Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 12, 2013 - 10:56 p.m.
"the things about selling and buying houses"

Hey Journal!

I was extremely exhausted when my alarm went off this morning and I tried to get 20 extra minutes of sleep, but I couldn't because as I was laying in bed, I had a thought go through my head that I had forgotten to do something extremely important online for work.

I hopped out of bed and checked, and I was wrong... I had done it... and everything was fine. I got back into bed, but I couldn't get back to sleep... so I got up and started my day.

Last night we had to straighten up everything around the house because the buyer's bank was sending an appraiser over today. Our real estate agent was here to let him in and show him around.

You know, I was just thinking that we're so busy with work and other stuff that's going on that I don't really think about or appreciate what's going on around me with the sale of our place. I feel like this is a monumental thing, and I can't believe it's all going on while I go about my normal routine! It's also weird that someone was inside out house today and we weren't home and our daily life isn't affected by that at all! I mean, of course it's nice that we don't have to worry about those little things, but at the same time... it's confusing!

Even going out to our lawyer's office last week to sign the contract, I feel like we did that quickly on our lunch break, and before we know it we'll have sold our home and the whole process will have just blown by! Again, it's good in many ways that it isn't disruptive to your life and your schedule, but sometimes it feels like it SHOULD be, and I'm confused that it's not!

Meanwhile, when I started writing that paragraph, I had this perfect thought in my head, and when it came time to express it in written words, it came out like a rambling gobbledygook!

I really don't know how to feel about selling our place. It's a lot of mixed emotions. I am happy that we're selling it because it will give us the opportunity to move on and enter a brand new stage of our lives. I feel like having a house is a great step, and we're so ready for it. I can't wait to have a backyard to go outside, and to be able to open the windows and not hear cars whizzing by!

At the same time, I feel sad that we're leaving because this was the first place we lived in together, and I really do like it. I love the colors of the rooms, the bathroom tiles that we picked out, and all the little things that I probably should have taken more time to appreciate.

I'm not happy that we're losing a lot of money because our house isn't worth what it used to be when we bought it, but I realize that now is the time to make a move. If we lose money here, most houses nearby will be worth less than they were 7 years ago... and more importantly, the interest rates will be lower, and so we'll save considerably over the life of the loan- compared to waiting a few years when interest rates will be higher.

I also feel weird not knowing what will happen inbetween. We'll be homeless. Sure, we'll be staying in Dan's parents' basement... but it's going to be so different from living on our own and all... and there's no timetable for when we'll find a house we like. We have to sit and wait. All of the houses we've seen so far online are all dismal! Nothing matches our criteria nearby! We need Smithtown, Central Air, in a nice neighborhood (good for walking around), and not near any major roadways where you can hear cars driving by.

So anyway, I got to work after stopping at the post office to collect the CPC mail. I brought in and set up our new office microwave. It looks great. I'm excited. Too bad I didn't bring anything to cook in it!

The day was intense again, but not as crazy as yesterday. Tons of dues payments came in and tons of phone calls. It's always so depressing when I get a dues call, and a person has a million questions, but then they don't pay right away. I want MONEY for all that!

For lunch today, I had the Tuscan Panini. It was really good today for some reason. I don't know what was different, but it was better than usual.

I also sent out emails to half of the members who hadn't paid their dues yet this year, but did last year at this time. It's my "personal" e-mail. They eat it up. They all think I specifically e-mailed them to remind them and they thank me for remembering them! If only they knew I spent 2 hours writing a computer program to do it all for me.

Scrooge McDuck would be proud.

I didn't want to, but I had to leave early today because we needed to get some money deposited into the bank account and Dan's dad went out to play golf, leaving me to be the one to do it. I didn't want to leave because the office was crazy busy with payments, but I had no choice. I left at 3:45 and made it to the bank before it closed at 4.

Then, I headed home. I had had enough!

Before coming home, I took a detour to see two houses that our real estate agent had recommended for us. One looked kinda crappy online, but the other looked pretty nice. The problem with them was that they were both on the same street and that street is right along 347! She had texted Dan and told him that you couldn't see/hear 347 from the houses, but I wanted to see this for myself.

Well, she was wrong. One of them looked directly out onto 347... you could see the dilapidated Petland shopping center from the front door! The other had a better view, but you could hear the cars flying by! What a nice night that would be, sitting in your backyard listening to the sounds of traffic. It's also not in a nice neighborhood.

Meanwhile, when I got home, I looked them up online and noticed that they have the same selling agent as the "hell pit" she recommended to us last week! I was so annoyed because I feel like she is NOT listening to our criteria, and is trying to push houses that are being sold by this other woman who works in her office with her! That makes me angry.

Dan sent her a veiled text message to let her know that WE noticed that all the houses she tries to show us are for sale by HER company. I think the unspoken part of the message was that we want her to find stuff that matches what we want, not try to sell us stuff that her co-workers are listing.

Anyway, I came home and had a TV dinner and then watched the news. The news was completely taken over by the fire that started in Seaside Heights, New Jersey on the boardwalk. It was literally the only story they reported on for the longest time. Bill Ritter had some ridiculous one liners during it, too. They said the fire started at a Custard stand, and I really have no idea what a custard stand is, or what custard is really, or why someone would want to buy custard on the boardwalk.

When Dan got home, we headed to the gym. There were people on the Ab machines when we arrived, so I had to switch up the order of activities.

Gym Report:
1 mile on the Treadmill in 14mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 14mins
2 miles on the EBike in 8mins
50 Crunches at 50lbs

We came home, and I took a shower. Dan went to Croxley's with Jimmy to watch the football game and hasn't returned yet.

I watched Judge Judy, ate some carrots, and did random stuff around the house.

Now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com