Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 01, 2013 - 10:46 p.m.
"electric nightmares" or "yo, ho, a bottle of rum"

Hey Journal!

Today I had a lot of weird things to deal with at work. The craziest thing was a problem we've been having with our electric service. It's a little complicated, so let me explain...

Almost a year ago, we switched electric suppliers which means that we pay a different company to buy the energy that we use on our behalf and don't buy it directly from LIPA. We still pay LIPA for delivering the electricity, just not for the electricity itself. They promised much cheaper rates than LIPA, and to be honest, we never even check to see if they are lower. It's such a complicated bill.

So, yesterday we got a bill from LIPA (the first one we've gotten in MONTHS) saying that our account is past due and our service will be terminated. I called LIPA to see what the deal was since we had never gotten any previous bills! After talking to the woman there I have a better understanding of how this whole thing works. LIPA still bills us for the delivery of our energy but the bills go to the third party company that we chose to buy our energy from. Then, they bill us for that and the electricity, and send us one bill. We pay that bill, and they pay LIPA on our behalf. Well, that's the way it's supposed to work. Instead, they haven't been paying LIPA. So, they've taken our money and are holding it hostage. To make matters worse, we had a similar situation in March but didn't realize that it was their fault, and we paid the overdue invoice. SO-- They got away with that money too!

I called LIPA back and I switched back to them. On September 1st, we will be switching back to LIPA, but we still have to get this issue figured out before our electricity gets shut off. I called the company and spoke to someone, but it sounds like a real fly-by-night operation. She said she would investigate and call me back, but I haven't heard anything yet. So, I have no idea what we will have to do.

The LIPA lady said that she has heard so many complaints about ESCOs and that she gets several calls a day from people looking to switch back. She also said that she hears very often that these ESCOs are shady and people have a hard time getting in touch with them.

In the morning I met with a guy about membership and then Karen came to visit. She had some CPC stuff to drop off to me, and I haven't seen her in soooo long! We chatted for a bit, and caught up!

In the afternoon, I went out to the bank, then to Target, and then to get gas in my car. It started raining like crazy as I was driving to the bank.

When I got back, I had a hamburger for lunch, and I left work at 4:30.

I needed to get a bottle of Rum and I thought I might buy it from the golf course. I looked up an invoice for a 1L bottle of Bacardi Rum and we pay 21.73 for it. I assumed that was a good price, considering we buy in bulk. I looked online at the Bottle Bargains website and they had a 1.75L bottle of the SAME rum for 20.72! So, needless to say I went there to buy it, but I can't believe that, once again, the golf course is getting ripped off for something. That's unreal! That's three quarters of a bottle MORE for LESS money!

Oh, and when I got to Bottle Bargains I was surprised to see that they had CLOSED? I was so confused... the store was empty. As I left the parking lot and turned to head home, I saw a giant building there... They moved just a little ways down the road into their own new building! So weird!

When I got home, Dan and I went to Price Club. We skipped the gym today because Price Club closes early and we had a lot to do. We ate pizza there and then bought some water, milk, contact solution, and other necessities!

When we got home, we watched "Would You Fall for That?" I really liked the one with Nick Watt and the horoscope thing! I was cracking up!

I took a shower, and then we watched The Lookout. Another great story about flood cars! I love Bill Weird, too.

Anyway, now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com