Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 27, 2013 - 10:41 p.m.
"memorial day"

Hey Journal!

Happy Memorial Day!

This morning when my alarm went off for work I was so confused. At first I thought I had to get up and go to work, but I had a feeling that I really didn't. Then when I realized that it was Memorial Day, I was very happy to be able to go back to sleep!

I wound up getting up for the day around 9:30 or so and then we went over to Dan's parents' house for breakfast. We ate outside on the patio and then I came home, and Dan came home shortly after. On my way home, I got detoured because there was a parade on Main Street so the road was closed. Because of all the crazy traffic, I had to go all the way into St. James and around! What a mess!

Dan and I wound up getting home around the same time, and we went inside to go to the bathroom and then went back out to go for a walk! We didn't know where to go, so we went to the high school. First, we took a walk up to Accompsett Elementary and Dan reminisced about his elementary school times! One of the things I loved about our schools is that so many of the elementary schools were exactly the same design. I loved that even though we went to different school, we all had kinda the same experience with the cubbys, those weird green and white cabinets, and the location of the gym, library, and bathrooms! There were like 5 schools with that same layout! Now, they've all been added onto and changed around. It's a little weird, now that they aren't the same anymore!

Next, we headed over to what was formerly the Freshman Campus / 9th Grade Annex! What a weird place that was. I remember it being so strange with the "split level" design and the way the cafeteria was basically the first thing you came upon if you walked in the front doors! I also really remember those crazy plastic ball lights hanging from the ceiling. I wonder if they've gotten rid of them since!

Finally, we concluded the tour down memory lane with a lap around the high school. What memories. I have been very nostalgic lately about our times there.

After our walk, we went to Target and returned some shirts I had gotten but that didn't fit right. I bought them in two sizes and figured I would try them on at home so I wouldn't have to try them on at the store! lol

We got some food and other necessities and then we headed over to Shawn and Caitlin's for a little Memorial Day get-together!

We got there around 4:00. They had a few friends over... the ones we knew were Jackie and Tim. We hung out, conversed, and just enjoyed the day! I talked to Caitlin a lot about the library and also talked to Caitlin and Jackie about high school! Geez... HS just keeps coming up lately!

Later on, we made smores on the BBQ grill and Jackie showed us a new way of making them. She creates individual smores packets by constructing the smore and then wrapping the whole thing in tin foil and putting it on the grill until it melts and becomes amazing. I had really never made a smore that way, it was quite a foreign method to me! They came out really good though, and I've learned something new!

I think if I had a fire, I'd prefer to roast the marshmallow on that, but if you're going to use the grill... this works really well, and then there's no mess of melted marshmallow on the grill to have to clean up!

We left around 8:00 and headed home. I got showered up and then watched tonight's World News. Another cruise ship mishap... this time, thankfully, it wasn't a Carnival ship! I just really think we need to book another cruise now because the rates are going to be sooooo good, I think... I hope!

The only downside of today was that we didn't get to go to the gym! It closed early today, at 8:00, and we weren't able to make it! I guess it's acceptable to take ONE day off...

Anyway, now it's time for bed! Sadly, all good things must come to an end... and it's time to head back to work! Blah!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com