Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 11, 2013 - 11:45 a.m.
"clambake 2013"

Hey Journal!

I am here to fill you in on the details of Saturday's adventures! The day turned out very differently than I had expected when I woke up in the morning.

The first time I woke up was about 6:30am. I was wondering when my alarm was going to go off, and I was dreading having to get up and go to work. Shortly after, I realized that it was Saturday and that my alarm wasn't supposed to go off, and I wasn't supposed to be at work! it was the BEST feeling!

I slept until about 10:00 and I got up and went to watch some TV. Dan was still asleep, so I just did some random stuff. At about 10:15, I got a call from Steve and he told me that a friend of his had some good ideas for a new type of website and he wanted me to hear the idea and give some input! He asked if I could come over to his house around noon!

Of course, I said yes, and so I woke Dan up to tell him that I was going to be going out, and unfortunately, our plans of getting breakfast, going food shopping, and just relaxing were not going to happen!

I left around 11:15 and I made my way to Steve's house. When I arrived, we went inside and sat in his living room. We talked a little bit about random stuff, and we waited for Marilyn to be ready so that we could go over to Steve's friend's house.

When we arrived, he was cooking breakfast and had some family over. We went into the living room and he, Steve, me, and his two sons discussed his ideas for a new kind of website/app. It was an interesting idea, and I think after talking for a little while, we all refined the idea into something better, but I am not 100% sure that it's something that could compete with the tons of established social media apps.

Anyway, after we talked, we had breakfast! We ate crepes and bacon out on the patio. It was a really beautiful day out.

We were there for about 2 hours, and then we left and headed back to Steve's.

When I got in my car to go home, I NEEDED to get gas! On Friday when I got home from work I knew I was low, and my light came on this morning on the way to Steve's. I don't think I've ever been this low before! I was actually afraid I wouldn't make it to the gas station!

I went to the first station I could find, a no-name one across from the Valencia Taven! lol It was reasonably priced, and of course, since it's Huntington, they have to pump it for you!

When I got home, Dan and I went to the gym.

Gym Report:
50 Crunches at 50lbs
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
2 miles on the EBike in 10mins
.5 miles on the Treadmill in 11mins

For some reason I wasn't feeling it very much today so I did a little bit of an abbreviated work out.

We got home, showered up, and then Kristen and Don picked us up at 5:30 for the Clambake at the golf course!

We arrived around 6 and before heading inside, we decided to take a little golf cart ride. We drove around the course, gave Kristen and Don a little tour, and as we crossed the bridge on the way back, we saw Norm pulling into the parking lot!

We went inside, and then the Clambake festivities began! We took a spot at the bar to stay out of the way of the members, and Kristen, Don, & Dan had Sangria. I had a cranberry vodka. I didn't like any of the appetizers, so I just hung out. Dan, Kristen, and Don had some food.

At about 7;15, the cocktail hour portion was over and everyone headed outside for the main event! Norm started playing... and the party really got started!

We didn't have a table, because the event was fully booked, and we were planning to lay low, but Dan's parents had a table reserved, and they were coming to the late seating. We decided to keep their seats warm.

It actually worked out perfectly, because we waited until the lines went down for the food, and then went up to get something to eat. We sat and ate, and as soon as we were done, it was time for the next wave to come outside, and we got up so Dan's parents could have their table.

We stood and listened to the music, and also went back inside for a bit while Norm took his break. Later on, Kristen and Don danced a little, and lots of people came up and complimented them on their moves!

So, the real question... How did everyone like Norm? Well, Jackie said she got a couple of complaints that the music was a bit depressing, and although I disagree, you're never going to please everyone! I heard a lot of compliments, I saw people go up and make requests, I saw a guy go ask for Norm's business card, and Dan's parents, Steve, and Marilyn seemed to like the music very much! I think overall, he was great, and his music is a perfect fit for that type of event!

We had some more drinks, and then as the party ended, we took one last spin around the course. A night-time ride, if you will.

We left around 11:30 and headed home. We got home at about 12:00, and we were pretty tired. All-in-all, it was a fun night! I can't believe it's over already, though! Time flies!

Anyway, now it's time to get our Sunday going. We have to get some breakfast and then get ready for Connor and Cameron's Carnival party!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com