Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 16, 2013 - 11:11 p.m.
"stay hydrated"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was another HOT day out! In some ways I'm happy that I got to be inside all day and didn't have to deal with the heat, but in other ways I'm kinda upset that I couldn't be outside and enjoy it. I miss having fun on hot summer days, and I don't like wearing long pants in the summer. I really want to wear shorts.

I remember the years when I'd wear shorts all summer long and wouldn't even see a pair of jeans or long pants until late September. It would feel so weird to put them on again and have something covering my legs! I need that again.

On the way to work this morning I stopped at the Post Office to get the CPC mail. There wasn't much, which surprised me because I don't think I've been there to pick up the mail in about a week.

The morning was quiet, Steve didn't come in... he was working on selling his boat.

I had to get the payroll all submitted and that turned out to be a real crazy ordeal because of a lot of uncommon errors. First, two new people hired in the restaurant had filled out expired I9 forms. That was Lauren's fault... I don't know where she got those from, but they clearly said they were expired in the upper right-hand corner. Then, once that was resolved, I had to upload the data from our timeclock.

After I was done, I submitted and approved the payroll to be processed. Then, I started closing out the tabs I had open and I realized I had never closed the two weeks that I had just submitted. I wondered how I was able to upload the data if I hadn't closed the weeks, and then it hit me. I realized that I had re-uploaded the previous two weeks! UGH!! I called ADP right away and they were able to undo the acceptance and reset the status. I sent the correct files, and then everything was good.

At about 2:00, I got word from the locker room that one of the members had a possible case of heat stroke. He had been out playing golf and came inside because he was feeling exhausted and when he got into the locker room he just layed down on the floor and curled up! He wasn't exactly passed out, but the was a little out of it and incoherent for a while. We called 911 and then I went outside to wait for the ambulance to arrive.

As I was standing out there, Re was arriving, so she waited with me until they arrived. About 5 or 6 minutes after the call a police car pulled in followed by a fire department SUV. The fire guy came inside with me and we went up to the locker room. He started talking to the member and checking him out. Then about 5 minutes after that an ambulance and a gigantic fire truck arrived. I understand the ambulance, but the giant fire truck... not so sure. What were they going to do??? Hose him off to rehydrate him!?

About ten guys came in and they brought a stretcher and everything. They asked the guy how old he was and what his birthday was, and then they loaded him up and carried him out to the ambulance.

We later learned that his wife was out on the golf course with her friends so Dan's dad went out to let her know that her husband was taken to the hospital and to tell her which hospital it was. He said she looked concerned when he first came over, but then as he was leaving she took her putter out of her golf bag and continued playing. She wound up being out there for another couple of hours!

Very interesting! I guess she knows her priorities.

Re paid some bills and did all the closes and then before I knew it it was 5:00 and time to depart.

I headed home and used the WeMo to turn the air conditioning on as soon as I left work. There was a TON of traffic today. It was insane. Aside from the traffic, an annoying thing happened as I went to get on the expressway. Usually the light on the ramp only takes a few seconds to turn green. Occasionally it doesn't change at all because the sensor doesn't catch the car that's there, and then some fool sits there and the line backs up while the light NEVER turns red because it never thinks anyone is there. Today a school bus was stopped at the red light and wondering WHY it was never turning green. I was about 5th in a line of more than 15 cars. Everyone was beeping, but the bus didn't budge. Finally, the bus started to BACK UP! Really? The sensible thing to do!

People were ANNOYED at this so they went around the bus. Just as I started to go around the bus, it decided to GO! As soon as it went, the light went back to working like normal, but it's just so stupid to not realize that that light is broken! How could you just sit at the entrance ramp and let that kind of line back up!?

When I got home we went to the gym. I watched World News, and then we headed home around 7:15.

Gym Report:
50 Crunches at 50lbs
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
2 miles on the EBike in 8mins

I took a shower and then Dan and I watched Teen Wolf. After that I came online for a bit but now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com