Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 01, 2013 - 11:32 p.m.
"the extravaganza 2013"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was the event of the year... the Labor Day Extravaganza! Wooo!

The most amazing thing is that the weather actually held out all day long, and it NEVER RAINED! That was the biggest fear going into this all, and we had no idea if it would rain or not, and if it did, how long it would last! It was a little iffy for a while, but as it turned out, it was dry all day and it was another great event!

But, let me not get ahead of myself.... We got up this morning at about 9:30 and watched some TV and hung around the house. Dan went over his parents house for a bit and I went to the gym. The gym was pretty empty.

Gym Report:
50 Crunches at 50lbs
1 mile on the Treadmill in 13mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
2 miles on the EBike in 7mins

While I was there, it started to rain a little and then I left, it was coming down pretty hard. By the time I got home, it had stopped, though! I was hoping that IF it happened to rain during the Extravaganza, it would be really quick like that one.

I took a shower and when Dan got home we started to get ready to leave. We left home around 12:00, and we were on our way to the golf course.

The check in table and tent were already set up, but we had to run an extension cord and then went down to the office to get all of the boxes of stuff that I had prepared on Friday.

I got the computer set up and we were ready to rock! Dan and I took a ride out on the golf course to talk to the fireworks lady because she had told Dan's dad that she needed to coordinate with us. We talked about how we were going to time the CD and the fireworks together, and then we headed back.

The check-in was supposed to officially open at 2:45, but since we were set up and ready to go, we opened a little early so there wouldn't be a big rush! Some people started arriving at around 2:00.

Every year has been different for the check-in. The first year it was crazy the whole day long, the second year, it really dropped off as it got later. Last year, I remember there only beinf ONE really big rush with a line. This year, it was back to being pretty busy all day long and there were about four or five times when the line got pretty long!

Most people paid by member account, so that made things pretty quick and efficient. Even the cash didn't take that long. When we first opened, though, a bunch of social members came and paid by check! It wasn't really a problem that they paid by check... though it was a little strange. The worst part was that a bunch of them came with the check already written out! Who does that!? One lady had to change and initial her check and a guy had to pay the difference in cash! So weird.

Ran and I were going crazy with the ringing up and the wristbands!

My mom arrived a little before 3 and my Aunt, Uncle, and cousins came a bit later. When they arrived, it was at a time when the crowd finally died down!

Unlike many Extravaganzas in the past, I felt like I was at the table a lot more. I feel like it was always busy!

When it calmed down a bit later on, Dan took over for me and I took Eric, Ryan, Alexandra, my mom, and my Aunt on a cart ride around the course! We drove all the way around from the East side to the West side!

After that, I took them each out separately to take turns driving a golf cart. They all did very well, although I would say that Eric was the best driver out of the three of them.

Around 6:30, Jimmy and Chelsea arrived just as Re and I were closing up the check-in table. We headed down to the office, put everything away, and then dropped Re off at her car. She didn't want to stay for the fireworks!! After that, Dan and I took them out for a ride around the course.

I really didn't get to eat much this year, but I did have some roasted sweet corn! I was so excited about it! It was a new addition this year and I was a BIG fan! It's really expensive to have, but I think it was really a great addition! I loved the corn, too! It was one of the best pieces of corn I've had... and I only wish I had gotten to have more than one before they closed up and left!

As 8:00 approached, it looked more and more like it was going to rain, but the fireworks were still on schedule. Dan and I got the CD to the DJ and we coordinated with the fireworks lady. Dan was going to give them the signal to start.

We found our place on the bridge, and then we watched the fireworks! They were great, as usual! I think this year was even better than last year's. The music was timed ALMOST perfectly. The only reason it's not perfect is that they have to light all of the fuses manually and it takes them a little time to run around and sometimes they can be off by a second or two.

They had some cool, special fireworks that I hadn't seen before, and overall it was a great show! The music was great, I think everyone liked it. Jimmy and Chelsea said it was the best fireworks show they'd seen this summer, and I have to say, it was the best I'd seen, too! The Mets fireworks were a disaster and the ones we saw at Eisenhower Park were OKAY... but they didn't last that long and the music was ridiculous!

Everything was over at 8:00 and everyone started to clear out! We hung out for about 45 mins with Jimmy and Chelsea and sat in the restaurant. Before we left, Jimmy needed to print out some stuff, so we went to the office and he printed tickets for a baseball game he's going to tomorrow.

It never wound up raining at all, which was AMAZING! Despite the threat of bad weather all day long, we still managed to have MORE people attend this year's extravaganza! Last year, not counting tournament players, we checked in approximately 275 Adults and 90 kids. This year we checked in 319 Adults and 96 Kids! That's a pretty good increase, and it probably would have been more if the weather was supposed to have been better!

We got home around 10:00pm and I was shocked to see the time because I felt like it was about 2am! On the way home, we stopped at Wendy's and got some food. I didn't really eat much all day!

Now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com