Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 14, 2013 - 11:55 p.m.
"the bush with googley eyes"

Hey Journal!

This morning Dan had to get up early and go play volleyball. Since his team won their league, they had a special match today for all of the champions of all of the leagues. I slept until about 10:00... and then I was woken up by a call from Dan's dad. He had a question about something at work, and after that I knew I wouldn't be able to get back to sleep.

I got up and then I decided to call work and see how Re was doing with all of the work that was left for her. There was a TON because she hadn't been in for two weeks! I also rang up some payments that had come in on Friday night so that she could close out Friday and get it ready for the bank.

After I was done with that, I headed over to help my Grandma change the filter on her air conditioner. Before doing that, though, my mom and I went to get breakfast at Boulevard Bagels. The line was insane today, and I had forgotten to suggest that we call in our order, so we had to wait!

We ate outside, and then we decided to go to Target. On the way, we drove past a house that's was just listed for sale to check it out. It was over by St. Patrick's, and although the neighborhood is really really nice, there are two major problems with it. Problem 1 is that there was no basement, and problem 2 is that it backs right up against the soccer fields at St. Patrick's. Who wants to hear people screaming and yelling and whistles blowing every weekend morning! No thanks!

Before I had come over, my mom was outside trimming one of the hedges on the lawn, and she wasn't able to reach the top. As a result, the bottom was completely trimmed, and the top was wild! I thought it looked like hair! When we went to Target, we got some giant googley eyes that were in the dollar section!

When we got home, I put the googley eyes on the bush and it looked AMAZING!! I loved it! I took a picture of it and posted it on Instagram and Facebook, and I have to say... I think it's gotten more likes than any other photo I've ever posted! It was crazy!

My grandma liked the googley eyes but she insisted that we take them down because she was afraid that "some kids will come by and take them!" Meanwhile, they cost $3 at Target.... I think it was well worth the risk! It's an amazing Halloween decoration... (though I'd leave it up year round!)

I went inside and changed the air filter for the air conditioner, and then my Grandma vacuumed the cover and cleaned it up.

In the basement, my Grandma found a leak in a pipe over by the oil burner, so she called the company to come and take a look at it. She has a service contract on the oil burning and hot water heater... but she wasn't sure what exactly was leaking.

The guy took forever to come. My mom and I went out to McDonald's just to get my mom an Iced tea, and then when we got back... my Grandma was making dinner.

Finally, the guy from the heating place arrived and we went downstairs to see what the problem was. He found the leak...it was a pipe that had a little hole in it! I can't believe we didn't see that earlier. He said he could fix it, but it wasn't covered under the warranty. (I could see why it wasn't covered... it really had nothing to do with the hot water heater.) He had to turn off the hot water and then he used something called a "Sharkbite" connector to replace the joint that was leaking. They charged $87 dollars for it. I looked up the part online, and it was only an $8 part... but it still seemed like an okay price to pay for the guy to come and the labor. I'm sure if a plumber had come it would have cost much more than that!

In retrospect, it seems like it would have been really easy to go to Home Depot and get the part and do it myself, but even if I had found the leak... I wouldn't have known how to turn the water off to that pipe (even though it was just the flip of one little switch.) But on the bright side, if anything like that happens again... now I know what to do!

We ate dinner while the guy was working in the basement... we had lamb and rice. It was good, but a little small. I had two pieces.

When the guy left, my Grandma gave him a bottle of water as a parting gift. lol

I left around 5:45 and headed home. Dan had already gotten back from his volleyball game and headed to the gym. I really wanted to go to the gym, too.... but if I had, my hair would have been a frizzy mess for tonight, so I decided to skip it.

On my way home, it felt like such a Fall day! It really reminded me of that "back to school" feeling. It was such a nice day out, too!

When Dan got home, we got ready and then headed out to JC's around 6:45. We arrived a little after 7 and Lau and Jen B were already there!

JC told me that little Gil was very excited for me to come over, and he was really looking forward to playing with me (and Dan, too... I think.)

JC ordered a pizza and we hung out, ate, and talked. Re arrived just after the pizza. We played with one of Gil's toys... a techno keyboard thing, and we used his Okapi stuffed animal to make a really funny Vine! We are really easily entertained! Jen B and Re tried on costumes and it was a funny evening.

We left JC's around 10:30 and when we got home, we watched the season premiere of Torchwood. We've never watched any of the previous seasons, but we figured we'd give it a try. The episode was a little draggy... but I think I'll give it another try next week!

Anyway, it was quite the busy day. Now I'm tried, and it's time for bed! Tomorrow, we plan to go to some open houses and check out what's out there.... (even though we really don't think we'd ever buy any of the houses we're going to see!)

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com