Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 28, 2013 - 11:50 p.m.
"fireworks music final" or "connor's 7th birthday"

Hey Journal!

Today I got up around 9:00. I planned to go into work late today to give me some time at home to work on the music for the fireworks show on Sunday! It's really coming together!

I made some changes to it this morning and then put it on my phone to listen to in the car on the way to work. It's sounding good, I just wanted to adjust the volume some more.

Work was good, but busy today. It was strange how much of a difference there was from yesterday to today! We sent out the e-mail at 10:45 to the rest of the Pelican list about membership for next season, and today's email got such a great response... much like the one we sent last week... but the one we sent yesterday was a big flop! So weird. I have no idea what makes today better than yesterday... but it was good!

We didn't get many dues payments today, though. That was a little unfortunate. Yesterday we got a lot, and today, almost nothing. In fact, payments for next year's dues... I think we got none... compared to over $20,000 yesterday!

For lunch today I had some cereal early, and then the lunch of the day was these really good pieces of steak! I had about 4 of them!

I got a call from the lady who is going to be our technician for the fireworks show on Sunday and I was a little scared by it. I told her that we would have the music to give her on Sunday, and that just like in previous years, we wanted to match the fireworks' intensity to certain parts of the music. She seemed really concerned about that, and told me she had never timed fireworks to music before! YIKES!!! She asked me if I could get her the music tomorrow so she could work on it.

In the past, I brought the CD on the day of the event, and the technicians acted like it was no big deal at all to coordinate them. They made it seem like no big deal, and something they do all the time! I got the CD ready for her, and I'm gonna give it to her tomorrow morning, but I have to say that my call with her didn't give me much confidence! On the other hand, as Dan says, maybe the fact that she wants it ahead of time means that she'll really put a lot of effort into making it right! I sure hope so!

Also today, I bought a really cool DuckTales poster. I saw a Disney blog post yesterday talking about these cool limited edition DuckTales posters that would be going on sale today and I was really excited. They're really limited... like each one has only 250 (or less) prints! The time that they would go on sale today was a secret, and they said it would be announced on twitter.

I just happened to have my twitter open and saw the announcement come in, so I went over to buy them! I wanted to get two, and I had both in my cart, but I hit the back button and lost them! It said it was sold out! That was just about 5 minutes after they went on sale. I couldn't believe it.

I did, however, get the one I liked the most... so that's good. I'm really looking forward to framing it and hanging it in our new house... assuming we ever sell our place and GET a new house! It's a picture of Scrooge McDuck with an umbrella, and coins raining down on him!

Anyway, I left work at 5:00 and headed home. I watched the news when I got home, and I was reallllllly hungry. When Dan got home, he got a pizza, and we watched World News.

We were going to go to the gym, but we changed our plans because Linda asked if we wanted to come over and have cake for Connor's birthday!

We left here around 7:00 and made excellent time getting to Linda's. We arrived at 7:30 and Connor Connor was just opening up some presents. He took my downstairs to show me his new Lego video game, but after that, he wouldn't come back upstairs! I told him, "Everyone's here for your birthday... you can't leave!" And Cameron told me... "He's not leaving.. He's just going downstairs." I guess that was true!

We hung out for a while and put the candles on the cake, and then it was time to sing Happy Birthday! Connor didn't want any part of the singing/birthday cake experience. At first he didn't want to leave the basement, and Cameron summed it up... "he doesn't want his cake! This is a disaster. But Connor... you love your birthday!" He was finally convinced to come out and enjoy.

We sang happy birthday, and then we ate cake! The cake was REALLY good! I loved it! I had two big pieces.

At about 9:30, I went downstairs to say goodbye to Connor, and when I told him I was leaving... he said "So soon!?"

We got a little sidetracked on our way out.... we whipped out the speech jammer, and it was a big hit! Linda tried it a few times, and then it made its way around the room! So funny!

We finally hit the road a little before 10:00 and on the way home we HAD to stop at Target!

We've been running low on food for the past few days so we really needed to stock up. I got some TV dinners, shaving cream, soup, and drinks. Still, we made it home by 11:00.

As soon as we got home, we took our showers and got ready for bed!

Considering how much we did tonight, it's not really that bad to be getting to bed at 11:50! I'm just happy I got to sleep late this morning!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com