour earlier! I got home around 11:15 and got ready for bed pretty quickly.... now it's off to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com