Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 31, 2013 - 12:37 a.m.
"vertical horizon, fastball, gin blossoms, sugar ray, and smash mouth"

Hey Journal!

Well, it's a pretty late night for a Tuesday... but we just got home from seeing some really random bands!

After work we hurried to get ready and get to Huntington to see Fastball, Vertical Horizon, The Gin Blossoms, Sugar Ray, and Smash Mouth! What a wild combination... but it was pretty cool!

We went with Jimmy and Chelsea and it was at The Paramount. I had never been to The Paramount before and I really liked it. It's a cool place, and I'd definitely like to keep watch for any other good bands playing there!

My favorite of the night was probably Vertical Horizon. I only knew one or two songs from each group but it was definitely cool to hear those songs being played all this time later. I was probably looking forward to Smash Mouth the most, but they were a bit of a letdown because he kept holding the microphone to the crowd instead of actually singing his songs!

Meanwhile, at one point while Vertical Horizon was playing I looked at them and thought about how old they looked. Then I thought about how long ago their songs were popular, AND THEN I thought about how NOW they tour with a bunch of other bands and their music is just a reminder of a time in the past! How sad.... It makes me feel old just thinking about it.

Well-- On the other hand-- it's great that they still get up there and do their thing and that all these people come out and enjoy it! Woop!

We arrived around 7:30 and the show started at 8. Jimmy and Chelsea met us there. Each band played just the right amount of time. It wasn't too long.. just right. The only exception may have been Sugar Ray. I think they could have done with one less song-- but I also think Mark McGrath is such a tool! He's so strange. It ended just a few minutes before 12 and we hurried home because we both have work tomorrow morning!

This morning I got up at the usual time and headed off to work. The morning was quiet, I had a few things to get done and Re came in to do the closes.

We had a really random issue with some order of "all purpose cleaner." We got a delivery addressed to Mike and it was brought down to his room, but he didn't know what it was for. He said he never ordered it, so we asked all the other people who might have ordered it, and nobody knew what it was. We never got a bill for it, and I wasn't going to have us pay to ship it back, so we just stuck it in a closet. Today we got a phone call from the company and Re talked to the guy. She explained that we didn't want it, and that if they sent us a shipping label, we'd return it.

The guy kept insisting that we wanted the order and that we had ordered it. Finally, I got on the phone with him and we kept going back and forth. I would tell him that Mike said he didn't order it, and he would say Mike did order it. I said it didn't matter-- We don't want it! He had two options. 1) Send us a shipping label and we send it back to you. 2) We throw it out and don't pay for it. Either way, he's not getting paid for this crap, so he might as well take it back.

After that, we worked on the Dues letters some more. There's so much to get done with them. Today Re stuffed half of the Full letters and then I started to get things geared up to print the Weekday letters, but haven't done that yet.

At 3:30 I had lunch... I had two pieces of grilled chicken.

I left work at 5 today and headed home. We didn't have time to go to the gym because we had to leave right away for Huntington!

Alas, now I am home, and hafta get to sleep as soon as possible! I'm gonna go in to work at 10 instead of 9. I need my slumber.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com