Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 17, 2013 - 10:54 p.m.
"cable kerfuffle" or "mental health day needed"

Hey Journal!

So, today was much less stressful at work than last week, but I am still not over it. I feel like everything is bothering me... and maybe I'm right to be bothered, but maybe I need a little break, too! I don't know. At least I know enough to identify this!

I got up at the usual time this morning and had to do a little last minute straightening up because our real estate agent had to bring back the STUPID appraisal person. I say STUPID because the last time they came, they took pictures which she just realized were corrupted and she couldn't access them. WHAT? How does that even happen with a digital camera? Did she take the card out while it was saving something? Did she drop it in the bathtub? I don't know, but it's annoying. Anything to hold up this process, I guess!

When I got to work, I was greeted with the fire panel going crazy. It's happening because they turned the heat on for the first time today, and like always. the dust in the ducts starts to burn off and makes the fire alarm go off. The only difference is that now the duct detectors are just "trouble signals" and not "alarms." That means that you can't silence them.... and you have to wait for the "smoke to clear" (so to speak) before the noise stops!

Alas, I blasted all of the heaters around the building to try to burn off any dust, and the alarm went off three more times while I was sitting in the lobby waiting.

I thought it was all good, but it happened a bunch more times in the afternoon, too. I took the system offline for the day, and hopefully we'll be good after this... though I'm not so confident.

The office was relatively quiet, which was good.

My mom brought me lunch from Wendy's in the afternoon. I got a chicken sandwich, spicy nuggets, and a baked potato! Woop!

Towards the end of the day I went outside to watch/help with the setup for a crazy event tonight. The Town was holding a cocktail hour outside and they wanted to use the driving range, too. We suggested that they have their party on the back lawn and then walk down to the driving range, but they REALLY wanted to have everything over there. It was a nightmare. Getting all of the tents, tables, and food stuff set up near the driving range was a disaster.

I spoke to Lisa later in the evening and she said it was dark, cold, and nobody even used the driving range! What a waste. Too bad we're the only golf course in the town...otherwise they could go bother someone else!

When I got home, I watched a little of the news, and Dan had to call Cablevision because they made a mistake with our bill. We had spoken to a guy a month or so ago about adjusting our bill so the prices wouldn't be raised, and he said that wouldn't be a problem. They didn't do it... so Dan called to get the to make the adjustment.

They basically said they couldn't do it for us, so we had to cancel. I don't care, I'm glad we cancelled, but it's been so long since we had a fight with Cablevision! Too bad that streak had to end!

We went to the gym around 6:20.

Gym Report:
1 mile on the Treadmill in 14mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
2 miles on the EBike in 10mins

I wasn't able to do any crunches today because when I got to the gym, both of the machines were taken. Then, when I was done with everything else, they were taken again! Ugh!

I also got the crappy lopsided treadmill today. I only realized it once I stepped up the machine to about 6.5mph and it was shaking like crazy! After the first mile, I switched to a different one... I just didn't want to switch before that because I didn't want to lose track of where I was!

When we got home, I took a shower and then watched some TV. We only get the basic channels now since we cancelled our cable. That's not really that big of a deal because we very rarely watch the upper channels! It'll be that way until they send someone to disconnect our service from the street, and then we'll be out of luck.

On the positive side, we have unlimited data on my cell phone and we can watch ABC on my phone or on the computer.

Our internet is still working... but it's only a matter of time before that goes away, too. Interestingly enough, we get a really strong wifi signal from the place across the street, so we should have no problems with that. I already tested it out!

A little later we went out to get some Yogurtini. I got the Caramel Sea Salt which is definitely my favorite flavor! We brought it home and watched some Judge Judy and other recorded programs.

Tomorrow I'm taking off from work for a mental health day... as I said before, I really need it. I feel like after all of the craziness of the past few weeks, I really need to take a day for myself and just do my own thing! It should be good!

Alas, now it's time for bed...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com