Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 07, 2013 - 10:49 p.m.
"beach, diner, and froyo with alec"

Hey Journal!

Well, here we are at the close of a long 4th of July weekend! It was really a blast! To think, it was four days ago already that the weekend started, and it we've done SOOOOO much! What a jam packed fun-filled weekend! We went to Arianna/Jordan/Dylan's 4th of July Party, Friday felt like a Sunday and we went out to dinner with Kristen and Don. Saturday we went to Jen B's birthday party, and today we went to the beach! We had no down time at all, and I really could use a minute to catch my breath, but I'm happy we are making the most of this summer!

We got up around 10:00 this morning and I had to get my stuff together for the beach. We left home around 10:30 and stopped for bagels at Blvd Bagels. It took them an unreal amount of time to get our food, but once we got it, we went to borrow my Grandma's beach umbrella.

Once we had all the necessities, we headed out to Valley Stream to pick up Alec. We got there just a few minutes after 12 and we picked up Alec and his bf, John, who is visiting from Delaware for the weekend. Before headed to the beach, we went to Target to get some food/snacks. We got lunchables and fruit punch and uncrustables and pretzels.

We headed to Jones Beach and it was super hot out today. It was also a super crazy day at the beach. So many of the parking fields were full, but we finally found a spot. We walked to the beach, and they have a new thing I've never seen before... an "Emergency Lane" which is like a blue mat that leads all the way down the beach from the boardwalk! It actually makes it a lot easier to carry stuff, and to walk. Meanwhile, I'm not quite sure why it's called an Emergency Lane!

We found a good spot not too far from the water. We set up our blanket, umbrella, and Alec's chairs. I pretty much stayed under the umbrella the whole time. Dan and John went in the water for a little bit. A little later, I went and dipped my feet in, but it was FREEZING! It was ridiculous! I was content just chilling out in the shade! I made sure to sunscreen up... we all did. It was crazy, we all put so much sunscreen on!

We stayed for about three hours, and then called it a day. We packed up, and headed back to the car.

Now, before I continue, I want to say that I had a fun time at the beach and I'm glad we went today... but having said that, I am so done with the beach for the year. It's such a hassle. Walking on the sand, the hot sand, the cold water, the sun, the need to put sunscreen everywhere, then trying not to get sand in the car, then getting home and needing to shower immediately and finding sand on every part of your body and every thing you brought with you. Too much! Once a year, MAX! I'll sit by the pool for the rest of the summer.

On the way back to Alec's, we were all a little hungry so we stopped at the Lynbrook Diner. It was an interesting place. Our waitress was nice, but a little wild! I got cream of turkey soup and a grilled cheese. Alec got Matzoh Ball Soup! lol I was glad we decided to go to the diner because we had more of an opportunity to talk, and more of a chance to get to know John since we didn't really talk much at the beach.

After we ate, we went to 16 Handles for some FroYo. As you know, I am not really a FroYo person and have only one or two flavors that I'll eat. I was really happy though though because I found TWO new flavors that I really really liked! One was birthday cake and the other was graham cracker! Mmmm!

We ate and hung out in the place. I really like 16 Handles. I think it's better than all the options we have out here, and even though I like the decor of Yogurtini, I think 16 handles is cooler. I wish we had some out this way, though.

Next, we dropped Alec and John back off at Alec's house and then Dan and I headed home. We got back around 6:30 and unfortunately it was just a little too late to go to the gym.

I took a shower and got all the sand off me, and Dan went over to his parents' house for a bit.

I booked our hotel room for our trip to Niagara Falls, and then when Dan got home we watched some TV. We just watched some random shows and a little Judge Judy.

Now we're ready for bed, and it's back to work tomorrow! I have to remember to turn on my Weekday alarm again! I had to turn it off for Thursday and Friday!

It's getting late, though, so I'd better get to sleep! Just happy that we had such a fun weekend! :)

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com