Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 21, 2013 - 11:36 p.m.
"fete paradiso" or "governors island"

Hey Journal!

What a crazy and exciting day! We went to Governors Island and the Fete Paradiso thing that's going on there this summer!

We got up around 9:30 and our plan was to leave the house at 10:30. We got ready, packed out lunch, and then headed out. We stopped at the bagel store on the way... the one by us... but the line was soooo insane! We left there and went to Bagel Maniac instead. It really is the best bagel place around... In a way I'm glad the other place was too crowded because I think we got better food here!

We got on the road and headed for Brooklyn. Linda, Dan, Connor, and Cameron came too... but we wouldn't have all fit in the same car so we just planned to meet in brooklyn at the parking garage at 10:30am.

On the way there, Dan and I were talking about how, aside from parking to go to Governors Island last year... we've never actually been to Brooklyn! I think it would be cool to go there someday and do something fun!

Meanwhile, last night I had looked up parking options. The place that we parked in last time had super-high rates and I was kinda ticked off at them last year anyway for not taking my coupon! I found another garage only a block away for $17 per car. We figured we'd meet there.

We had perfect timing, Linda was RIGHT behind us on the expressway the whole way there!

When we got there, Dan and I went down a side street on the way to the parking garage and stumbled upon some street parking! We figured we'd just park there instead of paying for te garage and I called Linda to tell her where we were! They came over there, parked, and off we went! It was about a 3 minute walk to the Pier and we got on line for the 11:00 ferry, the first ferry of the day!

We got good seats on the top of the ferry and then we were off to Governors Island! The ferry dropped us off at a different spot than it did last year.... I wonder why they changed it. When we got off the ferry we were given free tickets for one free carousel ride! How exciting!

I had heard about this on the news, and that's why we went. I was really excited for it, but a little bummed out that EACH ride was $3! A little high priced, I'd say. We wound up doing really well, though. We got 7 free tickets (they gave us an extra!,) we found a ticked on the ground, and then we bought some more at a discount rate of $2.50 each. Really, it all worked out well!

The first thing we did was head over to the carousels and check them out. They were pretty cool! The first one we went on had bicycles and USED to be pedal powered! Now it's electric, but the pedals still go around as you ride! It was built in 1892! Pretty wild! The carousels are from France, and according to the news report they were originally for older people, not for kids.

It's pretty wild to think that this was the entertainment of the day back in the turn of the century! Some carousels were from the late 1800s and other from the early 1900s. They were all wild, had crazy characters, and were just all around COOL! It was definitely an experience and well worth the visit!

Next, we went on a dragon one that went forwards and backwards (in fact, the first one went backwards too!) It went SO fast and Connor was in front of me and I kept almost slipping out of my seat! Connor kept saying, "I had a bad feeling about this!" Meanwhile, I almost fell off and had to hold the bar and Connor! It was intense! When it went backwards, it was a lot less crazy... it pushed me back into the seat instead of almost throwing me off!

After that ride we went to have our lunch. We ate our sandwiches in the shade and rested up a bit. Linda brought watermelon and it REALLY hit the spot! Amazing!

When we were done eating we walked to Fort Jay and went into the "dungeon" as we called it, but it was really the place where they kept the guns and gun powder!

At 1:25 we went to find the tour guide for the National Park Tour of Fort Williams and Fort Jay.

Our Park Ranger Tour Guide was nice but it was so hot out and some of the stops were a little long! After the tour... we went back over to the Carousels and rode some more!

I needed to go to the bathroom so Cameron went on some more ride and Dan and I walked to the bathroom. On the way back, we were SOOOO thirsday so we stopped at a vending machine to get a drink. Dan didn't have enough money and was looking for change in his wallet to make the extra dollar we needed. We wound up coming up with the money and decided to split an iced tea! We put the money in, pressed the button, and TWO ICED TEAS WERE DISPENSED! YES!! Lucky day!

It really hit the spot. I was still a tad thirsty after drinking my entire iced tea so I was glad that I didn't have to only have half!

We went back and Cameron rode the swings and then Dan and I took Connor to play Mini Golf. There was a gril in front of Connor and she was SOOO annoying. She was like a cat, and she was terrible at mini golf. On one hole, she was playing and Connor said to me and Dan, "It's impossible to get a hole in one on this hole!" (And it really was.... there were not normal Mini Golf holes at ALL!) The girl turns around and says "IT IS NOT!" and then proceeds to take like 7 swings to hit the ball 2 feet. She was a MESS!

We were watching her hit the ball and Connor turns around to us and says, "I hope I never get invited over HER house!" lol

After that, Linda, Dan, and Cameron came over from the rides and we all went into the big treehouse. We had to hurry though because we wanted to make the 5:00 ferry!

We left at 4:30 and headed to the dock. There was a long line and we had to wait forever but we made it on! Not everyone in line made it, so I was very thankful that we did! I don't think I could have stayed another hour on the island!

Linda, Dan, and Cameron were on the lower level and Dan, me, and Connor were on the upper level. The ferry ride is short and when we got back we walked to the car. Cameron was asleep, and we were all pretty exhausted.

It was such a fun day though! It was really cool to see these vintage carousels and especially to get to ride them! It was fun going to Governors Island, and we had a really good day! The weather was nice, not nearly as hot as last week, and for a full day of fun... Governors Island is a pretty cheap day! The only thing we had to pay for was the rides... and that was a "special" thing.

We walked to our cars, and headed home!

On the way home, Dan got word that Shawn and Caitlin were having people over for the evening since they just returned from their European adventure!

We stopped there on the way home and hung out for a bit.

We left at around 8:30 although it felt much later to me! We got home, and I took a shower right away! I was sooo gross feeling with the sunscreen and sweat and water all over me all day!

I have to be up tomorrow at 5:00am because I'm going in to work early! Yikes!! I need my sleep! I already know I'm going to be exhausted!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com