Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 19, 2013 - 12:48 a.m.
"spooky walk 2013" or "closing date set"

Hey Journal!

When it was time to get up for work this morning I was feeling pretty awake and I didn't even have to hit the snooze button! I got up, got ready for work, and even had some time to watch a little Good Morning America.

At work, I spent the morning trying to finish up some things that I had put in a folder before going on vacation. They've been lingering for a while... and they weren't extremely time sensitive... but it felt good to get them finished and done with!

For lunch today, my mom went out to get Chipotle and said she had plenty of time... so she brought me some Chipotle, too!

In the afternoon, Dan's Dad and I went down to the maintenance trailer to do a little investigation into some things which are of interest to Steve. He wants to check to make sure that certain things are getting done, and we went to see if we could find any evidence.

I left work at 4:45 and headed home. I watched the news, and got ready for Spooky Walk! As is the case every year, I never know what to wear. I can never decide if it's going to be so cold that I need long underwear and a scarf and gloves, or just a light jacket, or just a hoodie. It's really complicated. I took a whole bunch of stuff with me, though, just in case.

We picked up Kristen and Don at 6:45. They weren't ready until about 6:55, but once they were in the car, we were on our way! We made good time getting out there, and we got a close parking spot... right near the entrance. We were actually very surprised to see that there weren't a lot of cars, and we didn't have to park as far away as usual.

The crowds are a very weird thing for me because... I want there to be no line so we can just get right in and not have to wait, but at the same time... I want Spooky Walk to be popular and I want a lot of people to go so that the camp can make money and we can also ensure that it will be open again next year!

It wound up being a little cool, but not cold, and a little warmer than I expected.... so I wore my long sleeved shirt, a hoodie over that, and gloves. I left the scarf and other jacket in the car.

The line was just after the food tents this year. It wasn't bad, but not as short as previous years. It went quickly, and we were in at about 8:20. The walk was exactly 40 minutes long, and it was GREAT. I really liked the woods this year, they did some cool stuff, and some new things I don't remember from previous years. The houses were good, too... although they seem to have discontinued the "Psycho Circus" and replaced it with a different circus.

We finished exactly at 9, and then we were all hungry for dinner. We had planned to go to the diner that's on the road on the way back, but when we pulled in, there was a short line out the door, and Kristen and Don wanted nothing to do with it.

They did want to go to a diner, however, so we went to the California Diner that's off the Sunrise. We found out that it's owned by the same people as the Candlelight in Commack. I was a little disappointed with it, though, because I ordered the hot open turkey sandwich that said it came with Soup. I looked at the soup list, and there were 5 choices, and none had any distinction. When I asked for the Country Chicken Soup, the waiter told me that one wasn't included with the meal. He said that I could have chicken noodle soup. I said okay, and then he told me that it actually didn't have any chicken in it. I was just annoyed because the meal is kinda expensive at 14.95, and to differentiate which kind of soup you can get is kinda petty. I was so pissed, I let Dan order, and I looked for something else on the menu. I wound up getting two eggs over medium, which cost $4.95. I felt good about myself because now they lost out on $10 and the difference in the tip.

After we ate, Kristen and Don were in a rush to get home, so we headed back. We did stop at Wendy's and got some snacks. Dan and I got a frosty, and Kristen got fries.

When we got home, we watched Shark Tank and then got ready for bed!

Now we're gonna get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com