Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 16, 2013 - 12:42 a.m.
"zero hour is (randomly) back" or "connor's trophy"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up bright and early at 9:30am. I would have liked to sleep a little longer, but it we had plans to go to IHOP for breakfast with my Grandpa, Grandma, and my mom to celebrate Father's Day.

I had planned this much earlier in the week, and that was the plan. After I got up, Dan and I started to get dressed and ready. My phone rang, and it was my mom. She said they wanted to go to the Ronkonkoma IHOP instead of Lake Grove. It didn't matter to us, and I said it was no problem! Then my mom said that she had received a call from my cousin early in the morning asking what she was up to today. My mom said she didn't ask if she could come to breakfast with us. I said that was good because, even though I have nothing against my cousins, this was supposed to be my Father's Day treat to my Grandpa, and I thought it would be nice to be just us.

THen, the truth came out... my mom said she just felt so bad that she wasn't invited, and invited her. WHAT?? Meanwhile, there's nothing wrong with not having something to do on a Saturday... How many Saturday mornings did I sit home alone when I was little! Umm... ALmost every one. But if she felt so bad, why wouldn't she say "I'm going out with Brian until about 11:30" (I mean, how long could breakfast take!?) "Why don't I come over after that and we can do [insert ANYTHING here.]"

But no, she didn't do that, and couldn't understand WHY I would have wanted to just take my Grandpa out for father's day without other cousins there. Meanwhile, it wasn't her place to be inviting anyone... this was my thing.

So, Dan and I went to IHOP by ourselves in Lake Grove. It was the perfect day to go to IHOP... now wait at all!

We had our breakfast and then we came home to get ready to go over to Linda's for Connor's trophy ceremony. On the way there, we stopped at Target because I wanted to put on some sunscreen... but the one we had isn't the best for my face. I really like the Neutrogena face sunscreen that's non-greasy. It doesn't feel slimy, it doesn't leave my face looking slimy, and it doesn't smell weird at all. I hate that it's so much more expensive, but I had to get it.

When we got to Linda's, we hung out in the basement and Connor showed me some games on his Wii. I played Starfox 64! Woo. I miss that game. The only downside was that the controller was nothing like the N64 controller so it was really hard to maneuver!

At about 1:45, we left to go to get Connor's Little League trophy! We got to the park and helped ourselves to the free refreshments they had! They didn't have as much ice as they did last year in the big tubs where they had the soda, and I think it may not have been quite as hot. Last year I remember trying to see how long we could keep our hands in the ice!

Connor got his trophy, and that was over fairly quickly. Then we hung out at the park for a little while and enjoyed the weather and stuff.

Next we went to Target! Dan and I only got one thing, a picture to hang over the electrical circuit box in our hallway! Our real estate agent said we should get something to cover it up. Thankfully Linda was there to help us when we were picking out the picture because we almost bought a really ugly one! She found a nicer one which goes much better with our theme.

Cameron was smelling all the candles in the candle aisle and telling us what she thought they smelled like! It was quite a funny activity! Linda was getting a ton of Father's Day cards, and I introduced her to the Cartwheel app and she saved over $3.90 with it! Wooop!

For dinner, around 5:00, we went to Texas Roadhouse! I got the 6ox Sirloin with mashed potatoes and a baked potato! It was very good. We opened the peanuts and I also got a giant margarita which was very reasonably priced. I was only by it's reasonable price because there were no prices on the menu when we ordered it. I didn't really feel the effects of it, though, so I suspect it was kinda weak.

Next up, Linda dragged us to Walmart to look for something she needed. I only say dragged because I make it a point NEVER to set foot in a WalMart. I was sickened by the clientele and I couldn't leave fast enough. The only positive is that I have reaffirmed my commitment to never shop there, ever.

We went back to Linda's and hung out in the front yard. We played some cool games... like a frisbee toss game that they had just gotten at Target on clearance for only 2.98! It was actually fun, even if it was a little weird. They also got little golf clubs that were fun, too. We hung out outside for a while, and then took a walk around the block. Connor walked way ahead of us, Cameron had a little scooter, and we all walked behind. We took a little tour of the neighborhood, and then headed back their house. We sat upstairs for a bit and talked to Linda's mom, and then we departed around 10:00.

On the way home we stopped at Sonic because Dan was craving a Slush. The line was crazy and we had to wait like 10 minutes! I guess Summer has brought the Sonic frenzy back!

When we got home, we got showered up and then went to watch some TV that was on our TiVo.

I was looking at the stuff we had, and I noticed something really crazy.... A NEW episode of Zero Hour had recorded TONIGHT!! I was soooooo confused! In case you don't remember, Zero Hour was a new show that started in February and ABC had tons of commercials for it. We figured we would give it a try, and watched the first three episodes. After that, the show disappeared. -- At the time, I remember thinking that the show would probably have been better as a mini-series, and that one season may be enough... but I certainly wanted more than three episodes!

I was particularly upset because we had JUST started to get into it, and they left us hanging in suspense! Anyway, it turns out that they are burning off the rest of the season in the summer! That's pretty cool! I was really pleasantly surprised by that! The only problem is that they showed TWO episodes tonight and since the TiVo is set to save only the newest episode, it recorded the first one and then deleted it when it recorded the second one! Sheesh!

Tomorrow we're gonna watch the first one online and then pick back up again! I really hope the finale turns out to be good, and doesn't leave too many loose ends since we know there's nothing else coming!

Anyway, now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com