Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 26, 2013 - 10:46 p.m.
"tomorrow's gonna come too soon"

Hey Journal!

Well, here we are on the eve of my 30th Birthday! Just saying that is scary. I feel like I have no idea how I got here... how all of the days of my life have added up to THIRTY YEARS! It's total insanity.

This afternoon I was looking through some old pictures to make a collage of birthdays.... As I was going through them all, I couldn't BELIEVE that so much time had passed since each of those photos was taken. It completely blows my mind to think that tonight is the last day of my 20s and that when I wake up tomorrow I'll be 30.

While Dan and I were in the car earlier this evening, I said, "tomorrow's gonna come too soon..." which instantly reminded me of the "plom" song, which, for some reason is a very memorable song to me, but I don't think I ever really LIKED it all that much. And now, here I sit... writing my last journal of my 20s, listening to a song I don't really like that much but at the same time brings me back to high school... when we were 17... listening to this song in a limo and contemplating life in the "real world." Maybe I do like this song a little.

Meanwhile, back then.... at 17...20 seemed so far off... and now look where we are! I know one day doesn't mean anything. I'll still be exactly the same tomorrow as I was today... but... why is it so scary. I sit here now, typing this entry.. and before I know it I'll be looking back on this, too, wondering where the time went since I sat here on this warm September night, about to turn 30, about to sell the place we live in, about to move somewhere... not sure where... and I hope I can remember this exact moment. I don't know why I want to remember it. I just do.

In another random coincidence, I saw a car tonight with the license plate "29AGAIN." I wanted to take a picture of it, but I got sidetracked and forgot. I actually really wanted to unscrew the plate and put it on my car. I guess it's better that I didn't.

As Lau's birthday party napkins said... "29 until further notice."

In keeping with the theme of the week, I was hoping for a relaxing day, but it turned out to be the opposite. Dan's dad was off today and played in a golf outing somewhere. Things were quiet in the office as far as the golf course was concerned but I had a HUGE project for BHH and before I knew it, it was time to go over to the cemetery to take photos for their Christmas blankets. The sin was in and out, but I actually think that helped me a little. I stood on a ladder and got some nice shots.

Before heading back to work, I stopped in the employee bathroom at the cemetery. The bathroom is literally the most modern looking room in the building. Nice countertops, cool wallpaper. I loved it. I really loved the wallpaper! It was a bunch of palm trees and they were all blowing in different directions. I couldn't help but give in to the urge to take a selfie in the mirror.

When I got back to work, I had a bunch of random things to work on, and I managed to get in a little rest time to work on my photo collage.

I left at 4:45 and headed home. I was hoping to beat a little of the traffic and I guess I did!

When I got home I started working on getting things cleaned up. The never ending task! Ugh! Dan got home and we did more stuff to get ready. Then my mom came by to talk about the food she wants to order for the party on Saturday! Seriously... it's like a nightmare! So much to do for two relatively small parties! I don't know how people put on big events!

Next, Dan and I went out to Price Club to pick up my cake. It came out really nicely. I'm excited. It looks really cool, too. At least being 30 doesn't mean you can't have a cool cake!

We went over to Target, got some chips and snacks, and then headed back home. I vacuumed and cleaned up some more, and made Jell-O shots! What party would be complete without them!?

We had missed the premiere of Marvel: Agents of Shield on Tuesday, so we watched the encore presentation tonight. It was... good... but a little weird. It seems a little foolish. I'll give it another shot next week, though.

I took a shower after that and now it's time for bed!

I think it may have just hit me... Why is 30 so weird? Maybe it's because up until now, every milestone has some COOLNESS attached to it... and then you have another one to look forward to. This is the first UNCOOL age. I mean, when you hit 10- you're in double digits. When you reach 13, you're a TEENAGER! Then 18... you're legal! 20... THE BIG 2-0!! And now... 30... who cares? You're old? Yikes.

And here I am, right back where I started... not knowing how to comprehend that when I fall asleep tonight I'll be 29 and then I won't be 29 anymore when I wake up tomorrow! Tomorrow's gonna come too soon!

BUT.. As always...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com