Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 20, 2013 - 12:35 a.m.
"break in" or "crime scene"

Hey Journal!

This morning while I was driving in to work I was thinking about how I didn't really have anything planned to get done today. I was thinking that it was going to be such a nice, relaxing Friday! I was really excited about that!

When I got to work, I wasn't even in the parking lot for a minute when I got a call from Dan's dad telling me that that overnight, someone had broken into the maintenance trailer! UGH!

This pretty much took over my entire day! I spent a couple minutes in the office but when Pete arrived he picked me up in front of the clubhouse and we went down to maintenance. We looked at the crime scene and saw a broken door to the trailer, and inside everything was ransacked.

We called the police and they said they would be there shortly. Next, we went into the barn and checked out the video tapes from the surveillance cameras.

I went back hour by hour to figure out when it had happened, and here's what we saw...

At 1:30am two guys start shining flashlights into the trailer from the back. Then they eventually poke their heads around the front, but go back behind. At around 1:40, they come around the front and start trying to open the door on the right. Both doors have big metal bars across them, and are also locked. They keep going around the back of the trailer to look for things to use to pry the lock off. At 2:00am, they finally get the lock off and use a crowbar to pry the door open.

They're inside the trailer for about 15 minutes and you can see flashlights moving around. They threw all of the guys' clothes out of their lockers and they took a lot of expensive equipment off of some shelves and opened the boxes to see what was inside. They probably didn't know what any of it was, though.... so they didn't take it. They also moved the timeclock computer off of a table and unplugged it and put it by the front door. For whatever reason, they just left it there!

Then at 2:15 they back down the stairs (possibly carrying something heavy) and they disappear into the night.

The police came and we showed them the scene of the crime and the video. We had three cars there and about 5 officers. Then about an hour later two detectives and another officer came out to check out everything.

They took some fingerprints and also took the bar from the door to test it for DNA. They said it may have DNA on it if the guys were sweating while trying to pry it off!

Re came in and did the closes and got everything ready for the bank. I didn't get to see her much, though, because of all the craziness going on outside.

I had to call the company that we rent the trailer from because the door was completely ruined and we needed them to come with a new one and replace it. The price was fair... only $350. They came in the afternoon and installed the new door.

I copied the video off the security system DVR for the detectives and it took FOREVER! It was so ridiculous. First it said "estimating file size" for about 20 minutes, then took another 20 minutes "collecting files" and then took about 40 minutes to write those files to a USB drive. RIDICULOUS! It was only a 30 minute video!

When Re was done with all the work in the office we went down to maintenance and fixed the time clock. It was easy, just had to put it back up on the desk and plug it in and turn it on!

Then we went to drop off a FedEx, stopped at the security company to pick up stickers that say that the building is protected by their alarm system to put on the doors of the trailer, and then we went to Staples to get some stuff, and back to work!

Re left, and then I had more maintenance things to do.

Everything was finally done at about 4:45 and I was exhausted so I headed home!

I had to take a roundabout route home because I desperately needed gas in my car. I had ice and water because the car was hot, and after a day that was supposed to be really calm turned out to be a whirlwind, I was really looking forward to getting home, plugging in my phone that was at 1% battery, and being in air conditioning!

I got home and I was surprised to find the AC was not on. I was confused because I remember setting it to turn on, but before investigating, I went to plug in my phone and get changed. When I went to plug the phone in... I realized the clock was off... and then realized the power was out!! UGH!!

So, here I was with no way to charge my phone and no AC. I was miserable.

I cleaned up a little around the house for the open house we were planning to have on Sunday. Then, Dan called to say he had JUST gotten a text from our real estate agent and she moved the open house to TOMORROW! SATURDAY! WHAT??! So I kicked it into high gear and did a little more in preparation for that!

We skipped the gym tonight and got ready to go out to dinner with Dan's friend from work Jimmy and his girlfriend Chelsea. We met at Cheesecake Factory at 8 and Dan and I bought a gift card beforehand because we saw a foursquare special for $10 off, so then we just used the gift card for our meal!

We had dinner and then went to 300 in Melville for some BOWLING! Jimmy wanted to have a competition... us vs. them! I'm proud to say that Dan and I won ALL THREE GAMES! Woo Hoo! I did really well in my second game... I got a 131... which is pretty high for me!

It was a fun time, and then after bowling we headed home. We got in around 11:45 and watched What Would You Do?

They had TWO scenes that took place in Huntington! How wild! Since there have been a lot of Long Island ones I am always hoping I stuple upon one at some point! UGH! Maybe some day!

Anyway, now it's time for bed....

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com