Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 05, 2013 - 11:15 p.m.
"italian food by grandma" or "sunday or friday"

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday!! Today was a great Friday in that every time I was a little sad thinking it was Sunday and I would have to go to work tomorrow... I realized it was only Friday, and still had the whole weekend ahead of me! What a great feeling!

Last night I woke up a ton of times during the night to have a drink of water or to go to the bathroom. I also had some weird dreams. I wrote about them earlier today, so I won't repeat all of that again.

Our first order of business for the day was to go pick up Dan's car. I drove us over there, he got his car, and then we went to JT's Corner Cafe for breakfast! I got two scrambled eggs with sausage. Unfortunately, I didn't get the sausage I had wanted. I wanted a patty, but I got links instead! All the other times we've gone there they've asked which one I wanted, and this time they didn't, and I didn't think to specify! Grrr!

When we were done with breakfast we went over to say Hi to my Grandma and Grandpa. My mom had work today, so she wasn't home. When we got there, my Grandma was carrying a bucket downstairs and was apparently in the middle of cleaning the bathroom. She immediately started telling us about how it was hot in the house and how she was scrubbing the floor on her hands and knees! It was wild.

Then a little later she told us that there were some items she wanted to buy from ACE Hardware that were on sale this week. One was a spray nozzle for her hose and the other was a motion sensor light. Dan offered for us to go pick them up, so we drove down to the CVS shopping center, and got them for her.

When we got back, she found out that the light fixture thing had to be attached to the house with screws, and she wasn't happy with that, so she's going to return it.

I'm not sure how we got on the topic, but we started talking about her working at MetLife and she told us the entire story of her temp work in 1964 and then moving out here in 1969, looking for a summer job, and then working at MetLife for over 20 years. It was a really wild story, and my Grandma has every single detail of it down in her memory! It was really a fascinating story, and I'm amazed at how much of the small details she told us.

After we left there, we went to the mall and took a walk around. Then, on the way home we stopped at 7-11 to get Slurpees! I got a strawberry lemonade flavor one because they didn't have orange. It was good though. I feel like I'm much happier with their choice of flavors lately, and it seems like they have more consistency from location to location!

We came home and watched some episodes of Zero Hour which we had been meaning to watch for a while. We had to watch one on the computer (hooked up to the TV) and then the second one was on our TiVo. Tomorrow night we'll have another. I really really like this show, and I hope that when it comes to an end, it will be wrapped up nicely. After getting this far into the season, I am very happy the show was only a one-season wonder because if they had dragged it out into a second season, I'm sure it would have been horrible. I am also extremely happy that they decided to show the rest of the episodes this summer because it's a great show, and like I just said... I don't want some sort of cliffhanger ending!

At about 5:00, Dan and I went to the gym. I tried to push myself to do a little more exercise than usual... but all I got out of it was a few extra ab crunches!

Gym Report:
60 Crunches at 50lbs
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
2 miles on the EBike in 8mins

After the gym, we came home and showered up. At 6:30, my mom stopped by on her way home from work because I wanted to give her some strawberries. We had purchased them on Tuesday at Price Club and it was a HUGE box. Dan and I ate a ton of them on Tuesday night, but the remaining ones were a little more spotty and mushy than I like. I literally ONLY like PERFECT Strawberries. My mom doesn't mind the soft spots of dark spots (as long as they aren't old or something...) so she said she definitely wanted them. She took them, and then Dan and I got ready to go out to dinner with Kristen and Don.

They were planning to pick us up at 7:30 but were running just a bit late, so we started to take a walk down the street because it was sooooo nice out. They picked us up on the side of the street... hitch hiker style!

We were all a little confused as to where to go for dinner and noone was really in the mood for anything particular. My stomach was finally feeling recovered from last night's activities, so I was pretty hungry for something filling.

Dan had suggested Italian, and Kristen suggested a place in Deer Park called Bellissimo. What a great suggestion. We had never been there before, but it was wild and great.

There's an old woman, Grandma, who cooks all the food, and it's such a nice little restaurant! When we arrived we were like the only table, but as we ate a few more tables came in. It's just got such a nice and different vibe from other restaurants. It's definitely an experience, and it's not like other restaurants at all. I will definitely go back!!

I got spaghetti and sausage and there was a LOT of sausage, so much that I couldn't finish it all. When she came to take my plate she said, " Why you no like the sausage?!" I explained that I love it, but I was just sooo full!

When we left, we said goodbye to Grandma, and she came out from the kitchen to wave goodbye! Loveeee it!

Next we went to the outlets right across the street. We walked around outside even though all the stores were closed. It was such a nice night to take a stroll.

Before calling it a night, we went to Yogurtini in Smithtown and got a little dessert.

Kristen and Don dropped us off after that and we watched some TV and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com